Rainy Day Trespassing

Slipping Passed the Sentry

Yellow dog! You had ONE JOB.

When I let the girls out this morning, it was really pouring, and because of that, I didn’t expect them to venture very far from the coop, let alone all the way up to the house.  So….I left the side door open, and as I worked away at my computer, I happened to glance up just in time to see that our perimeter had been compromised.  On Chance’s watch.  He didn’t even bat an eyelash as a very drenched Millie strolled right on inside, passed him, through the dining room, through the kitchen, and to my computer nook.  Usually, the No House Chickens rule is in full effect, but this bird was on a mission.  I had to see what she was about.  Clucking with her special brand of chicken self-importance, she marched dutifully up to me where I was hunkered over the space heater that I have running under my desk.

Wet Chicken

Don’t cross a wet chicken.

After assessing the situation for a moment, and realizing that I wasn’t immediately tossing her out as per usual, she went right on up to said heater.  Oh, the joy of a wet chicken standing in front of a heater (as was also illustrated after the infamous Gertie Bathing Incident).

Drying Out

After witnessing a couple of minutes of preening and fluffing and other such poultry shenanigans, I finally opened the french door next to my desk, and with one last indulgent fluff of her feathers, she went right on back outside into the rain without a single cross word from either of us.

Rain Bird

Right back into the rain and the mud with her cohorts.  The No House Chickens Rule went immediately back into full effect.

Frolicking in the Mud

DrenchedI will never not be entertained by the sight of a drenched chicken.  Especially when she’s doing an entertaining drive-by of my space heater.

Drenched Gert

Gert had to get one beauty shot into this whole silly Millie business.

Tagged: , , ,

19 thoughts on “Rainy Day Trespassing

  1. Charlotte Zweigoron January 25, 2013 at 1:15 am Reply

    Heavens to Betsy!! Everything is different around this blog!! Lots of times I just read the email stuff and don’t get to your site so all these changes are new to me… I almost couldn’t find the place to click to leave a comment. But I persisted and had to tell you how much I envy your cozy little home with chicken friends by your side as well as representation by the dog, cat and exotic bird world. I think an occasional chicken strolling through my house while the reclining dog looks on would be a thrill! You and your friends keep me well entertained. Thank you….

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 4:00 pm Reply

      Thanks for following, Charlotte! I have a bit of a chronic re-arranging tick. Furniture, paint colors, blog….they are all fair play for my unpredictable whims. Sorry for the confusion, but glad you stuck it out!
      I do really love it when the chickens pop in for a visit, despite my husband’s protests. I never let them get comfortable, but it really just amuses the daylights out of me. 🙂

  2. Linda January 25, 2013 at 2:00 am Reply

    i love it !!! in knoxville,,where i lived for 33 years..we had a cockatiel…..and we opened the door to let her visit her bird friends. well sitting on my chair watching tv, i glance over, and there are 3 cardinals inside the house, eating her food that she flipped from her cage…no mind you, we raised chihuahua’s….and not one of those 8 dogs paid attention to the birds.. i hae since moved, and i missed my cockatiel, and bought a baby one……the second and third day i had him, i introduced him to Annie……i made sure they would be happy with each other….never a problem. now , William has decided to fly out of his cage, and walk from the living room, to the dining room through the kitchen, to find me in the computer room…he gets up on the side of annies dog bed and just sits there as happy as can be…ome time he flew out of the cage, and annie was eating a bone, he walked over to her, twisted his little head, reached down and pecked on her ankle, she just moved, and he came back and pecked on her toes…..she just looked at him, and he went back to his cage….love it

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 3:53 pm Reply

      One of my favorite things about these animals is how they put up with each other. It’s so lovely! (I actually had cockatiels all throughout my childhood as pets, in fact, my African Grey still lets out with the cockatiel ‘chirrr-up’ even though there hasn’t been one around for probably 15 years!! It’s one of her favorite all-time noises.)

  3. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods January 25, 2013 at 2:32 am Reply

    OH my gosh, I love this so much! I secretly wish my chickens would surprise me while working on the computer, but I doubt the cats would let them get too close.

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 3:50 pm Reply

      I secretly love it. It cracks me up. My husband HATES it, so I ‘try’ my best to keep it from happening. I try about as hard as our dogs, hehehe.

  4. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 25, 2013 at 7:02 am Reply

    Those pictures are just priceless. You are so lucky to have these chickens. And they are lucky to have you 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 3:05 pm Reply

      They are seriously the best!! I’m obsessed. 🙂

  5. Jon January 25, 2013 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing this great story and the amazing photos! A friend of mine shared your site with me, since she knows I am obsessed with our backyard chickens too! They are so much fun. I even have a live cam setup in our chicken coop today as part of a post about the girls. I know people must think I am crazy 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm Reply

      Love it! What is your blog address?!! Sign me up! 🙂

  6. seasonedwithsarcasm January 25, 2013 at 7:23 pm Reply

    I love how chickens just do whatever they want! They are so curious! If only they could stop pooping while being curious indoors lol

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm Reply

      Hahahahah! Right? This was, fortunately, a mess-free drive-by. I like those kind.

  7. Cara Williamson January 25, 2013 at 7:39 pm Reply

    Can you please tell me where you got the oil cloth bunting hanging on your chicken coop? I can’t find what I want. Thanks so much.

    • farmhouseK8 January 25, 2013 at 7:47 pm Reply

      Well, I made the bunting–but the oilcloth I actually purchased by the yard on Amazon (go figure!).

  8. From a Montana Front Porch January 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm Reply

    HA!!! Love their ruffled feathers! My chickens love the rain, maybe its because it hardly ever does it here!

    • farmhouseK8 January 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

      Looking at the title of my post over your comment, for some reason, I just now realized I had spelled ‘trespassing’ wrong–GAH!! Too many Ssssses. I hate it when I do that! 🙂
      Yeah, my girls seem to love the rain, too–but they REALLY love that space heater, also–it’s become a nuisance lately with all this rain–they’ve been tapping at the door everyday!

  9. hobacaitbe February 3, 2013 at 11:32 pm Reply

    My wife and I are still laughing. Our chickens spent the day out in a few snowflakes.
    Ed

    • farmhouseK8 February 4, 2013 at 12:31 am Reply

      🙂 Thanks, Ed! I know, I know–I really must take back control of my house! Hahahah!

  10. Dawn Jones February 7, 2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

    We leave the back door open quite often and we have one chicken that likes to come in and eat the dog food. Aren’t animals fun?

Leave a Reply

