A Rather Crispy Garden

It has been hot.   Yeah, yeah, I know, you all feel really sorry for the SoCal girl.  My version of hot doesn’t quite hold up elsewhere in the country.  I know.  But, nonetheless, there’s been quite a bit of frying going on in the garden, and because I’m such a wimp with the heat, I haven’t been out tending to things quite the way that I usually do.  But today, I sucked it up, suited up, and headed out (much to the chagrin of both dogs, who just wanted to stay inside and soak up the AC).

Abbie’s face when I suggested she come outside with me.

Filling up the wading pool was the compromise.  You can see how enthusiastic Chance is.

The back ‘weed garden’…looks pretty, but it is so overgrown that you can barely get to the chicken coop.  A serious intervention was in order.  The Black-Eyed Susans got a bit of machete action.

Some harvested Suzies to put in the house.

Fresh roses and fried roses, all jumbled together on the same plant….I need to teach the ladybirds how to dead-head flowers.

Speaking of which….

I also need to teach them to stay off the al fresco dining table.  Maybe.

A lovely jumble of lisianthus, mini roses, and hydrangea in the weed garden.

Saucy hot pink dahlias…love this color!

I just can’t get enough of that hot pink blossom against its black foliage– is this real life???

A crispy rose…still pretty!

Strangely, the hydrangeas don’t seem to be minding the heat.

And the Morning Glory is also undeterred. 

Millie….my constant little shadow/tripping hazard.

My newly upgraded and organized potting bench.

The herb garden….

No wonder Chance always smells so minty-fresh!

Strange dog.

The last of the grapefruit crop (hoping to harvest and make some marmalade this week!)

Followed closely by the next crop!

This is the hardest working fruit tree I have ever seen.

The ladybirds getting all up in my business.

This is what it looks like when a chicken pecks an iPhone.

And finally….a little Fourth of July flair….

Red, white, and blues in the front beds.

And a wreath decorated with festive cupcake liners.

Happy 4th!!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “A Rather Crispy Garden

  1. Julie Riebe July 4, 2012 at 2:20 am Reply

    I absolutely love your so-called weed garden. It’s beautiful!

  2. Shannon July 4, 2012 at 2:59 pm Reply

    I should be so lucky to have all those beautiful weeds! And I just love your fellow inhabitants. They sure are fun. 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 July 4, 2012 at 8:29 pm Reply

      Thanks, Shannon–you know, it’s funny…ever since the dawn of the chickens, there aren’t so many weeds back there anymore (just a crazy jumble of flowers). The ladybirds are doing a pretty darn good job of keeping them at bay! The ‘weed garden’ is slowly starting to be known as the ‘chicken garden’!

  3. RedneckRosarian July 4, 2012 at 6:56 pm Reply

    Great blog! Many of my roses are friend too! No worries, cooler temps will come and they will be back in a glorious flush of blooms for fall….

    • farmhouseK8 July 4, 2012 at 8:26 pm Reply

      Thanks–right back at ya! Love the title! Is it weird that I sometimes like the way the roses look with their crispy little edges? I kind of dig it. 🙂

  4. Dottie Donut July 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm Reply

    I’m jealous of your weed garden and ladybirds! Love it! The wreath is awesome, as well!

  5. From a Montana Front Porch July 5, 2012 at 11:59 am Reply

    I love every single picture here but the dog in the mint and the chickens on the table have me giggling before 6am…… Thank you for that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

