Chalkboard Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards

Chalkboard Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards via Farmhouse38

Do you ever feel bad about throwing away your old gift cards and club cards?  Is it just me?  Well, so, I didn’t chuck them.  I kept them like a total nutjob because I thought, “These could be used for something.”

Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards via Farmhouse38

I’m a crazy person.

I finally figured out what that something is!  With a coat of chalkboard spray paint, they are magically transformed into mini chalkboards.  Go figure.  Re-purpose a plastic fork (also hit with chalkboard paint to match) as a holder, and use a white grease pencil (more weatherproof than chalk) to mark and decorate it.  It’s that simple.

Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards via Farmhouse38

My trusty grease pencil. Laying on a rug that is shamefully full of dog hair. Look away!

Chalkboard Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards via Farmhouse38

Stick that fork in the ground– it’s done!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Chalkboard Plant Markers from Old Gift Cards

  1. fresheggsdaily March 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm Reply

    Seriously Kate? You need to be the creative editor for some magazine. Every single thing you post blows me away! Nice job! I love these AND love that I now have a use for those expired credit cards and old gift cards.

    • farmhouseK8 March 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm Reply

      Hahahah! Thanks, Lisa! Not to toot my own horn here, but I was WAY TOO excited to come up with a project for those things–I had been saving them for FAR too long for no reason!

  2. home, garden, life March 19, 2013 at 6:13 pm Reply

    Genius!

  3. home, garden, life March 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm Reply

    Where is your favorite place to spray paint? Do you use a big box? Diane

    • farmhouseK8 March 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm Reply

      I use a big plastic tarp stretched out across my driveway–wish I had somewhere better, but it gets the job done! :-)

  4. julieadolf March 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm Reply

    You are brilliant! Seriously, can you come and be creative at my house? Please???? Love this idea and can’t wait to try it! Thanks, Kate!

    • farmhouseK8 March 19, 2013 at 7:18 pm Reply

      Oh, Julie–you are so sweet! I’ll be right over! :-)

  5. Mary March 20, 2013 at 2:56 am Reply

    what a great idea!

  6. cindyricksgers March 20, 2013 at 3:18 am Reply

    Great idea! Thank you!

  7. Heather March 20, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

    Kate, you crafty gal! Now if I could just find grease pencils…:)

  8. Rose March 20, 2013 at 7:04 pm Reply

    LOVE this idea! I was working along the same lines, but using paint paddles instead of gift cards.

    • farmhouseK8 March 20, 2013 at 7:23 pm Reply

      YES!!! That is a great idea!! I always wind up with so many of those, unused! Love it! :-)

  9. From a Montana Front Porch March 20, 2013 at 11:42 pm Reply

    You seriously crack me up!!! :)

    • farmhouseK8 March 20, 2013 at 11:54 pm Reply

      :-) :-) :-) My work here is done. :-)

  10. Manuela@ A Cultivated Nest March 21, 2013 at 1:06 pm Reply

    What a great use for those cards! I hate to just throw them away too. I pinned this to my upcycle board on pinterest.

  11. Genny March 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm Reply

    Great idea! Sure beatsthe alternatives! Thanks!

  12. Mama G May 24, 2013 at 10:30 am Reply

    How clever of you.

  13. Kelly M. September 8, 2013 at 10:17 pm Reply

    Great way to reuse something!

  14. […] 17. Gift Card Plant Markers […]

  15. Simple Three-Step Plant Markers March 16, 2014 at 10:01 pm Reply

    […] Plastic Gift Cards. Recycle and reuse plastic gift cards with a little chalkboard paint and ingenuity from Farmhouse38. […]

  16. […] This is one of the easiest type of diy plant marker – look for old gift or business cards and paint it with Chalkboard spray. With grease pencil, write whatever you have too. Your plastic plant labels are ready to be put into fork stands.Get the tutorial here […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,755 other followers

