Soft-Boiled Egg, Anyone?

Yeah…so that happened.  And apparently, it’s something that does happen.  For anyone who cannot tell, this is an egg without a formed shell; the guts are all intact and held together by the thin membrane that usually lines the inside of the shell.

This circus-sideshow of an egg was in the bottom of the roost box when I let the ladies out for the day.  I have found one once before: right after Millie first started laying, there was one in the roost box, like it accidentally slipped out while she was sleeping.  Hey, it happens to the best of us.  So to whom did this fine specimen belong?  Sure enough, Gertie, Millie, and Eloise all laid a normal egg at their designated squat-spot times throughout the morning.  All signs point to Clementine, as she left no egg in the squat-spot.

A nice, solid Gertie-style egg up against the abomination of nature.

Shell-less eggs can, apparently, be indicative of a couple of different chicken-situations.  Chronic shell-less eggs can mean that you have a very stressed-out bird, or that there is some repeated environmental stress being inflicted upon her (extreme heat, cold, house-music being piped into the surround-sound in the coop).  It can also mean your bird needs a little more calcium in her diet; a deficiency that is pretty easy to fix with oyster-shell supplementation.  But an occasional rubber egg is, I guess, not something to be too concerned about.  I’ll have to keep an eye on her and make sure this doesn’t become a habit, but I think Clem is just getting her egg-mojo going.  She’s allowed a bum egg or two.

But maybe I am jumping to conclusions.  Maybe Clementine is being falsely-accused of the rubber-egg incident.

Yep. That’s a guilty face, if I ever saw one.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Soft-Boiled Egg, Anyone?

  1. Shannon September 30, 2012 at 2:51 am Reply

    Haha! Love the last photo. I hope Clementine gets her rubber egg laying under wraps. That’s just weird.

  2. Charlotte Zweigoron September 30, 2012 at 1:29 pm Reply

    I did not know that!!! I don’t get why it looks solid yellow… like the yolk and the white are not separate. Anyway, you are a hoot!! One of the best “rubber chicken” jokes I have ever seen or heard!

  3. little poppits September 30, 2012 at 7:07 pm Reply

    My littlest chook does that all the time! She usually goes in a cycle of eggs with no shell, then very thin to finally a proper shell! I usually give her a bit of extra grit and something they sell here called (stressless), which is basically lots of vitamins!
    xxx

    • farmhouseK8 September 30, 2012 at 8:18 pm Reply

      Good to know! All four of my girls laid gorgeous, perfect eggs today–so I think it was just one of those things. Who knows!

      • little poppits October 1, 2012 at 4:36 pm

        I know! they like to keep us guessing!

  4. Maple Grove October 1, 2012 at 12:24 am Reply

    Hahaha … you have a wonderful way of telling and illustrating a story. Thanks for sharing that. I had a hen that started laying shell-less eggs. Raw eggs with no membrane, making a terrible mess of the nesting box and drawing flies! I was able to determine which hen it was, and I worked with her for two months. I could not determine any stressers, and I was making calcium available for them. I eventually had to cull her out because it became such a problem. 😦

    • farmhouseK8 October 1, 2012 at 12:50 am Reply

      OH NO!!! Don’t tell me that! 😦 Yeah, so far, no membrane-less eggs….and today, all 4 girls laid perfect eggs, so we shall see!

  5. tbnranch October 1, 2012 at 4:10 am Reply

    Ha ha, I didn’t see that coming! Great post. My ladies are molting… for the most part, no eggs.

  6. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods October 1, 2012 at 5:12 pm Reply

    I love the last photos – so hilarious! I have received a few of these rubber eggs and it is quite shocking!

  7. From a Montana Front Porch October 3, 2012 at 4:11 pm Reply

    You seriously crack me up! 🙂

  8. Tilly's Nest October 6, 2012 at 7:00 pm Reply

    Even a funny egg has beautiful photos! What a funny clever post! Thank you as always for linking up to the blog hop each week. I look forward to reading your posts!

  9. roberta October 20, 2012 at 3:57 pm Reply

    I’ve read and seen pictures of this before, never quite so entertaining though! my girls are only 1 month old right now but i will be sure to have oyster shells always available for them as they get to egg laying age! thanks!

    • farmhouseK8 October 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm Reply

      Oh fun! Good luck with your little ones–so exciting. Chickens are the absolute best!

  10. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART December 13, 2012 at 11:14 pm Reply

    I have never heard of such a thing before. I laughed out loud at the rubber chicken. I would love to have farm fresh eggs. With shells through…. 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 December 13, 2012 at 11:39 pm Reply

      Hahah–most of them come out with shells, I assure you! 🙂 It’s been awesome having these chickens–I adore all my animals (and some might say I have a lot), but there is just something special about looking out in the yard and seeing those girls clucking around like they own the place.

Leave a Reply

