Chicken Coop Redecorating

It’s been about six months since we built our lovely little coop, and so, of course, I was starting to get a bit fidgety to make some changes.

First, let’s look at how it was:

Baby Eloise checks out her digs.

And now:

Same chicken, checking it out!  She has such an eye for design.

It was time for a new sign, since every time we put the chickens away it feels like we’re putting them in jail.  Might as well make it official.  I am the chicken warden, thank you.

A little oilcloth bunting can make even going to jail cheerful.

The roost box even got a makeover:

Eloise (again!) hangs out in her old bedroom….the curtains, made from dishcloths, were cute, but didn’t hold up to chicken poop very nicely.

Hello, oilcloth! Not only did the box get new curtains, I lined the back wall of it (which tends to get covered in a lot of poop) with an oil cloth sheet to make cleaning easier.

The inside of the coop also got some fun new decor:

Am I the only one who thinks a cast-iron skillet makes a great food dish? Too heavy for them to flip over, and kind of adorable!

I bought this pretty tin sign since it looks like Millie posed for the painting….and yes, sometimes I make flower arrangements for my birds.  What.

We’re trying a galvanized bucket out as a nesting box. If they take to it, it will be a lot easier to clean than the wooden ones we were using (that they wanted nothing to do with). The girls seem to really like fresh herbs to nest in….a few rose petals might make it more enticing. We’ll see.

That’s all the chicken insanity I have to air out for the moment.  Happy Friday, everyone!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Chicken Coop Redecorating

  1. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods October 19, 2012 at 7:40 pm Reply

    How cute! I think I’m going to try out your galvanized bucket idea for a nesting box. Yours looks so inviting. I’m sure they like to lay in there!

    • farmhouseK8 October 19, 2012 at 7:46 pm Reply

      We’ll see! Mine are some picky little buggers! :-)

  2. Yvette October 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm Reply

    LOVE this !! Cast iron skillet is an awesome idea! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Melanie October 19, 2012 at 8:10 pm Reply

    Wonderful, thanks for sharing. I’m just starting so I am loving all of these ideas.

  4. Sarah Yoder October 19, 2012 at 11:00 pm Reply

    Beautiful coop! Love your new sign! You are very creative! I would have never thought to decorate so thoroughly… all the way to curtains for the “bedroom” :) Very nice!

    • farmhouseK8 October 19, 2012 at 11:35 pm Reply

      Thanks, Sarah! I go a little overboard sometimes, but, hey, I like it like that! :-)

  5. little poppits October 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm Reply

    wow that is soooo cute, never mind the chooks when can i move in!

  6. Shannon October 20, 2012 at 1:06 am Reply

    I love your chicken insanity! That is some kind of stylish.

  7. keepyourmemoriesinyourshoes October 20, 2012 at 1:35 am Reply

    You have an adorable coop! We were all about “function” with ours, but now I am thinking it might be time to have a little fun with it!

  8. Kathy October 20, 2012 at 1:22 pm Reply

    Beautiful but how to you keep it looking so nice? Our chickens are messier than this. Your coop is beautiful.

    • farmhouseK8 October 20, 2012 at 2:22 pm Reply

      Oh, believe me, it is usually atrocious! I had just cleaned it and put up all the new stuff–so it was time for photos. By the next morning, it was not time for photos. :-)

  9. Jennifer October 20, 2012 at 1:38 pm Reply

    Adorable! Love, LOVE IT!

  10. Dori Timblin October 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm Reply

    I really like how you improved the chicken coop. The idea of using oil cloth never occurred to me. I’m going to hang some behind the roost, where they always aim at wall. Too bad chickens can’t be housebroke.

    • farmhouseK8 October 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm Reply

      I know–that back wall was like a pre-school finger-painting project 24-7! Time will tell if the oilcloth helps, but I think it just might. Thanks for stopping in! :-)

  11. Charlotte Zweigoronc October 23, 2012 at 5:31 pm Reply

    I do miniatures and paper crafting; I have frequently and lovingly been called The Overachiever in the two groups I belong to for these crafty outlets. I think that title might just apply to you as well!! I would like to see a shot of “messy” since I know nothing about this kind of bird… just our pet lovebird and cockatiel who do a pretty good job of being messy even though we have outwitted them on many levels. BTW, ever so cute!!

  12. Natalie, the Chickenblogger August 12, 2013 at 7:14 pm Reply

    So how have the buckets worked out?
    My hens have always been happy about galvanized tubs, which I am so thankful for, since mite and other parasites can hide out so easily in wood. The metal tubs clean up quick and easy!

    • farmhouseK8 August 12, 2013 at 8:06 pm Reply

      Mine never took to them, unfortunately! We’ve had to build wood boxes (lined in vinyl flooring). I’ve been thinking about trying the buckets again, though–I really liked how it looked!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,762 other followers

