Donut Burgers, Again

DonutBurgersThis is a fun little recipe I came up with for Easter Brunch that was such a hit, I’m planning to bust it out again for New Year’s morning.  I’m thinking they’ll go quite nicely with some fresh eggs from the Ladybirds, and something a little bubbly to drink (perhaps a pretty pink Kir Royale?  My new favorite cocktail!)

To make 30 donut burgers, you’ll need:

-30 glazed donut holes

-2 lbs ground sausage meat

It’s overwhelming, I know.

Form the sausage into little balls (about the size of a ‘super ball’–you know, the kind you used to get out of the machine at the supermarket?) and then flatten it into little patties and cook them in a pan until they are done to your liking.  Let them cool a bit on a paper towel to drain, and then gently slice your donut holes in half.  Build your burgers, people!  Of course, I recommend trimming them out in some festive ribbon-adorned toothpicks, but maybe that’s just me!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Donut Burgers, Again

  1. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART December 29, 2012 at 5:19 pm Reply

    That looks amazing. A big fan of the Kir Royale drink too. When is the party did you say? 😉 Happy New Year!!

    • farmhouseK8 December 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm Reply

      Hahahah! Same to you, Katja!! 🙂

  2. Charlotte Zweigoronc December 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm Reply

    I am about to put you on my Evil Temptress list.

    Thank heaven for your generous Ladybirds who provide a little more protein to the mix which should get a diabetic such as myself through the combination of donut and alcohol.

    Yes, the protein and fat would save my blood sugar and now I HAVE to try this. It isn’t all that far off the mark from what my sister and I discovered we both, unknowingly, had been indulging in secretly for years. That would be sausage biscuits with grape jelly…yum!! This one has GOT to be passed on to my siblings!!

    • farmhouseK8 December 29, 2012 at 6:17 pm Reply

      I am just a fan of the whole savory-sweet thing!! Can you tell? The sausage biscuit with grape jelly sounds spot on!

  3. shorelineclusterpoets/NE Fowl December 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Looks awesome! I think I could eat half a dozen myself.

  4. trialsinfood December 29, 2012 at 8:38 pm Reply

    yum!

  5. P.E.A.C.E. January 13, 2013 at 11:10 pm Reply

    These tiny treasures are brilliant! I bet they were a HUGE hit. Yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

