Bathing Beauties

I know, I know.  I am a little over-fascinated with my chickens.  It’s just that they are so durn….chickeny.  I’m obsessed.

This morning, when I noticed a dust cloud rising from my fairly green, lush garden, I grabbed my camera and ran.  There is just nothing better than a fat, happy chicken taking a roll in the dirt.  Comedy at its finest.

There is a tiny bare patch in the back corner of the yard that I intended to plant a little something in; nestled between rose and lavender bushes, it gets a delightful batch of morning sun each day.  So, when I was recently doling out seedlings, I popped a few sunflower sprouts in to see how they’d do.  Fortunately, I planted plenty of sunflower sprouts elsewhere in the yard, because these ones don’t stand a chance.  The chickens have discovered this lovely little spot, with it’s morning-warm dirt and aromatic lavender.  It is now the chicken day-spa.

For anyone who doesn’t know, dust baths are part of a chicken’s daily routine.  Rolling in dust or sand helps them to clean their feathers, apparently.  As a chicken-owner, you’re supposed to provide them with this.  I was getting around to it, I swear!–they just beat me to the punch.  I guess I could put in a sandpit somewhere where I’m not attempting to grow seedlings, but once those girls make their minds up about something, it’s pretty hard to negotiate.  This spot is theirs, and I might as well just accept it….mix in some sand to make it even better….provide some cucumber-infused ice water.  And move the seedlings that I had the audacity to plant there.

I love how Eloise looks surprised that I caught her.  You can see one of the struggling sunflowers directly in front of her.

Clementine decides to snuggle into the sun next to Eloise.  They look deranged when they fluff out their head-feathers in the sun….better not block that glorious sun with my annoying camera.

The dirt-flinging begins.

Gertie joins the action.

They pause to look at me like, “WHAT.”

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bathing Beauties

  1. v4vikey May 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm Reply

    Beautiful photos..

  2. FanaticOne May 28, 2012 at 6:47 pm Reply

    Ahhh! Chicken TV, there really is no better drama series out there 😉

  3. bluegrasspb May 29, 2012 at 12:16 am Reply

    Great pics! I’m surprised to see the chickens out amongst the well-tended plants…I had to keep mine in a permanent run area. They were dust-bathing in garden beds and eating too many veggies.
    I’m with you–it’s pretty delightful to keep chickens in the backyard. Although I hunt for deer, I can’t kill the ladies!

Leave a Reply

