Jalapeno Bark

Spicy ChocolateIs anyone beginning to see a pattern forming here?  I may be in a rut.  But I like my rut.  It’s cozy in here.  This recipe is basically a hybrid of the recent Bacon Bark and White Chocolate Jalapeno Cookies.  Why not, I ask you?!

You will be needing:

2- 12oz bags of white chocolate chips (or 3 if you like a lot of white chocolate)

2- sticks unsalted butter

1- cup brown sugar

1/4-cup finely minced fresh jalapenos (about 1 large pepper)

1- fresh jalapeno finely sliced

sea salt to taste

festive sprinkles to pretti-fy

Begin by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.

Mince your first jalapeno in a food processor (or by hand if you are a patient person), reserve.  Cut the second jalapeno in half lengthwise, then finely slice it up–make these slices as thin as is humanly possible, and reserve.

Mince.

Mince.

Slice.

Slice.

 

Line a cookie sheet with tinfoil, then scatter about half (or however you feel is enough heat) of your minced jalapenos.  If you like your sweet salty, toss a little sea salt across the foil, too.

Salt & Peppers

In a medium saucepan, over medium heat melt your butter fully.  Once it is melted, add the brown sugar and stir until it is completely dissolved.  Now let this mixture come to a boil, stirring all the while.  Once it is boiling, keep stirring anywhere from 2.5 to 5 minutes, or until the mixture starts to become fluffy, thick, slightly darker, and starts to get fragrant—don’t let it burn!

Melted butter with the sugar just dissolved.  Start your timer.

Melted butter with the sugar just dissolved.

Once it starts boiling, it quickly gets fluffy and thick.

Once it starts boiling, it quickly gets fluffy and thick.  Keep stirring.

This is about done--the color is darker, and you should just be starting to get wafts of caramel off of it.

This is about done–the color is darker, and you should just be starting to get wafts of caramel off of it.

Pour the caramel across your prepared cookie sheet, letting it spread evenly over the entire thing as best as you can.  Now pop the sheet in the oven for 5 minutes.

Spicy Caramel

Pull it out, and spread your two bags of white chocolate chips evenly across the layer of caramel.  Depending on how big the sheet is, or if you want an extra thick layer of white chocolate, spread more than two bags.  Pop the sheet back in the oven for another 2-5 minutes.

Chips

When you pull it out, the chips should be good and soft.  Smooth and even out the chips.  Now sprinkle the remainder of your minced jalapeno across the white chocolate.  For an added kick, sparingly add the fine slices of jalapenos.  Crack a little more salt across it, if you’d like, and for some added flare, a few sparkly green sprinkles.

Smooth

Smoooooth.

Add your pepper slices, leftover minced peppers, sea salt, and sprinkle bling.

Add your pepper slices, leftover minced peppers, sea salt, and sprinkle bling.

Put the whole thing in the freezer for several hours, or until good and set.  When it is ready, peel the tinfoil off and break it into large pieces and store it in the fridge until ready to serve.

It's really quite lovely, isn't it?  Too bad it hurts when you eat it!

It’s really quite lovely, isn’t it? Too bad it hurts when you eat it!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Jalapeno Bark

  1. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART December 21, 2012 at 4:00 pm Reply

    This looks very interesting. I have never had anything like this before. I really like the caramel/butter method and I guess this recipe could be varied in many ways with other types of chocolate and nuts. If, say, I were a bit hesitant to dive full on in with the jalapenos? It looks really fantastic though.

    • farmhouseK8 December 21, 2012 at 4:20 pm Reply

      Totally! It’s really just a basic recipe that I added a dash of crazy to–you could totally change it up. I’ve seen versions with pretzels and also with saltines–lots of yummy variations roaming around out there!

  2. Shannon December 21, 2012 at 7:46 pm Reply

    this looks awesome and I bet its delicious!! I’m printing this out right away 😉

  3. Katie/Maple Grove December 22, 2012 at 2:39 am Reply

    It’s beautiful. How do you like the taste? I’m scared. teehee. I tried your Bacon Bark, though, and I’m in love with it!

    • farmhouseK8 December 22, 2012 at 4:11 am Reply

      Umm—I love this stuff! I actually made four or five batches fiddling with the actual amount of jalapeno–it’s easy for it to become obnoxious! But I have a pretty high tolerance for pain…..so I can’t promise this doesn’t smart…. 🙂 Glad you liked the bacon bark!

  4. Christie December 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm Reply

    Oh man, that looks so amazingly good! Thank you for sharing. I may, just may have to try this out over the next week. You know, when I find myself somehow lacking in sweets at some point.

  5. Brian In Florida December 27, 2012 at 3:42 am Reply

    WOW, this looks awesome, I have a question, have you ever made candied jalopinos? The topping looks so good and bright green I was just wondering what would happen if the toppings were candied?

    • farmhouseK8 December 27, 2012 at 4:36 am Reply

      Brian! You read my mind!!! I totally wanted to try candied jalapenos on top of this bark–that was my original plan! 🙂 But they take awhile to ‘candy’, apparently, and I was out of time, so I skipped it. Plan to do it in the future, though…. Have you candied them before? I’d be interested in some input on that!

  6. Brian In Florida December 27, 2012 at 10:52 am Reply

    I have never candied jaleponos but it was my first thought when I saw the topping. Good luck with that. I have tried jelly and that turned out pretty good. Good luck and let me know if it makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

