Festive Winter Votives

Bring on the holiday crafts!  It has been far too long since glitter has infiltrated every surface of this house and given the Texan something to really grumble about.  For some reason, he does not like showing up to work with glitter on his face, and shoes, and computer bag, etc.  I don’t understand.  I just don’t understand.

My latest crafty obsession (for the holidays) is Epsom salt.  I have been using this stuff as fertilizer in the garden for a long while (plants love them some magnesium sulfate), and it is pretty hard not to miss the fact that it sparkles like snow in the sunlight.  So lovely!  Also it is pretty hard to miss all the holiday craft projects pinned on Pinterest that use it as such.

A little side note: something you should know about me is that I am a jar hoarder.  Not just the pretty, popular mason and canning jars, but every darned jar I can get my hands on.  I scavenge every jelly, jam, chutney, pickle, dip, salsa, and mustard jar.  Mustard jars….why do we have so many mustard jars?!  I digress.  My jars were just begging to be dipped in Epsom salt ‘ice’ for the holidays.

For this project, you will need:

-Jars or glass containers of your choosing

-Epsom salt

-White craft glitter

-Painter’s tape

-Clear gloss spray (as glue and finish coat)

-Sprigs of rosemary, tied into wreathes with bakers twine (or any other festive adornment of your choosing)

-tea light candles

A tiny fraction of my jar surplus.

The Texan really gave me a look when he saw this sitting on the counter. In very large letters, the Epsom salt bag reads: “For relief of occasional constipation.”  Happy Holidays.

Because I wanted the jars to have a dipped look, I started by taping the tops down about an inch or so from the rim with painter’s tape.

Pour a healthy amount of Epsom salt into a low, wide container (I used a paint tray).

Next, I sprayed the whole jar with a good coat of clear gloss spray (painting on Modge-Podge will also work).

While the gloss or glue is still wet, quickly pat all sides of the jar into the Epsom salt.  Sprinkling the salt over the jar also works well.  When you’ve got an even coat of salt, then take your glitter and sprinkle it over the entire jar, letting it fill in between the salt granules for a little extra sparkle.  Give the jar a tap to knock off any loose stuff, and then hit the whole thing with a coat of clear gloss to help it all hold.  Let it dry, then peel off the tape.

I love the way the jar looks with a bit of naked glass showing at the top (instead of covering the whole thing in glitter salt). Pretty!

That naked edge just calls for some other seasonal adornment. A rosemary wreath looks about right!

Pour a bit of loose Epsom salt into the bottom of the jar to give your tea light a comfy spot to sit.

Sparkly!

Sparkly!

So sparkly.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Festive Winter Votives

  1. Susan November 5, 2012 at 5:01 pm Reply

    Send this on to my girls. Great idea.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. cindyricksgers November 5, 2012 at 5:15 pm Reply

    Lovely!

  3. little poppits November 5, 2012 at 6:16 pm Reply

    so gorgeous, i will give it a try. x

  4. Katie/Maple Grove November 5, 2012 at 10:31 pm Reply

    Very beautiful and sparkly! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Carol J. Alexander November 6, 2012 at 3:36 am Reply

    I’m going to do this for my daughter-in-law’s baby shower next month. It will be lovely with our tea party theme.

  6. Epsom Salt Council November 6, 2012 at 2:06 pm Reply

    I work with the Epsom Salt Council, and just wanted to say thanks for the great post. Your project looks awesome. For what it’s worth, you mentioned that your latest crafty obsession is Epsom salt, so we thought you might also be interested in some of these ideas: http://epsomsaltcouncil.org/salt-crafts/. If you do, please let us know what you think. Thanks again, and Happy Holidays!

  7. Becky Neville November 7, 2012 at 4:10 am Reply

    I am also a jar hoarder and you have proven that there is a good reason for this. I love these.

Leave a Reply

