Sunday Dirt

I managed to squeeze some garden time in today between playing nurse and butler to the convalescing husband, and it was damned good to be out rolling around in the dirt a bit.  My list was long: the herb gardens needed taming, seedlings needed transplanting, and several new additions needed adding.  And though my partner in crime was not there to do the heavy lifting, my misfit gaggle of tag-a-longs was there underfoot, as always, to trip me as much as possible.

Mildred keeps a close eye on me as I mess with her flowers.

Freshly-planted dahlias–gorgeous!

Transplanted heirloom tomato plant and its new trellis.  With the ladybirds hovering in the background.

New Lemon Cucumber plant.

Newly added Blanket Flowers.

Chance keeping cool in the dirt.

Sunshine, dirt, flowers….happy camper.

First Black-Eyed Suzies!

‘Double Delight’ rose….my favorite!

‘Ferdinand Pichard’….close second.

Boots and hydrangeas by the chicken coop.

Garden chair.

At the end of the day, the Adirondacks are looking pretty inviting….

So I kick back on one in my snazzy pajama pants, and this is what happens….no rest for the weary.

Some of you may be wondering how I was looking after my husband (who is recovering from surgery) if I was out in the garden all day.  To you, I say….good point.  I’d better go check on him.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sunday Dirt

  1. unwit June 11, 2012 at 1:40 am Reply

    Gorgeous photos! And a very cute chicken.

  2. Shannon June 12, 2012 at 8:39 pm Reply

    “Sunshine, dirt, flowers…Happy Camper!” Oh yeah, that’s me too! No fair that you get to have chickens. My neighborhood specifically disallows them from our 1.5 acre property (perfect for, uh, chickens). Rats.

    • farmhouseK8 June 13, 2012 at 12:00 am Reply

      Yeah, we’re definitely lucky! People need to ease up on the chicken restrictions…!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,775 other followers

