Cheer-Inspired Tablescape

Beer-Casual Elegance

This casual holiday tablescape was directly inspired by a seasonal staple here at the Farmhouse: Shiner Cheer.  Yes, this festive table was inspired by beer.  Are you really that surprised?

Sixer of Shiner

Come on! This is gorgeous packaging.

Ever since the Texan introduced me to this seasonal nectar of the Gods, I’ve been hooked.  It is profoundly delicious (dang those Texans know how to make some good beer) and the pretty packaging doesn’t hurt, either.  I am a sucker for pretty packaging.  We literally wait on pins and needles for it to come out every year, and it is darned hard to find in Los Angeles.  But we manage.  This year we drove 60 miles for it.  Priorities.

Cheers!

For me? You shouldn’t have.

I am in love with this color scheme: cream, minty-teal-green, and orangey-red (dare I say….Farmhouse Red?!).  These are my colors, and they repeat themselves ad nauseam throughout our house.  So it was a no-brainer that my holiday table would resort to this color scheme.

Holiday Tablescape

In the background, you might notice that our tree is, as of yet, still undecorated. Sigh.

Shiner for all

We like it casual here.  I use basic white dinnerware for everything, because it goes with everything.  This table cloth is a fitted sheet (which hugs the oval table in a very pretty way!), with a strip of raw-edged canvas drop cloth set over it as a runner.  The centerpiece is an informal gathering of scavenged, broken branch pieces, craft-store red berries, and strands of mini-lights placed around a set of three chippy-painted candlesticks.

Place Setting

The napkins are wrapped in a simple bind of red grosgrain ribbon, with a Shiner Cheer bottle cap accent.

Shiner Cheer TableHoliday TablescapeHappy Holidays

Shiner Cheerfulness

Let there be cheer!

Manzanita Centerpiece

Cheers Sign

It only seemed fitting that I show the reclaimed wood sign I’ve got on the mantel, currently….I love the gold-glittered letters against the aged wood.

Sneaky Chicken

I walk away from the photo session for one second and leave the door open, and in waltzes a very wet Millie seeking refuge from the rainstorm outside.

Wet Chickens

Gertie is close on her heels. Wet chickens!

Stink Eye

Oh, boy did I get the look of death when I shooed them back out into the rain!

Shiner Cheer

Wishing everyone a case or two of Holiday Cheer!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Cheer-Inspired Tablescape

  1. Coop Poop December 1, 2012 at 1:29 am Reply

    This is just so warm, welcoming, and perfect in every way. Boy, have you got skills!!

  2. Janet Sabo December 1, 2012 at 1:54 am Reply

    Your table looks great, and I know the name “Shiner” is special to the Texan’s heart. Merry, merry Christmas to y’all.

    • farmhouseK8 December 1, 2012 at 4:47 am Reply

      Thanks, Janet–same to you! 🙂

  3. Green Door Hospitality December 1, 2012 at 2:20 am Reply

    That’s really great that you can get Shiner out in CA! And yes, Texas does make some pretty great beer. (And as someone who lives outside of Austin, I’ve tried a few, lol). Love the tablescape.
    Kenley

    • farmhouseK8 December 1, 2012 at 2:50 am Reply

      It is frustratingly hard to find out here and when we do find a place that carries it we gotta jump all over it because it sells out like there is no tomorrow! 🙂

  4. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods December 1, 2012 at 2:55 am Reply

    The table looks great! I really love your reclaimed wood “cheers” sign. So cute and festive! And the wet chickens cracked me up!

  5. little poppits December 1, 2012 at 10:00 am Reply

    have you decorated your hen house- come on bet you have! xxx

    • farmhouseK8 December 1, 2012 at 3:08 pm Reply

      Hahaha–haven’t gotten there yet–but I will!! 🙂

  6. Shannon December 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm Reply

    Hear, hear. Shiner is some AWESOME Texas stuff, I assure you. Love your pictures! So festive and arranged. My house would stay like that all of 20-seconds.

  7. Christie December 1, 2012 at 2:13 pm Reply

    I absolutely love your cheerful holiday dining decor! It makes me long for a real kitchen table (a puppy has overtaken our kitchen at the present). Someday!

    • farmhouseK8 December 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm Reply

      A puppy is a pretty great alternative!!!! 🙂

  8. thriftykristy December 1, 2012 at 5:47 pm Reply

    Thanks for linking up to the tablescape party! I love your farmhouse style! xo Kristin

  9. Alex @ northstory December 2, 2012 at 12:18 am Reply

    So nice!! I love all the red and white striped fabric you’ve got going on in your house overall.

  10. annekemcconnell December 3, 2012 at 8:53 pm Reply

    This is so fun! I’m featuring it today as a fave on my blog ~ thanks for linking up to the Home for the Holidays Link Party!

  11. K @ Shift Ctrl ART December 11, 2012 at 12:49 am Reply

    I love the filter/action you are using on your images.

Leave a Reply

