Garden Girls

For Jonathon’s sweet grandma….

Gettin’ after it.

Gert, Millie, & Clementine take a break from the garden and pose for the camera.

Despite the heat, the landscaping staff has been hard at work out there.  These girls have me pretty sold on how valuable chickens are to an organic garden.  I’m a little blown away at the difference I see in just the four short months we’ve had the birds.  They really know how to weed and de-bug, and really REALLY know how to fertilize.  I am so relieved to not be using any pest- or herbicides anymore.  That sort of stuff has always freaked me out, and in years passed, I cannot be sure if various pets were or were not being affected by it.

Clem inspects the lavender for pesties.

Millie inspects my awesome pajama pants for pesties.

Eloise relaxes for a moment in the shade.

Most of my plants have never looked better.  Emphasis on the ‘most’.  Things are flourishing despite the heat, and despite my generally lazy gardening ethic.  I can only assume that this is due to my top-secret blend of luck, Southern California climate, and chicken poop.  Patent-pending.

New irises popping up this year….I planted them and I have no idea what they are called. Pretty, though!

A lovely Tradescant rose.

Pumpkin vine climbing irreverently up onto my workbench.

Happy hydrangea.

Crocus roses.

My new/old salvaged sundial.

An old succulent that has moved three times with me…she’s about two feet wide these days.

More succulents and my protective pair of gardening shoes.

Unfortunately, the girls, for all their talents, do also have a slight tendency towards destruction.  Nobody’s perfect.  Between their new-found love of tomatoes, and their propensity towards artfully rearranging any bit of dirt that is not pinned down by plant life, there are a few corners of the garden that cause me to shake my fist in the air and mutter, “Chickens!”  Thankfully for everyone involved, this is the exception, not the norm.  The chickens are allowed to keep chickening, despite a little mischief now and then.

Chicken-ravaged tomatoes.

A victim gutted, and left to expire on the driveway.

Clem and Gert see me photographing the tomato remains and hurry to dispose of the evidence.

Millie gives the marigolds a wide berth. Note to self: plant more marigolds.

Eloise shows off the aftermath of her chicken-scratching skills (aka, dirt flung all over the drive).

Clem and Millie wonder why I am upset at the beautiful dirt hole they have worked so hard on. It was tough to do with all those zinnias in the way.

Caught in the act of scratching….fortunately the lavender can take it like a man.

Chicken pow-wow. No good will come of this.

Curled up at the screen door after a long day’s work.  It seems the girls have accepted that they will not be let into the house.  Ever.  So they come as close as they can, and you gotta love them for it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Garden Girls

  1. Brad Stanton July 25, 2012 at 11:26 pm Reply

    fabulous photos, really cool

  2. From a Montana Front Porch August 6, 2012 at 9:32 pm Reply

    I just inherited three chickens!!! 🙂 I now need to name them so I can introduce them to the world. Love your pictures as always!

    • farmhouseK8 August 6, 2012 at 10:14 pm Reply

      Yay, chickens! Congratulations–can’t wait to see photos of them!

Leave a Reply

