Autumn Scarf Wreath

Autumn Scarf Wreath from Farmhouse38After Halloween, and before Christmas, our front door always has a bit of an identity crisis.  This year, I solved it with this cozy wreath: fall colors and a little chalkboard love all tied off with a scarf.

I formed the wreath, itself, from grape and wisteria vine (but a craft-store-bought grapevine wreath would do the trick nicely), looped together with a little raffia-covered wire to keep the shape.  I scavenged a few small branches of sweetgum leaves from my neighbor’s yard, and since the leaves are still green here in SoCal, I hit these with a couple light sprays of paprika-colored spray paint to give them a hint of color, and to help preserve them.  I hot-glued the leaves in place, along with several sprigs of craft-store berries.

Autumn Scarf Wreath from Farmhouse38

Hi.

The little frame started out white, but I gave it a basecoat of the same paprika spray paint I used on the leaves, then dry-brushed a mint-color craft paint over the top.  I removed the glass from the front of the frame, then spray-painted the inside of the back of the frame with chalkboard spray paint.  With a white paint pen, I wrote my ‘Hi’, then I ‘seasoned’ the chalkboard by dry-rubbing it with the tiniest bit of watered-down white paint (to mimic the look of a well-used chalkboard, but hold up to the elements).

The pièce de résistance, of course, is the casually-tied scarf.  Cozy.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Autumn Scarf Wreath

  1. Jo Ann November 8, 2012 at 9:03 pm Reply

    I love this idea! Wish I’d thought of it and hope you don’t mind if I copy it.

  2. little poppits November 8, 2012 at 9:04 pm Reply

    Love it! X

  3. Alex @ northstory November 8, 2012 at 11:47 pm Reply

    Gorgeous! And how much do I love the colour of your door? Ok let me say it again, I love the colour of your door!

    • farmhouseK8 November 9, 2012 at 1:09 am Reply

      Oh, thank you! I love it, too–and appropriately it is called “Farmhouse Red”. I didn’t choose it because of the name, I swear.

  4. thesalemgarden November 9, 2012 at 2:35 am Reply

    That’s so cute! I love the scarf…

  5. Playing With Scarves November 10, 2012 at 5:40 pm Reply

    What a fun idea! Love it 🙂
    Have a great weekend,
    Anne (Playing with Scarves)

Leave a Reply

