Candied Bacon, Apple Butter, and Gruyére Grilled Cheese

Yum.

Yep.  It’s what’s for lunch today.  Because it’s totally normal to have some gruyére, homemade apple butter, and bacon sitting around just begging to be mashed together and melted.

If you’ve been following the blog for any length of time, you might have picked up on the alarming fascination I have with my kitchen torch.  I really like to brulée things.  A lot.  So anytime I can whip that fun little weapon out, I do.  Enter candied bacon into this recipe.  Cook your bacon as you normally prefer to (in small batches I do it in a pan, in larger batches, I do it in the oven), and maybe even leave it a little more under-done than you prefer it.  The brulée-ing cooks it a bit more.  When it’s done, spread it out on a piece of tinfoil, spoon granulated or baking sugar (I prefer baking sugar) liberally over the top of it, crank up the torch and caramelize those puppies!  Once they are good and golden brown and shmelty, let them cool, flip them over and do the same thing to the back side.  By the by, an awesome side-effect of the brulée torch is that no one seems inclined to bother me while I am using it.  Funny, that.

To build this sandwich:  smear the insides of your bread with a thin layer of sweet apple butter, then layer your gruyére and candied bacon however many layers high you feel like daring (today, I was feeling like only one layer of glutton).  Smear both the top and bottom sides of your sandwich with butter (I used french butter because I am pathologically obsessed with it), and grill it as you see fit.  My grill method is a bit high-maintenance, but I am going to share it anyway.  On a grill pan over medium-high heat, I grill both sides of the sandwich just until there are those lovely brown grill marks.  Then I pop the sandwich onto a pan and stick it in a 350 degree oven for about 5-10 minutes or until that cheese gets good and gooey.  Crack a little sea salt over the top of that thing, and then put it in your face.  Immediately.

So good.  I do have a mild case of eater’s remorse right now, though, but….I’ll get over it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Candied Bacon, Apple Butter, and Gruyére Grilled Cheese

  1. Alex @ northofseven September 17, 2012 at 8:14 pm Reply

    This is by far one of my favourite comfort foods on the planet! Now I really want one. Remorse? What remorse? 😉

    • farmhouseK8 September 17, 2012 at 8:31 pm Reply

      Cheers (clinking grilled cheeses)!

  2. ashleyharris35 September 17, 2012 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Ashley Harris.

  3. putneyfarm September 17, 2012 at 8:42 pm Reply

    We are making this….sounds perfect!

  4. Lindsey September 17, 2012 at 9:09 pm Reply

    Really, you couldn’t of made these yesterday when you were over!!!

  5. Becky Neville September 17, 2012 at 9:21 pm Reply

    Um…YUM!

    • Charlotte Zweigoronc September 17, 2012 at 11:28 pm Reply

      There is a restaurant in the back country in South Carolina called Grits & Groceries. (I am serious, we drove for over an hour and saw nothing but fields of cotton and such.) The husband and wife were both chefs (I think) in the French Quarter in New Orleans. (there is a website). They make and routinely give out a recipe for what they call Praline Bacon. They use brown sugar and finely chopped pecans and do the whole thing in the oven. My sister and I had to try it!! Now I will have to try yours even though I don’t have a brulee torch!! How many miles do you have to walk or run after eating that sandwich?

      After we had eaten, they told us they did not take credit cards!! We were horrified because we didn’t have enough cash and were sure they would not take a check. When the waitress came back and we shamefacedly told her of our plight she said a check would be fine… they would even take an IOU…!!! Said they had done it for years and only one person hadn’t ever paid up. They still expect them to show up one day when they are traveling through again. What? Who takes an IOU for a meal in a restaurant??

      The sandy, semi-lawn out front was packed with cars and we had to wait about 20 minutes on the porch in the rain to get a table in what looked like an old country store. The bacon was definetely worth it and I just bet your sandwich is, too!!!

      • farmhouseK8 September 17, 2012 at 11:32 pm

        Yay, bacon candy! It’s sinful, it really is. The whole sandwich. I’m not eating for the rest of the week. Just kidding.

  6. Emma September 18, 2012 at 11:37 pm Reply

    This is the most tasty thing I have ever seen! I’m making this for lunch tomorow!!!

Leave a Reply

