Cinnamon Bourbon Apple Cider

I know it’s kind of turned into pumpkin season….but my dad brought me a big, beautiful haul of apples from his orchard, and, ever since, I’ve had apple brain.

I also tend to have cocktails on the brain a lot.  Subsequently, I knew I wanted to find a recipe for some sort of bourbon-soaked apple concoction, and while there are plenty of them out there, none of them really fit the bill.  Some had ginger ale in them, some had lemon juice, some had straight ginger floating around in there….I was nonplussed.  So I decided to strike out on my own.

Oh, yes. It is all good.

Okay, so I didn’t actually use any of my dad’s apples in this concoction–they only served as my inspiration. But don’t worry, they were put to good use in other kitchen projects. I know you were worried.

Here’s what you’ll need:

-2 oz. store-bought apple cider

-2 oz. bourbon (in this house, we prefer Woodford Reserve–holla, Smallwoods!!)

-3 oz. hard cider (I used Hornsby’s Amber Draft.  Those who know me well know that Hornsby’s and I go waaaay back)

-1 good shake of cinnamon

-ice (duh)

-dark brown sugar and honey for garnish

Rim a lowball glass (the fancier, the better) in honey and dark brown sugar (the brown sugar is heavy, and the honey holds it on there really well–plus, it tastes darn good).  Mix the apple cider and the bourbon in a mixing cup, and then pour over ice into your fancy glass.  Add in your hard apple cider, dust with your single shake of cinnamon and give it a quick stir.  Then….what are you waiting for?!  Drink!!!

Cheers!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Cinnamon Bourbon Apple Cider

  1. cindyricksgers October 20, 2012 at 2:32 pm Reply

    Can’t beat cider this time of year! This sounds wonderful, thank you!

  2. putneyfarm October 20, 2012 at 6:04 pm Reply

    Beautiful drink….like the recipe and will try (the honey brown sugar is a nice touch…)

  3. little poppits October 20, 2012 at 10:47 pm Reply

    gorgeous and apples are good for us too!

    • farmhouseK8 October 20, 2012 at 11:37 pm Reply

      And bourbon! Bourbon is good for us! Hahahah! 🙂

  4. Cocktail Shaker October 21, 2012 at 12:55 pm Reply

    Sounds delicious!

    And today’s featured post on our Facebook page.

    Facebook.com/cocktail.shaker

    Cheers!

  5. Tammy October 21, 2012 at 11:56 pm Reply

    Yum! And I love that glass you have it in. So cute!

    • farmhouseK8 October 22, 2012 at 12:53 am Reply

      Thanks, Tammy–yeah, they are my favorites–hand-me-downs from my grandparents who always had the most stylish bar!

Leave a Reply

