Not-So-Gloomy Blooms

It’s a grey, cloudy day at the Farmhouse; a perfect day for a happy, colorful arrangement.  Behold!  My favorite colors all thrown together.

It all started (like usual) with a trip for something entirely else to Home Depot, where I spotted these delicious purple and coral carnations.  The Halloweenish colors of the carnations made me think immediately of something that was growing in my yard….

Darling orange cosmos that were a surprise pop-up in the garden. An 8-foot-tall surprise that my mom insisted was a weed and wanted to pull and I said, “No, it’s not a weed!” and she said, “Well, what is it then?” And I said, “I don’t know!” It eventually turned into a cosmos of some sort. I think. That’s what I’m going with, anyhow.

This crazy plant eventually got so tall that it flopped over and I had to prop it up with an Adirondack foot rest.  But, I digress.

Pretty cosmos to complement my store-bought carnations.

Since it’s almost Halloween, I went with a black, metal cauldron-style container, and began cutting the carnations to length and dropping them in.

Time for some purple.

Add in a handful of marigold-orange cosmos, and try not to be happy when you look at these colors. Just try!

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Not-So-Gloomy Blooms

  1. Shannon October 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm Reply

    I need ‘not-gloomy’ today. Pretty color combo!

  2. From a Montana Front Porch October 19, 2012 at 12:51 am Reply

    Those look like the wild coneflowers that grow in huge quantities in our ditches up here. Beautiful! 🙂

  3. cindyricksgers October 19, 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    Beautiful!

  4. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods October 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm Reply

    Really great color combination! That would definitely perk me up on a gloomy day.

  5. Charlotte Zweigoronc October 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm Reply

    Lovely, my friend!! I have a couple of orange and white Dahlias that I floated in a crystal bowl on my table and added a few leaves. So nice to have flowers for fall!!

  6. swiggityswash October 31, 2012 at 2:38 am Reply

    Wow. Those flowers are really beautiful. And so are the other flowers in your other posts. Do you plant them yourself? They look so beautiful! I’d love seeing one of those in the house.

    • farmhouseK8 October 31, 2012 at 2:54 pm Reply

      The arrangements are usually a mix of flowers from the garden and store (usually I will see something at the market that inspires me and bring those home and embellish with stuff from the yard). Thanks so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

