Egg Rations

Well, it seems we have already reached egg-overload at Farmhouse38.  Jonathon and I are but two measly egg-ivores who (apparently) cannot keep up with the twenty-something eggs we are getting a week (though, I intend to get at some fall baking that might make a decent dent).  This is happy news for our friends, families, and neighbors who have been curiously assessing my sanity since I acquired my chicks in the spring.  Let them eat eggs!

Subsequently,  I have noticed some interesting resulting phenomena.  Despite everyone’s complete enthusiasm for the idea of acquiring free fresh eggs, there is a brief moment when all these city-slickers balk (or ba-gawk, as it may be) at suddenly eating something that came out of one of my pets.  They all seem to get over it–but they all have a little moment.  I think it may be the whole food-source desensitization that we’ve succumbed to for most of our lives–we (most especially city-folk) are very used to thinking that food comes from the supermarket, and that’s it.  Suddenly, you are looking at this little egg, and knowing that it dropped out of that chicken right over there.  When you put a face to your food, it’s a little mind blowing.  For a moment.  Furthermore, I mark the lay date and chicken name on each egg (if possible), a control-freak habit that formed out of my initial need to keep track of who was laying and who was not.  But then I got kind of used to doing it, and I think it’s kind of funny.  That being said, multiple people have expressed to me that it makes them feel guilty.  That, as they crack open an egg marked ‘Gertie’, they feel personally responsible to her for swiping that precious egg.  I find this extremely funny, as well.  Hopefully, as they enjoy their delicious eggs (which, by the way, are most definitely more delicious than store-bought eggs), they pardon themselves from the egg-guilt and ponder the inherent beauty of locally-sourced foods.  By the time I give these eggs to my people, they are a couple of days old or less, sometimes not even a day old.  When compared to the 100-day-old+ eggs they might buy at their local market….there just really isn’t much comparison.

So here’s to my sweet little girls and our locally-sourced breakfasts!

Miss Eloise

Miss Mildred

Oh, my darling Clementine.

Miss Gertrude T. Featherbottom

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Egg Rations

  1. Alex @ northofseven September 17, 2012 at 9:39 pm Reply

    Ok if I ever got a small package of eggs like that from a friend with a cute note tag like that, wrapped in twine like that, I’d die of happiness. Mind you it’d be onto a frying pan with bacon so fast.

  2. Shannon September 17, 2012 at 9:39 pm Reply

    You’ve got it so good, Kate! Yard eggs are an awesome give-away. And given that the free-range, organic grocery version (that still comes no where close to the consideration of the bird who laid it) are around $5/doz, they should be mowing your grass in return!

    The reason your eggs taste better is that your birds are eating what they’re supposed to eat, and they’re happy, adjusted, healthy animals. As nature intended. 🙂

  3. Jennifer September 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm Reply

    I wish we lived closer! I eat three egg whites every morning!!

  4. From a Montana Front Porch September 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm Reply

    Yay for fresh eggs! 🙂

  5. Emma September 19, 2012 at 4:11 pm Reply

    Cheers to chick eggs

  6. Dottie Donut September 19, 2012 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Cute gift ideas! Love it. Love the name of your gals, too…especially Ms. Gertrude T. Featherbottom.

  7. Tilly's Nest September 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm Reply

    I just LOVE This post. Will you link it up to the Down Home Blog Hop? I think our fans would just adore this 🙂 Have a wonderful day~Melissa

  8. Tammy September 20, 2012 at 6:14 pm Reply

    I love this post. I remember a few years back my husband brought home some eggs that one of his students had given him from their backyard flock. I actually said, “Eww! These eggs are weird!” They were all different colors and shapes that I had never seen before.

    Fast forward a few years and here I am with my own flock laying eggs of all different colors and shapes! Funny how things change 🙂

  9. Tamatha Mavraides September 22, 2012 at 1:42 am Reply

    I keep 12 hens and have named them all, I found your names as charming as could be. We have not eaten a purchased egg in 2 years. I don’t plan to either! I have a waiting list for my eggs…no guilt about these eggs around here!

Leave a Reply

