Caught in the Act!

This morning I went about my typical chores in the yard, with my typical black-and-white chicken underfoot.  All of a sudden, I realized I wasn’t tripping over Millie anymore….she had disappeared.  My spidy-sense began to tingle…that bird was off laying an egg!  For anyone who hasn’t read the last entry, I only just discovered THE FIRST EGG two days ago.  I suspected it was Millie who had done it, but I could not be sure.  I wanted some proof, and I was about to get it.   I scanned the yard, and stumbled upon a curious thing: a curry bush in my herb garden shimmying like the rhythm was gonna get it.

Said curry bush, front and center.

Upon closer inspection, I found my sneaky little girl hard at work, building the cutest little nest in her curried little cavern.

That comb is hard to miss.

She didn’t seem to mind me sticking the camera in her face, but….

….she certainly took a moment to scream bloody murder when the other chickens came to check on her.

The business end of the chicken as she re-enters the bat cave.

After a grueling 10 minute labor….

I give you….THE SECOND EGG!!!

1st egg on top, 2nd egg on bottom.

There is a definite color and size variation between the two eggs, which leaves me wondering if the first one might not have been Millie’s after all.  The plot thickens….but in the meantime….curried eggs, anyone?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Caught in the Act!

  1. Alex @ northofseven August 13, 2012 at 9:43 pm Reply

    I’m jealous. I totally want to have a chicken coop and pick fresh eggs every morning. The problem is, I’d probably be terrible at the taking care of the chicken part.

  2. From a Montana Front Porch August 13, 2012 at 10:50 pm Reply

    I’m thinking those are not from the same chicken! You might scour your other herb bushes/bat caves for hiding spots.

  3. Charlotte Zweigoron August 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm Reply

    I am in love with your black and white chicken!! Tell her there is a woman in Georgia who thinks she is the deal…

    • farmhouseK8 August 14, 2012 at 5:10 pm Reply

      Charlotte, you are too funny! This bird KNOWS she’s the deal!

  4. Adventures We Seek August 15, 2012 at 6:16 am Reply

    Very intriguing mystery! Congrats Millie!!!!

  5. Dottie Donut August 15, 2012 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Exciting!

  6. thesalemgarden August 16, 2012 at 2:57 am Reply

    that is wonderful! The first eggs you get are magical!

Leave a Reply

