Go Paint Rocks

Glittered Heart Rocks

In yesterday’s Cupid’s Arrow Doormat post, some of you may have spied these two little glittered heart painted rocks tucked amongst the front porch decor….Painted Rocks and Porch Decor

I love me some painted rocks, and I must say that I am obsessing over the glittered ones even more!  Painting rocks (and using them mainly as door-stops) was something I started doing in college, when I was broke but living by the ocean where there was an unending supply of nice, smooth, wave-worn rocks to collect and use for whatever I could possibly turn them into.  This was like 15 years ago, people–where the heck has the time gone!?  In more recent manifestations, these painted rocks have been moonlighting at the Farmhouse as bookends, mantel decor, garden markers, and hostess gifts.  They are so easy and inexpensive to make that I thought I’d better share the tutorial.

Bookend.

I have a thing for monogrammed rocks. This is a completely normal thing to have a thing for.

A family of monogrammed rocks for my favorite neighbors.

A family of monogrammed rocks for my favorite neighbors’ front stoop.  Shout out to H, N, R & Q!!!

During the holidays, I made a set for my front porch decor that never actually made it into a post:

but Baby it's Cold Outside

My text-transferring method for the rocks is one and the same as for my Hand-Painted Signs.  You start, of course, by finding yourself a decent rock.  The smoother the surface, the easier it will be. Design up your words, letters, or shapes on the computer, and print.

Design

Cut each word (or design) out, and then heavily color the backside of it with a grease pencil.

Grease Pencil Love

Scotch-tape it where you want it on your rock of choice, and then trace the design, pressing firmly.

Tracing

You should get a pretty well-transferred image if you slathered the grease pencil on there thick enough.

Outline

Now, paint!

Painting

If these are going to sit outside, it’s best to use some sort of oil-based exterior-grade paint. Finishing with a clear, protective sealer always helps, too.

If you’re adding glitter, sprinkle it on before the paint has much time to dry.

I must confess that I simply free-handed these hearts….nothing wrong with winging it now and again!

Hi.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Go Paint Rocks

  1. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 23, 2013 at 5:39 pm Reply

    Love love love what you did here. Words on rocks? Yes please! You rock :) haha

  2. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

    BTW – love your new banner ;)

    • farmhouseK8 January 23, 2013 at 6:05 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks! Gonna try to change up my headers with the seasons/holidays this year….off to a good start, but hopefully I can keep up the pace! :-)

  3. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 23, 2013 at 6:15 pm Reply

    I started doing that last year for Christmas and New Years… Maybe I should come up with something for Valentines? hmmm… We will see… I have so much on my plate right now…

  4. Tina January 23, 2013 at 7:47 pm Reply

    These are too cute! Thanks for the tip about the grease pencil- I hadn’t used that technique before. :)

    • farmhouseK8 January 23, 2013 at 7:50 pm Reply

      Sure!!! Yeah, I’ve tried seriously a MILLION different ways of transferring print, and this has really been the easiest, and cheapest (and most versatile), I think!

  5. Jenny January 23, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

    These.are.sooooooo cute!! I have a pile of rocks that I’ve been collecting from out by our pond. I’ll have to see if they are smooth enough for painting. I love this idea!

    • farmhouseK8 January 23, 2013 at 10:11 pm Reply

      Yes! Fellow rock collector! Do it! :-)

  6. Green Door Hospitality January 23, 2013 at 11:28 pm Reply

    These are so very cute! Everything looks so fun and festive!
    Kenley

    • farmhouseK8 January 24, 2013 at 12:56 am Reply

      Thanks, Kenley! Love me some Valentine’s Day! :-)

  7. P.E.A.C.E. January 26, 2013 at 6:55 pm Reply

    Thanks so much for the step-by-step tips on how to do this fantastic idea! I am definitely doing this with some nice river rocks I have. And yes… you’ve heard it… but I gotta say, You ROCK! ;) happy hugs, Gina

  8. From a Montana Front Porch January 28, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    Again, you genius woman, who thinks of this?! I love that you do. I may not get to the valentines ones since we aren’t even at our house this month due to construction, but this will be showing up at my house soon! Rocks we have plenty of!

    • farmhouseK8 January 29, 2013 at 3:52 am Reply

      I would imagine you might have a few out there–hahahah! It’s kind of a fun/easy/cheap project!

      • From a Montana Front Porch January 29, 2013 at 5:16 pm

        Aannnd It’s a craft I can do with the kids. No you may not paint MY rock, go get your own! LOL ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,809 other followers

