DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

With Valentine’s over and done with (sniff), it is officially time for greener things.  Here’s a little tutorial on how to make this fun (and fragrant) coffee ground wreath.

Ingredient #1 is, of course, a foam wreath form from the craft store.  Foam form from the craft store–got that?  :-)

DIY Coffee Ground Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Plaster all four sides with two healthy coats of black or dark brown spray paint (I used Satin, but any finish would work), and let dry thoroughly between coats and afterwards.

DIY Coffee Ground Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Next, slather the front and sides with a pretty thick layer of Modge-Podge or white glue of some sort.  I used a sponge ‘paintbrush’ and kind of dabbed it on so that the MP really seeped down into the crevices of the foam.  Put it on thick, and work quick so it doesn’t start to dry out on you.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

While the MP is good and wet, dump coffee grounds on the wreath form, sprinkling and rolling it so that all the ‘podged’ surfaces get completely covered by grounds.  Leave this to dry thoroughly.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Abbie enjoys watching the podge dry.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Okay, crazy lady, your podge is dry now, let’s get on with it.

Once it’s nice and set, gently tap and shake off the excess coffee grounds.  Now give the coffee grounds two decent coats of clear spray gloss (I actually used satin again so things weren’t too shiny).  Let this dry thoroughly.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Oh yes, it still smells wonderful!

Now you are ready for the fun part.  Choose your embellishments.  I went with a branch of small leaves from the craft store, some greenish baker’s twine, and various grosgrain ribbons in shades of green.  Green, green, green!  You’ll also need bamboo skewers from the market, and a small, thin piece of craft wood (from the craft store).  And don’t forget to pack some heat….glue gun, of course.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Cut the craft branches into small segments of varying heights.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Sprouts!

Carefully begin to place your ‘seedlings’ into the wreath by piercing the coffee crust with the wire of the pieces.  No glue should be necessary to hold them, but if you feel you need it, put a little dab at the base of each stem before punching them through the form.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Once you have your seedlings placed, cut two bamboo skewers to your desired length (I cut mine about 5 inches in length).

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Gently slide these into place in the wreath at an angle that will leave them upright when the wreath is hung.

DIY Coffee Grounds Wreath from Farmhouse38

I never like things to be perfectly symmetrical, so I intentionally placed the skewers at different heights on the wreath.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now, cut a length of twine about 24 inches long (to allow for some excess to work with), and cut varying sized pieces of your ribbons–I cut mine roughly around 1 inch long each, without being too meticulous about it.  Swallowtail one end of each ribbon piece.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Using your glue gun, run the tiniest bead of glue along the top of each piece of ribbon, one at a time, and gently press them each onto the bakers twine.  Let set, and then trim away any errant cobwebs or glue blobs.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Yay for miniature bunting! I will never be sick of it. NEVER, I tell you!

Now tie each end of the bunting to your bamboo skewers with a simple slip knot.  Trim the excess twine right up to the knot, and then seal the knot in place with a dab of hot glue.  Cut two new small lengths of twine and tie a bow over each knot on each skewer.

To create the little sign, I used a small square of thin craft wood (it was about 2×3 inches originally).  Using a Dremel tool, I actually cut the wood in half, and then roughed up the edges so it looked a little less perfect.  I brushed brown acrylic paint onto small alphabet stamps and stamped my message.  Then, using the same brown paint watered down on a rag, I rubbed the edges of the sign for a little bit of an aged effect.  I finally hot-glued the sign onto a bamboo skewer and placed it in the wreath.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

To hang the wreath, I used a segment of the craft leaf wire leftover from the seedlings (it was about 10 inches in length with a few leaves on one end of it).  From the backside, top of the wreath, I poked the non-leafy end of the wire through.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Backside of wreath.

Let about two inches of wire stick through the front face of the wreath, and then bend it into a spiral knot of some sort so that the wire doesn’t slip back out.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

Front side of wreath.

Next, fashion a bow out of some of your ribbon, and then glue this securely over the top of the wire knot to conceal it.  Glue the backsides of the bow ears and tails to the wreath, also, for extra security.

DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath from Farmhouse38

The hanging wire had a lot of excess length to it, and this I just spiraled around the nail for a final bit of fun.

