Weed Garden Changes

The back garden was once what I like to refer to as the ‘Weed Garden’.  It was so named because, well, I let the weeds kind of do their thing–as long as they weren’t choking out the actual flowers that I put in, then all was as it should be.  The Weed Garden is also a subtle reference to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (my most very favorite book), and subsequently, there are lots of wonderful little Wonderland-y touches back there.  However….in recent months, my little garden has fallen into a bit of disrepair.  It is suffering from a fluffy infestation of chickens.  To be fair, the chickens actually do a fantastic job of taking the weeds out of the Weed Garden.  But they also do a pretty decent job of creating vast dirt holes where they can dust-bathe and sun themselves.  As charming as they are when they are lolling about in the dirt, these bare patches are not the most aesthetically pleasing.

It is long past time for me to take back my garden.  In my experience, so far, the best deterrent against chicken-scratching is a good, sturdy ground-cover of some sort.  If they can’t easily scratch it up and fling it aside like a rag doll, then they move on to somewhere else (by the way, I also find that it is good to actually give them a designated dirt pit where they are allowed to wallow).  I find, also, that strategically-placed obstacles, such as statues or garden art, thwart the chicken’s efforts.  Sometimes these obstacles get moved around a bit (my little ceramic mushrooms get uprooted and tossed about sometimes), but for the most part, I think they do a good job of impeding the destruction….or at least slowing it down.

The first bit of the garden to get a facelift is a little section off to the left as you first enter.  This was a notorious dust pit, care of the chickens.

Clem and Millie inspect the patch of dirt in question.

I knew that this would be the perfect spot to display my little Mad Hatter’s tea party; a collection of teacups, saucers, pots, and other little odds and ends, drilled for drainage and planted with succulents.  First and foremost, I wanted to put down a good layer of ground cover to anchor the dirt.  Blue Moneywort seems to stand up to chicken feet nicely, and it has lovely foliage and the sweetest little violet-like blue flowers in the spring and summer.  A couple little curly tufts of blue ornamental kale, and some purple pansies round out the ground plantings (we shall see if these survive chicken-inspection….I have my doubts, but did it anyway).

Succulent-filled teacups, teapot, and jewelry box sit atop a mirrored tray.

Succulent-filled vintage jewelry box.

A ‘white rabbit’ stands guard against the chickens.

A Wonderland garden would not be complete without a ‘drink me’ bottle or three.

My favorite quote.

This has nothing to do with Alice in Wonderland. It’s just cute. So there it is.

1/32 of the garden is done!  Now on to the rest!

I’m going right now….in just a sec….this is me going out to the garden….lemme just….ooooh!  Pinterest!….

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Weed Garden Changes

  1. Dottie Donut September 21, 2012 at 12:21 am Reply

    Damn that Pinterest! Gets me everytime, too! Very cute. Love the theme and the potted plants in teacups. I may have to steal this idear in the future.

  2. Lindsey September 21, 2012 at 1:38 am Reply

    Are all the

    • farmhouseK8 September 21, 2012 at 1:40 am Reply

      Are all the….what? Are you on Pinterest right now, too?

  3. Shannon September 22, 2012 at 12:32 pm Reply

    You are so cute. Love the little teapot-server-turned-planter. We are always working to out-think our “critters,” aren’t we? Whether chickens, dogs, deer, or munching caterpillars, they us up on our toes and our minds sharp. It’s their lot.

  4. Tilly's Nest September 29, 2012 at 3:23 pm Reply

    What a sweet and creative post. I really loved it. Thank you for hopping with us today. I bet so many are going to go out and do this now in their own yards.

  5. Emma September 29, 2012 at 5:40 pm Reply

    Awwww. I liked the weed garden.

Leave a Reply

