Treasure-Box-Style Floral Tutorial

Back in ye olden days, when I was doing floral event design for a living, this style of arrangement was kind of my trademark.  I still love them.  There is just something so charming about a pretty jewelry box over-flowing with flowers.

For this arrangement, I hit ye olde farmers’ market for the flowers, including: one bunch of pale pink roses, two bunches of tuberose (my most favorite-ist flower!), and two bunches of carnations (one white, one creamy yellow).  Now, I know there are a lot of carnation-haters out there that are going to get cranky, and believe me, I used to be one of them.  But they have won me back to the dark side.  Carnations are rampantly misused and mistreated (only elementary school science teachers should dye their carnations….everyone else should knock it off).  In reality, they are a sweet, ruffle-y, wonderfully textural floral element when used either exclusively (as in, an entire, mounded arrangement of carnations), or as a filler element alongside other, less misunderstood flowers.  There.  I’ve said my piece.  On with it.

I already had a cute little jewelry box from World Market in mind to use:

Dimensions are roughly 6″x6″x6″ plus or minus a half inch here and there.

Next, you want to line the inside of your chosen container (if it isn’t already miraculously water-tight) with a plastic bag to allow it to hold water.  I usually use a Ziploc or other fairly thick-walled zippy bag—you need the plastic to be pretty strong so you don’t accidentally poke through with a stem along the way.  For this sized container, I used a quart-sized baggy, but you can always go bigger….sometimes it’s better to go bigger.

***Update*** Recently, I’ve begun to favor NOT using plastic bags for this…they are terrible for the environment. Really. I now prefer to place a small glass container inside the box as the vessel for water. If the glass is slightly smaller than the box, stuff some stuffing like kraft paper or paper towels around the base of it to secure inside the box.

Slip the baggy inside the box so that the edges of the bag are as close to the lip of the box as they can come without showing.  Because this one is a wooden box, I then stapled the top edge of the bag in place.

Staple through the zippy edge of the bag, no lower.

Carefully fill the bag with water and add a little sprinkle of flower powder if your bouquets came with it (if not, just skip this step–it isn’t the end of the world).

Next, if the lid of your container is like this one, it yawns all the way open, and, personally, I won’t have this.  Hold the lid at a semi-open angle and then use a hot glue gun to run a bead of hot glue along each of the hinges, back and front.  Hold it in place (or prop it) while the glue sets, and then the lid should stand at half-mast.  Much better.

Trust me, don’t skip this step.  I will know.  And I will find you.

Now, it is flower time.  For this one, I started with six of the roses, cutting the stems to about a 5 or 6 inch length, removing any remaining leaves, and then setting them into the container so that they kind of rest on the edge.

This one’s about a 6 inch stem length.

Next, it is carnation time.  Carnation-haters, look away!

Because I had two shades of carnations, I used a few of each: about 3 cream and 5 white. It would have worked, also, to just use all one color.

Now, for the tuberose (joy!).  Cut the tuberose to about a 6 inch length and strip away the bottom leaves and flowers (anything that might fall below the water line, you want to remove).  Then tuck those suckers into the gaps that are left.

I wound up using about 5 tuberose clusters.

And there you have it! (Hopefully!)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Treasure-Box-Style Floral Tutorial

  1. Charlotte Zweigoron August 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm Reply

    This is beautiful!!

  2. From a Montana Front Porch August 16, 2012 at 3:41 pm Reply

    Awesome!!! 🙂

  3. Shannon August 25, 2012 at 1:36 pm Reply

    Very clever. That would be an excellent way to re-purpose used ziplocs (we steer away from them entirely, but occasionally, one comes home from school) which are not otherwise recyclable.

Leave a Reply