And there you have it!  A hint of spring for your front door.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “DIY Coffee Grounds Spring Wreath

  1. fresheggsdaily February 15, 2013 at 7:27 pm Reply

    This is just too cute! I love the miniature bunting and the seedlings at the top hangy part! Pinned it!

    • farmhouseK8 February 15, 2013 at 9:47 pm Reply

      Thanks, Lisa! Spare tire and all! :-)

  2. Tina February 15, 2013 at 8:56 pm Reply

    Best spring wreath I’ve seen yet and definitely the most creative!

  3. Becky February 15, 2013 at 11:26 pm Reply

    I give up trying to think of cute wreaths to make! I’m just going to live vicariously through you. You are the queen of cute wreaths!

    • farmhouseK8 February 16, 2013 at 2:19 am Reply

      Hahahah! Thanks, Becky! (Can you tell I am a little obsessed with wreathes?) :-)

  4. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART February 16, 2013 at 2:50 pm Reply

    What a great wreath. I am LOVING your miniature bunting. I was just the other day thinking to myself: myself… where can I hang a miniature bunting. I need one :) Love it!!

    • farmhouseK8 February 16, 2013 at 2:54 pm Reply

      Hahaha! Right?!!! I’m obsessed, to put it mildly. I want to do a really long stretch of it somewhere but I haven’t figured that one out yet. You are too funny.

  5. casadeberry February 16, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

    This is awesome! Love the mini bunting – now I know what to do with all my ribbon scraps :D

    • farmhouseK8 February 16, 2013 at 3:32 pm Reply

      Thanks! :-) Mini bunting is my FAVORITE. I probably need to cool it with that stuff, but I just cannot!

  6. Luisa February 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

    Was just introduced to your blog via Emily Clark…and you are now officially my new blog crush. Love your home and your gardens! Looking forward to stalking you! Haha! Kidding! No really…not really a stalker…

    • farmhouseK8 February 16, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

      Luisa–OMG–You are too funny–thanks for stopping in–completely glad to have you lurking about, hahahaha! :-)

  7. Lizzy February 16, 2013 at 8:36 pm Reply

    your dog is simply wonderful! so cute!! love seeing her pop up in different pictures.

    • farmhouseK8 February 16, 2013 at 9:37 pm Reply

      Thank you, Lizzy–she is a funny, funny girl, and is always underfoot. I wouldn’t want it any other way! :-)

  8. seasonedwithsarcasm February 17, 2013 at 2:57 am Reply

    This is so adorable!!!

  9. Kaitlin Jenkins February 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

    This is so adorable! Do you think it would work with potting soil instead of coffee grounds? I love my coffee too much… ;)

    • farmhouseK8 February 18, 2013 at 8:24 pm Reply

      Hahahah! I absolutely think that would work just the same–in fact, that’s what I first intended to do, and then somehow the thought of coffee grounds popped into my head and I kind of liked the quirk factor of it. Thanks for stopping by!! :-)

  10. From a Montana Front Porch February 18, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

    ADORE!!!! The wreath and yourself of course!

    • farmhouseK8 February 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm Reply

      Thanks for sharing this, Bobbie! I really appreciate it (truth be told, I was nervous about this project because I kept thinking it looked like a spare tire with weeds sprouting out of it–hahahah!).

  11. Jade February 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm Reply

    <3 This is so adorable!! Thank you for posting this. Can I ask where you found that beautiful craft branch?

    • farmhouseK8 February 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm Reply

      Thanks, Jade! I found the branch in the silk florals section at a local Michael’s craft store. :-)

  12. Judy Bass March 10, 2013 at 11:49 pm Reply

    This is so cute!!! Its simple and I am going to try it!

  13. Kelly M. September 8, 2013 at 10:01 pm Reply

    That is so cute!

  14. […] Wreath 2 / Tulip Wreath / Glam Yarn Wreath Rainbow Wreath / Ruffled Wreath / Yarn Grass Wreath / Coffee Grounds Wreath Turquoise Wreath / Bunting Wreath / Garden Hose Wreath / Birds Nest Wreath Yellow Nest Wreath / […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,810 other followers

