Very Free-Range

This.  Keeps.  Happening.

I guess this is how it goes when you free range your chickens and are used to keeping your doors wide open.  Please take special note of the guard dog in the background that could be keeping this from happening.

This is, incidentally, my husband’s chicken breaking point, apparently.  When I started talking about getting chickens, he said nothing and sighed.  When I started reading books on having chickens, he said nothing and sighed.  When I announced that I was going to the feed store, with or without him, to get baby chicks, he sighed and came along.  When he was volunteered to help build the dreaded coop, he swore a lot, but made it happen.  Yet this is where the line has been drawn.  Chickens.  Do.  Not.  Go.  In.  The.  House.  Is it bad that I think it’s hilarious when the ladies just drop in unannounced?  Because it is.  It just is.

That’s more like it Chance.  Nice job.

Now, this is just sad.  Chickens don’t like banishment.  I think we’re going to have to repair that rip in the screen, though….I don’t like the way Gertie is looking at it.

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Very Free-Range

  1. skyheartphotography June 11, 2012 at 3:47 pm Reply

    Hilarious writing – loving the photo story :)

  2. letizia June 11, 2012 at 4:35 pm Reply

    love this post, made me smile! :) Go chickens!

  3. unwit June 12, 2012 at 2:39 pm Reply

    I am rolling on the floor laughing at loud. The looks on these chickens’ faces is priceless. As is the photo of the so-called “guard dog.” Going to link to your lovely garden pix as soon as I can figure out how.

    • farmhouseK8 June 12, 2012 at 3:29 pm Reply

      Aw, shucks! Thanks for the back-up…I’m new to all this, so I have no idea how to do it either!!

  4. [...] From Farmhouse38 [...]

  5. From a Montana Front Porch June 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

    I nominated you for the Lovely Blog Award. I’m so glad you found my blog to show me the way to yours! Here is the link to show you what to do for the award if you choose to accept it. No pressure! I just want you to know I enjoy your stories! http://fromamontanafrontporch.wordpress.com/

    • farmhouseK8 June 13, 2012 at 12:18 am Reply

      Thanks, Bobby! The feeling is mutual! :-) I will try to pay this forward!

  6. Looking Out The Window June 13, 2012 at 4:07 pm Reply

    This is an absolute hoot, but I agree with your husband the screen door is the line.

  7. tdblue June 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm Reply

    This is hilarious and charming, all at once. I love your little guard dog! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,830 other followers

