Meet The Farmstead…and a Giveaway!

***We have a winner!! Congrats to Brenna W.!! ***

And thank you to all who entered…remember that you can pick up a print of your very own at The Farmstead’s Etsy shop.***Meet The Farmstead and a Giveaway from Farmhouse38.com

Hands down, one of my favorite spots amongst the interwebs: this wacky, wonderful thing that is The Farmstead. I cannot get enough of the whimsical images that they churn out (please, please go follow them on Facebook so that you can fully appreciate…go right now! I’ll wait here.) depicting life on their small and lovely and simply magical farm in Olympia, Washington.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

“Let Them Eat Cake”. Lol.

'Date Night' by the Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead-OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

I agree. Completely.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Meet Nick and Rachael: Mr. & Mrs. Farmstead, wearers of many hats. Pig-herders, chicken-wranglers, goat-whisperers, barn-raisers, documentary photographers; they do it all, just the two of them.

Well, they get a little help from baby daughter, ‘Gizmo’.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Gizmo and Kitchen Pig.

They’re in good company with their motley crew of free-ranging Tamworth pigs, Katahdin Hair Sheep, and an assorted collection of goats, chickens, donkeys, dogs, and cats.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Lest these lovely images lead you to believe that The Farmstead is all brains and beauty but no brawn; rest assured, this is a real, working farm. Their heritage breed pigs provide pastured pork to the local masses, as do their lovely grass-fed lambs, and their laying hens are hand-raised and loved on to become sweet-natured flock members for backyard chicken enthusiasts. All their animals happily free-range and forage under the canopy of the forest, living the good life, working their best angles for the camera.

But Rachael and Nick say it best on their website: We are committed to creating an environment that sustains our presence without sacrificing the land. In Europe the term “High Farming” is used to reference the perfect balance between plants and animals. Animals enrich the soil, the soil produces plants, the plants feed the animals. On The Farmstead we aspire to succeed at “High Farming” and, in turn, nourish the people.

Our farm has made the conscious decision to raise animals with respect and dignity. We believe by giving animals a free and protected environment they will grow happy and healthy, without the constant bevy of antibiotics, hormones, and fillers, factory farms are forced to use. We also believe when animals are raised in fresh air and sunshine (or in our case, rainshine) their meat and eggs are healthier for us.

Cheers to that.

Their stunning photography demonstrates just how much they love their animals (and visa versa), as well as showing off the couple’s quick, quirky sense of humor.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Which brings me to my favorite The Farmstead image ever…The Winged Goat:

The Winged Goat by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

I gushed over this image when it came through my feed on Facebook. An embarrassing amount. So imagine my delight and surprise when a print showed up in my mailbox. My real mailbox. Where mail goes. A real print of my very own–to hang on my gallery wall:

The Winged Goat by The Farmstead olyfarmstead.org via Farmhouse38.com

See? There it is! Prime position.

Rachael and Nick. They’re just good people.

I’m completely excited and humbled that, together, we are giving away a framed copy of The Winged Goat to one lucky winner. To enter, just follow the link below and leave us a comment telling us where you’d hang this print. Contest runs today February 28th, 2014, thru midnight Tuesday, March 4th, 2014. We’ll announce the winner on Wednesday! Good luck!

Enter here: Meet The Farmstead Giveaway

And don’t miss out on all The Farmstead fun–follow along with Rachael, Nick, and Gizmo on their farming adventures at OlyFarmstead.orgFacebookInstagram, and Pinterest.

Image by The Farmstead- OlyFarmstead.org

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

50 thoughts on “Meet The Farmstead…and a Giveaway!

  1. Carol J. Alexander February 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm Reply

    Love the gown picture! Goes to show that farm gals have a feminine side. :)

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2014 at 4:52 pm Reply

      I know, right, Carol? I love that photo!

  2. Melissa February 28, 2014 at 4:52 pm Reply

    Adorable family! thanks for sharing this lovely site :)

  3. Ailee February 28, 2014 at 4:56 pm Reply

    the farmstead is a biggest FB farm page crush, love them! :)

  4. Ailee February 28, 2014 at 5:00 pm Reply

    i love the railroad iron chest from http://gershwinandgertie.com :)

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2014 at 7:26 pm Reply

      Ailee–I somehow got my rafflecopter comments bungled up and the Gershwin and Gertie comment prompt was from the last giveaway–but no worries–this still counts as your entry for the Winged Goat contest! So sorry for the confusion–and thank you for commenting (I love that railroad chest, too!!) :-D

  5. Emily Waits February 28, 2014 at 5:04 pm Reply

    Marieke 24″tall Iron Mug Tree. I’ve been wanting one of these for awhile now!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2014 at 7:25 pm Reply

      Emily–So sorry–there was a mix up on the Rafflecopter page and it was still showing the comment suggestion from the LAST giveaway (which was with Gershwin and Gertie)–but never fear! This still counts as your entry–thank you for commenting, and sorry for the confusion!

  6. Macey W February 28, 2014 at 5:08 pm Reply

    I love the Farmstead! I also live in Southern California (originally from rural Washington state) and long for more country as well! I would put this print in our kitchen or laundry room.

  7. Kate Gurecki February 28, 2014 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Love love love the Winged Goat!

    My family raises goats in southwestern virginia…I wish to someday have a working, high integrity, loving farm one day too :) would love to connect with animals and plants all day long <3

    Thanks for sharing…this image would be hung on my entrance wall to my home, sharing my love of animals and quirky sense of humor as well :) xo

  8. Chris McLaughlin February 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Being a goaterd (goatess, goat herder…?) myself — I simply will not resist the opportunity to claim this photo for my very own. It would look perfect here on the walls of Laughing Crow & Co. :D

  9. Brigitte Ellen February 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm Reply

    In my home office.

