Getting Halloweenie at the Farmhouse

Halloween is kind of a big deal in our town.  Every year we have thousands of people that come into town to see the lights and decorations, and well, we gotta keep up!  This year’s theme at the Farmhouse is ghosts, and while the actual ghost part of the decor won’t be unveiled until Halloween (gotta save something for the big night!), the rest of the decorations are up.

My second foray into DIY doormats…. “Boo” seemed a little too obvious, so I went with the evil laugh instead!

Is the cheesecloth drapery too cheesy? Don’t answer that.

Anyone see the creepy ghost in the window? The professional photo-bomber is at it again.

Oh, how I love me some gourds. The uglier, the better.

It’s all fun and games to have pretty decorations during the day, but in this town, you better have something to show for yourself at night:

The nighttime is the righttime.

I am obsessed with purple lights. I wish I could leave them up all year. But then I’d be THAT person….and I am already dancing on a real fine line.

It was hard to get a good photo of our hedge (because I was too lazy to haul out the tripod and expose this right), but suffice it to say, it is full of blinking eyes.

Very Sleepy Hollow….maybe that should have been my theme. I don’t know why I insist on having a theme.

This is an easy little twist on traditional jack-o-lanterns…strings of mini lights (timer and battery operated), wrapped around the pumpkins.

Fairy lights and pumpkins–so pretty!

The sad thing is: all this work and our house completely pales in comparison to what other people do around town….actually, it’s not sad, it’s awesome.

Happy Halloween!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Getting Halloweenie at the Farmhouse

  1. Mindie October 15, 2012 at 5:31 pm Reply

    Love your igh shots!

  2. Jenny October 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm Reply

    How pretty! You’ve done a great job. It looks great.

  3. Christie October 16, 2012 at 12:19 am Reply

    Oh my goodness, it looks SO GOOD! I was all, “oh, beautiful, nice nice nice,” with the first pictures… But then you have LIGHTS! I love it!!!

  4. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods October 16, 2012 at 4:28 pm Reply

    This looks amazing! You really do go all out!

  5. Coop Poop October 19, 2012 at 12:50 am Reply

    Love your farmhouse!! Just Love It — halloweenie AND not halloweenie!!

  6. farmbeachgal October 19, 2012 at 10:57 pm Reply

    Hi kate, I’m Anne from Life on the Funny Farm (http://annesfunnyfarm.blogspot.com), and I’m visiting from Farmgirl Friday.

    I’m speechless. Your house looks so amazing! I love Halloween decorations, and you have taken them to a whole new level! Fantastic…

    Anyway, it’s nice to “meet” you! Hope you can pop by my blog sometime to say hi…

    • farmhouseK8 October 19, 2012 at 11:33 pm Reply

      Thanks, Anne–I’m following you back, now. What an amazing family, and a fun little farm you have. Glad you stumbled in here!

Leave a Reply

