Birthday Bathtub

Image of my hopefully soon-to-be tub from www.signaturehardware.com

Image of my hopefully soon-to-be tub from signaturehardware.com with a few embellishments added by yours truly.

I have a hole in my heart….a bathtub-shaped hole.  For five years we have been renovating this house, and for five years, I have pined for a bathtub.  You see, I am a tub person.  I love a good bubble bath.  But I have not had a decent, soaking tub since I moved out of my childhood home (15 years ago).  Now, some of you may have noticed that there is, indeed, a bathtub in the Farmhouse (no, not that enormous kitchen sink) guest bathroom.  It is, indeed, a bathtub.  But it is an old cast-iron wall tub that fills just high enough to get your ankles wet.  It’s great for bathing the occasional visiting nephew, or muddy pup, but for an adult human?  It just does.  not.  cut.  it.

The Kitchen Bath Tub

The Kitchen Tub….I probably fit better into this than I do the guest bathroom tub.

We have lovely showers at this house, don’t get me wrong–it’s not like we’re out using the garden hose.  I just really want me a tub….first-world problems, right?  We just can never seem to justify the expense of it, when there are so many other, more important projects that require our time and bank accounts.

Remember when I showed you the photos of our made-over master bath?

Remember when I showed you the photos of our made-over master bath?

And remember this sad little bare patch where there is supposed to be a tub?  It still looks like this.

And remember this sad little bare patch where there is supposed to be a tub? Yep.  It still looks like this.

I have a big birthday coming up in a month (and it shall remain numberless, thank you very much!).  And I have announced to the Texan (and now to the world) that this is it!  This is the birthday when the birthday fairy is going to bring me my tub.  She and I go way, way back, and I have given her a much-needed vacation for the past several years, so, the way I see it, she owes me a favor.  This is happening, people.  I want my gosh-darn tub!

We’re working with a pretty tight space, so it’s not going to be, say the bathtub of my dreams, necessarily, but it is going to be as big of soaker as we can possibly squeeze into that spot.  I really always figured on a claw foot tub, as it kind of feels as though that’s what a 100-year-old farmhouse might feel comfortable with.  It’s the safe choice.

But, secretly, I kind of want to do a tub like this:

Yep.  That’s a fiberglass tub fitted inside a horse trough, and the article claims the whole thing only cost 90 bucks.  That’s pretty farmhouse-y, wouldn’t you say?  Am I brave enough to do this?  I don’t know!  I just really don’t know!

We’ll have to see what the birthday fairy’s got up her sleeve.  Stay tuned….I know you are all on the edge of your seats!  🙂

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Birthday Bathtub

  1. Lisa January 7, 2013 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Oh, you MUST do it! I have never seen that idea of retro-filling a horse trough, but it’s brilliant

    • farmhouseK8 January 7, 2013 at 9:16 pm Reply

      I KNOW!! How cool is that? I’m totally contemplating.

  2. little poppits January 7, 2013 at 9:30 pm Reply

    me too yes please! x

  3. Green Door Hospitality January 7, 2013 at 9:33 pm Reply

    Love tubs and baths — and I love the ones that you have pictured here! I truly hope that you get your birthday wish!
    Kenley

  4. caroljalexander January 7, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

    I’d go with the claw foot. But the horse trough is cute. Hope you get one. 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 January 7, 2013 at 11:14 pm Reply

      Yeah, the claw foot is probably the smart choice….but I am really torn…. Thanks, Carol!

  5. seasonedwithsarcasm January 8, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

    I want that tub!!! It’s ADORABLE! and at $90 a total steal!

    • farmhouseK8 January 8, 2013 at 6:57 pm Reply

      I know, right? People can really be so brilliant. It’s mind-boggling sometimes.

      • seasonedwithsarcasm January 9, 2013 at 3:13 pm

        it really is. I know the hubs will never in a million years go for this type of tub in our current home – we are getting ready to gut our gross, old, dingy main bathroom – because this isn’t our “forever” home. But in the next house, I WILL have a bathtub like this! It would be simple to add a shower.

      • farmhouseK8 January 9, 2013 at 4:32 pm

        I struggle with that EXACT thing, too (as we intend to put this house on the market when we are done and upgrade to something with more property)….which is why, probably, we will end up putting in the ‘safe’ claw foot option, hehehe. But yeah, GAME ON with the next house! Game on. 🙂

      • seasonedwithsarcasm January 9, 2013 at 5:13 pm

        haha that’s what we want to do too! 15 acre min, with our house dead center. Then I’ll have more chickens, and a goat or two! I’d love finding an old mostly restored farmhouse sitting in the middle of those 15+ acres. It’s nice to dream 🙂 And I hope you get your birthday bathtub!

      • farmhouseK8 January 9, 2013 at 6:38 pm

        Thanks! I’m pretty obsessed with having goats, myself! 🙂

  6. From a Montana Front Porch January 8, 2013 at 6:05 pm Reply

    A big tub, not matter what it looks like is heaven to me! 🙂 Come on birthday fairy!!! She is after all turning what, 25?! She deserves it!

    • farmhouseK8 January 8, 2013 at 6:56 pm Reply

      Hahahah—yes. YES! How did you know, Bobbie? Turning 25. Again. For an undisclosed amount of times in a row. 🙂

      • From a Montana Front Porch January 8, 2013 at 10:06 pm

        How did I know? Because I think I claim 25 several times in a row also if only my growing kids wouldn’t make it look impossible! If I stuck with 25 then that would mean I was 15 1/2 when I had my oldest…..not a thing I want to be known for! 🙂 You can be 25 for both of us! 🙂

      • farmhouseK8 January 9, 2013 at 1:19 am

        Well, sounds like you’re at about the same number of 25’s as me then, hahaha! Cheers to us!

  7. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 8, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

    That tub looks really great! It would be so dreamy in your bathroom. Love the bath make over too. WOW!!

  8. julieadolf January 11, 2013 at 8:36 pm Reply

    I just found your site–so glad I did! I’m a PR/Ad girl turned suburban microfarmer–so I completely understand your farm love. Our gardens are actually on the big farm tour in our area–and our whole property is less than an acre. (They use us as an example of how to grow lots of food in back and/or front yards.) While I love, love the horse trough tub–I’m a little bit practical at heart. (Resale value and all.) I hope the birthday fairy is good to you! (We just finished a brain-numbing remodel last year. Walls torn out, kitchen gutted, laundry room moved downstairs, three new baths, hardwoods…we should have just moved!) Good luck!

    • farmhouseK8 January 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Are you blogging about it, or have a facebook page? I would love to check it out–sounds awesome! Thanks for stopping in! 🙂 Kate

Leave a Reply

