Pot O’Gold Terrarium

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.comEver since attending the Terrarium Class at The Nest Reno a few weeks back, I’ve had terrariums on the brain. I figured that St. Patrick’s Day was a good excuse to get it out of my system.

I started with a nice big glass jar (the kind that comes with a lid, but we’re leaving that out this time around), and filled it about two inches or so with some green recycled glass fragments (obtained at a gardening store).

St. Patty's Day Pot O' Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.comNext, I dropped in two generous handfuls of activated carbon (you can find this, most likely, at your local nursery, but also in the aquarium section of the pet store).

St Patty's Day Pot O' Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

The third layer is a bit of sheet moss (from the nursery or craft store):

St. Patty's Day Pot O' Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Now, it’s time for potting soil. Put enough in to accommodate the size of the plants you want to use.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Time for the fun part: planting. I chose several tiny plants from the nursery, including a couple of shamrocks (oxalis) and a couple of seloginella ferns.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

My local nursery has an entire ‘fairy garden’ section with itty bitty plants perfect for terrariums.

But I also just happen to have some wild oxalis growing in my yard, whose leaves are much tinier and more ‘fairy garden-ish’–so I wanted to transplant a few of them, also.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

I wasn’t sure if these would survive transplanting–but they totally did! Shamrock on.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

I planted all my tiny plants and then tucked sheet and reindeer moss all around them, then gave everything a really good misting of water.

Now it was time to make my tiny pot of gold. I started with some broken mirror glass gravel (found at the craft store). It was kind of a cool yellow glass, but I spread it thin and sprayed it with gold spray paint, let it dry, shook it up a bit, sprayed it, let it dry, etc., until it was well-coated with gold. Any type of small gravel would work for this, I just really liked the size, shape, and reflective quality of this stuff.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

On the left is the original look of the gravel. On the right is how it looked lightly sprayed gold.

Now to create the pot: I went with the most wee terracotta pot (also from the craft store) I could find:

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

We have three sizes: wee, not so wee, and FRIGGIN’ HUGE!!! (Who’s good at their obscure SNL skit lines?)

I then sprayed it black with chalkboard paint. When it had thoroughly dried, I ‘seasoned’ it a bit with chalk to make it look a little aged (giving the whole thing a coat of hairspray to help make the chalk stick). I then hot glued a craft stick into the bottom of the pot (sticking out the drain hole). Next I layered hot glue, then gold gravel, then hot glue, then gold gravel, etc, building the gravel up until it looked like a nice, full pot of Leprechaun gold.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Unhand me gold.

Now…for the rainbow. I began with an empty plastic bottle:

St. Patty's Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

I drew a rough guidline, spiraling down the bottle, and then cut along this line.

This left me with a curlycue strip, like so:

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Next, I took some fine gauge sand paper and sanded both sides of the plastic (this removes any printing or label remnants, and gives the surface some ‘tooth’ for the paint to hold on to).

St. Patty's Day Pot O' Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Tape or weigh down both ends of the plastic so that it is laying flat. Choose your rainbow colors (I used basic craft acrylic paint), and thinly paint your stripes of colors (thin the paint with clear gloss if you have to so that the final result is a bit transparent). Once that has dried, hot glue one end of the rainbow to the back edge of the pot of gold, and place your pot in the terrarium.

St. Patty's Day Pot O' Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

For some reason I really wanted a little paver path leading to the pot. So I placed some tiny stones. I think I am still fixated on Olive and Love‘s adorable pathway in her Terrarium Class terrarium.

St. Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

This little path makes no sense. What leprechaun in his right mind would build a path leading to his pot of gold. I mean, really.

The final step is to apply your cloud to the top edge of the jar. I swiped a handful of fiber-fill stuffing from a pillow, ran a bead of hot glue along the back edge of the jar, and stuck the fluff on. I then ran a bead of hot glue along the loose end of the rainbow and lodged that in the cloud.

And there you have it! A pot o’gold at the end of the rainbow, cloud and all:

St Patty's Day Pot O'Gold Terrarium from Farmhouse38.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Pot O’Gold Terrarium

  1. Phoebe March 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm Reply

    This is cool, but the kind of oxalis you were holding, would grow quiet huge. So I expect to see how it would be like after 2 months.

    • farmhouseK8 March 16, 2014 at 12:34 am Reply

      Lol–they totally do get huge, with gorgeous yellow blossoms (though who knows if they would grow to their full extent in captivity like this!).

  2. Laura March 15, 2014 at 5:47 pm Reply

    Amazingly clever!

  3. Shannon March 15, 2014 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Love it! You are so creative. My girls will love this project.

  4. trixpin March 15, 2014 at 9:32 pm Reply

    What a beautiful thing! I’m amazed! You are so inventive and I love the little extra touches like the cloud and the stepping stones :D

  5. Charlotte Zweigoron March 16, 2014 at 4:35 am Reply

    You have me interested… gonna have to check out what my local nursery has. Such a cute St. Paddy’s day decoration!

  6. Katja @ Shift Ctrl Art March 16, 2014 at 3:32 pm Reply

    I totally love this. What a sweet sweet project. Fresh and original too and you know I love that!!

  7. Ellen March 17, 2014 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Looks great! will have to try this. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Maureen March 17, 2014 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Awesome, especially the rainbow and pot of gold! Pinning.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,733 other followers

