Clementine is Official

Clementine, you saucy minx, you!

This is me breathing a huge sigh of relief.  Officially, all four of my girls, are bonafide, nest-squatting, egg-laying girls.  Clementine, my not-so-little late-bloomer, really knows how to drag out the anticipation.

Yesterday, I noticed this:

Clem tries the squat-spot on for size.

Like a total freak, I sat there for a good half an hour (bumping back plans like an even bigger freak) just to be able to document her first egg.  When she finally hopped off and went on her merry little way: no egg.  Silly me.

Today, she went to the spot on two separate occasions, and I managed to keep my excitement in check, until finally, finally late this afternoon, she hopped off, ba-gawked her triumph, and lo and behold:

The long-awaited egg (surrounded by decoys).

How could I have ever doubted you, Clementine?

It’s a good day at Farmhouse38.  Happy Friday!

Cheers!!!

Tagged: , , ,

12 thoughts on “Clementine is Official

  1. hopefarms September 22, 2012 at 1:25 am Reply

    You’re a freak! Great to know I’m in good company!

  2. Jennifer September 22, 2012 at 2:52 am Reply

    I will finally get a good night’s sleep.

  3. Shannon September 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm Reply

    Yeah is right! I’m with hopfarms. I’d be way too freaky and worry-wart, like an expecting mama. I love this post, Kate. This kind of stuff brings joy to my mornings. Congrats – and thank goodness.

    • Shannon September 22, 2012 at 12:19 pm Reply

      Oh…tell me more about those decoys. Does she lay those too?

  4. cindyricksgers September 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm Reply

    Yay! I’m happy Clementine has proven herself to be “not a rooster”. Great post, thanks!

  5. Paul Cahill September 22, 2012 at 7:52 pm Reply

    So the question is, what will you do with the eggs?

    • farmhouseK8 September 22, 2012 at 9:59 pm Reply

      Breakfast!! 🙂 I know….I sound just chicken-crazy enough that people probably think I don’t actually eat the eggs. But I do, oh, how I do.

      • Paul Cahill September 23, 2012 at 12:06 am

        Good for you. They are fantastic after all.

  6. Charlotte Zweigoron September 22, 2012 at 11:26 pm Reply

    You go, Clementine!! Girls rule!!!

  7. Charlton Estate Trust September 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm Reply

    Nice touch with the last photo! Excellent and well done!

  8. Emma September 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Yes!!!!! I told you!!!!!!!!!!

    • farmhouseK8 September 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Hahaha, I know! I was worrying for nothing!

Leave a Reply

