Twinkly

Twinkly Farmhouse

‘Tis finally the season, and we have finished putting up the exterior lights at the Farmhouse.  Our light scheme, as of a happy little accident from last year, is twinkling silver and gold.

TwinklinessWe have always put up a Clark Griswold amount of Christmas lights, and every year we lamented the resulting electric bill because we were using incandescents.  Last year, we made the leap to LEDs, and because I was getting to design a whole new light scheme from scratch, I pondered it for a really long time.  After far too much debate, I decided I wanted to do all twinkling white lights, because, while I love multi-colored light displays, there is just something magical about all white.

Imagine my surprise and consternation when I arrived at the store and discovered that LEDs come in two different-colored whites: warm white and cool white.  Warm white is the white that I know and love; it best mimics the white of an incandescent bulb.  Cool white, on the other hand, is this harsh, blueish LED color, that, in mass quantity can make you go blind (just kidding).  I knew I would, without question, do all warm-white.

Front Gate Wreath

Guess who helped.

Guess who had to be helping.

But the LED gods had other things in mind for me.  Too many other people were doing all warm white, it seemed, and The Target had only half as many as I would require.  But they had plenty of darned cool white.  It was then, as I stared angrily at the store light display, that I had my epiphany.  The warm white lights, lit up next to the cool white lights took on a whole different vibe.  They looked gold and silver.  The LED gods had shown me the way.  I had been enlightened (see what I did there?).

An extremely important component of this light display does not, unfortunately, show up in the photographs–and that is the twinkling.  Twinkling is essential, in my opinion.  Not blinking, not phasing, not pulsing.  Twinkling.  So not only did I have to find enough gold lights, and enough silver lights, I needed to find enough twinkling of each that the effect was evenly dispersed throughout the display.  This sounds easier than it actually is.  Twinkling lights are sort of hard to come by, in the right quantity, in the right hue, in the weeks leading up to the holidays.  Somehow, after hitting every The Target and every The Home Depot within a 50 mile radius, we managed to acquire everything I felt we needed.  And somehow, the Texan had not abandoned me at one of The stores.  Despite threatening it at every single one.

Twig stars hang on each window lit with battery-operated mini lights.

Gold and silver twinklies in our hedge.

Front Door Wreath

Along with silver and gold lights, the front door wreath sports sprigs of white pompoms and sparkly pinecones.

Home sweet home.

When all is said and done, the gold and silver are really a beautiful effect.  Definitely worth ransacking every local store for.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Twinkly

  1. thriftykristy November 30, 2012 at 4:53 pm Reply

    This is simply magical! xo Kristin I don’t know if you would be willing to do a tablescape for our link party, but we would love to have you! xo, Kristin
    http://bliss-athome.com/2012/11/29/its-time-link-up-your-holiday-tablescapes/

    • farmhouseK8 November 30, 2012 at 5:04 pm Reply

      Thanks, Kristin– I actually was already thinking I was going to contribute to your link party–and was going to work on a tablescape today….we’ll see how quickly I can get it done!
      Yours is gorgeous, btw!

      • thriftykristy November 30, 2012 at 5:13 pm

        Oh, wow! Thanks! I can’t wait to see what you create! The outside is like I said simply magical! xo Kristin

  2. Jennifer November 30, 2012 at 6:55 pm Reply

    J and C would love this ! Looks great!!

  3. Alex @ northstory November 30, 2012 at 8:44 pm Reply

    You have no idea how much I love this and now I need to call my real estate agent and see if we can move into the farmhouse we want to down the line…I’m kidding we’re so far away from that dream still so I am just going to live vicariously through yours.

  4. Becky December 1, 2012 at 3:47 pm Reply

    Just beautiful!!!!!!!

  5. Christie December 1, 2012 at 9:45 pm Reply

    I just can’t get over how gorgeous your house is! Serious kudos.

  6. Katie/Maple Grove December 2, 2012 at 12:23 am Reply

    So beautiful Kate! Thanks for sharing these photos! ~Katie/Maple Grove

  7. Christi {Jealous Hands} December 13, 2012 at 7:02 pm Reply

    Gorgeous! I especially love the twig stars. Would you mind sharing where those are from? xo

    • farmhouseK8 December 13, 2012 at 7:07 pm Reply

      They came from World Market (last year, actually), but they had them again this season, I noticed! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