  10. Denise February 28, 2014 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I would hang this print downstairs in my dining room. Love it!

  11. Helen February 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm Reply

    That is lovely!

  12. Gilda February 28, 2014 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Loved your post. Great pics and humor. I love the Wood Display Ladder with 5 Baskets at G&G. Thanks for your giveaway. I think I will hang the pic in the entryway so all can admire.

  13. AB Smith February 28, 2014 at 7:04 pm Reply

    I’m in love with the Barnyard Copper-Clad Buffet with Wooden Base and 3 Drawers on the site — actually I LOVE everything!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2014 at 7:24 pm Reply

      So sorry–the wrong comment choice showed up on Rafflecopter (this was for the last giveaway)–but don’t worry, this still counts as your entry–thank you for commenting!!

  14. Mel February 28, 2014 at 7:29 pm Reply

    The Rafflecopter wasn’t showing up for me – But….. It would be a toss-up between the barn :) and the kid’s bathroom for the pic! The Farmstead IS truly amazing. ;)

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2014 at 10:01 pm Reply

      It wasn’t showing when you clicked on the link?

  15. Chelsie Mullett February 28, 2014 at 7:56 pm Reply

    What a gorgeous image, thank you!

  16. Annie February 28, 2014 at 8:20 pm Reply

    The winged goat picture would go in my office! being a photographer myself! I love all things creative and The Farmstead pictures are soon much fun!!!

  17. Rochelle robinson February 28, 2014 at 8:35 pm Reply

    I love your photos

  18. Heather Jackson February 28, 2014 at 9:58 pm Reply

    I would hang this right in my living room with pride! Gorgeous!

  19. The Farmer's Trophy Wife February 28, 2014 at 10:58 pm Reply

    i would hang it in my kitchen!

  20. lindsey March 1, 2014 at 12:32 am Reply

    The Burberry bow tie is amazing!

  21. brenna March 1, 2014 at 12:41 am Reply

    i would hang the print in my baby boy’s nursery!

  22. Karen March 1, 2014 at 1:14 am Reply

    So much fun! I have another goat photo that I love. Will start a new gallery wall in my hallway with both.

  23. Judy E March 1, 2014 at 1:42 am Reply

    I love it! I would put it right inside the front door, so everyone coming to visit me would see it first thing upon entering. And, of course, I could see it daily!

  24. Ana Thomson March 1, 2014 at 2:06 am Reply

    What a great giveaway! I love goats and would most likely hang it above my stove where I can view it everyday. Thanks for the opportunity!

  25. CJ Pillow March 1, 2014 at 7:05 am Reply

    I would set the winged goat picture on one of the shelves beside the fireplace.

  26. Diane March 1, 2014 at 1:14 pm Reply

    Love this! I would hang this in my daughter’s room because she loves all farm animals. (She is 15 years old.)

  27. patquinn01 March 1, 2014 at 1:15 pm Reply

    Fun post! I would love to display the photograph titled “The Winged Goat” in my country kitchen. Thanks!

  28. Liz Lew March 1, 2014 at 2:06 pm Reply

    In the playroom

  29. Angel B March 1, 2014 at 2:29 pm Reply

    I’d hang this pic in my daughters room.

  30. jennfinn March 1, 2014 at 7:54 pm Reply

    in my kitchen

  31. KellyV March 1, 2014 at 9:12 pm Reply

    In my sewing area above the sewing angel.

  32. Juanita A May March 1, 2014 at 10:31 pm Reply

    I would hang it in my bedroom. I love it.

  33. Lesa March 1, 2014 at 11:49 pm Reply

    I would hang this in my office to inspire me as I write – just love the pic!

  34. Trish March 2, 2014 at 2:21 am Reply

    I am redecorating my bedroom to truly reflect my soul. This would be PERFECT in there!!!

  35. Danielle March 2, 2014 at 2:38 am Reply

    I’m hoping it would hang in the living room! But my oldest daughter just turned 18 this past Christmas Eve and she’s looking for a place of her own! It might find a home on her wall? I’ve never heard of The Farmstead before. I’m so glad I came across this giveaway! I absolutely LOVE them!!

  36. Ashley Renee March 2, 2014 at 2:43 am Reply

    I would get it for my sister, and put it in her room!

  37. maggiethecoder March 2, 2014 at 11:20 pm Reply

    I would hang it in my foyer near my coat rack!

  38. […] Photo by The Farmstead (Don’t you just LOVE this photo by The Farmstead…check out their giveaway here.) […]

  39. Caitlin | The Siren's Tale March 4, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness, I love all the whimsy! If I won, I’d hang this picture right below my vision board. My significant other and I are saving money this year to start farm hunting at the end of 2014. We are planning to open our own organic farm (with goats) come the beginning of 2015! I can’t imagine a better motivation and inspiration than this print :)

  40. April Brown March 4, 2014 at 7:36 pm Reply

    I would hang it in my living room with all my other farm animal photos. I use to raise goats and I miss them so much, especially with spring coming.

  41. lyn moon March 4, 2014 at 11:25 pm Reply

    I would hang this sweet photo in my foyer. Such an interesting family. I love her hot pink boots. Thanks for the giveaway.

  42. Carla March 5, 2014 at 3:05 am Reply

    In the kitchen, the most popular room in the house.
    I love the pic of you in the pink boots with the lamb! Thanks for the chance to win.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,838 other followers

