Our Elf on the Shelf

As we round the corner into the holiday season (I know, I know I am a bit over-eager), I thought I’d start getting everyone in the mood by posting our annual holiday dog video from last year.  It is our little tradition to put one of these out, so stay tuned for version 2012, coming very soon!  Until then, here is a short film about our dogs and the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ to the tune of Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby’s “We Wish You the Merriest”.  Suffice it to say, our elf, Bocephus, had his work cut out for him; Chance and Abbie did not go highly recommended to Santa.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Our Elf on the Shelf

  1. Shannon November 2, 2012 at 10:52 pm Reply

    Oh that’s fantastic!! Thanks for sharing, even though I’m stressing a bit about the upcoming holidays…which I’m no where near ready for. Your “kids” are so very cute and fun to watch. Great use of duct tape (gorilla tape?).

    • farmhouseK8 November 2, 2012 at 11:08 pm Reply

      Hahah–yes, Gorilla tape!!! 🙂

  2. reneesylvie November 4, 2012 at 2:49 am Reply

    Hahahahahaha!!!!!!! I love the video, awesome!!! I can see my boxer and Chihuahua doing the same…poor elf on the shelf…PS love the hats and scarves at the end…may need to crochet some of those for holiday pictures of our 3 dogs!

    • farmhouseK8 November 4, 2012 at 2:11 pm Reply

      Hahah–yeah, unfortunately, we sent this out last year without a warning to all our parent friends and I guess everyone’s kids were traumatized. Oops!

  3. Susan Pleasant November 5, 2012 at 12:14 am Reply

    That was wonderful! Going to show it to the grandchildren at Thanksgiving.

    • farmhouseK8 November 5, 2012 at 1:57 am Reply

      Susan–fair warning–if the kids are into the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ tradition, they might be traumatized by this video–as the dogs are seriously breaking all the ‘Elf rules’. We got A LOT of negative feedback from our parent friends. Oops.

  4. Dottie Donut November 12, 2012 at 3:44 am Reply

    Haha, too cute. I wonder how your chickens would react to the elf.

    • farmhouseK8 November 12, 2012 at 2:30 pm Reply

      They would have pecked him beyond duct-tape salvage….They don’t mess around. 🙂

  5. yrppies November 19, 2012 at 12:53 am Reply

    So I think the last time I read a post on your blog waaayyyyy back in August it was a dog video clip that made me crack up laughing. This one was even better, mainly because EOTS parents make me feel seriously inadequate. I had considered purchasing one for a brief moment in Barnes & Nobles a few years ago and quickly put it back on the store shelf. I am lucky if my Christmas shopping and baking is done BEFORE Christmas day; daily planning of elf placement would be setting the bar way too high.

    • farmhouseK8 November 19, 2012 at 4:31 am Reply

      So we got SCATHING feedback about this video last year from parents who assumed it was a video they could sit and watch with their kids without screening first (which we thought it was!)–I guess there were some really traumatized kids because of it. And here we thought we made this adorable family-friendly holiday video. I mean….the elf survived!

  6. Emma November 30, 2012 at 2:35 am Reply

    Hi it’s Emma but I changed my address.Please tell that poor elf I’m sorry for him.Also tell Nicks she’s a true elf bully.

  7. Emily December 9, 2012 at 11:59 pm Reply

    That was adorable & very well done! Your babies are hilarious!

    • farmhouseK8 December 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm Reply

      Thank you!!—they try real hard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

