DIY Primitive Heart Wreath

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

A little more Valentine’s Day, anyone?

This is a pretty simple way to make a basic wreath in virtually any shape you want it.  I had in mind a sort of primitive-style wreath, but of course, you could add as much embellishment and material as you want to fatten it up and make it less simplistic.

I started by using two strands of raffia-covered wire (bought in the floral section of the craft store), twisted together to make one, strong strand long enough to make the wreath about the circumference that you want it to be.  Make a rough circle out of it and twist the loose ends together. Because this is a heart shape, the fastened ends make a natural spot to make the point of the heart:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now, roughly form this into the shape of a heart.  Again, I was going for imperfection, so I wanted it off-centered:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now, forage for some supplies in your yard.  Woodsy vines work the best: wisteria, grapevine–anything that will hold its shape when dry.  I have a ton of wisteria, so that’s what I collected:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Take one strand of vine, and another of the raffia-covered wire.  Place the vine along your heart form and using the new piece of raffia-wire, wrap and anchor the vine to the form, all along the shape of the heart. Take a shorter piece of raffia-wire and anchor the ‘valley’ of the heart to the lower ‘point’ of the heart, so that the thing keeps it’s heart shape (as you add vine to the form, it will want to flex the heart shape right out of the form).

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now, we’re gonna switch from raffia-covered wire, to some sort of thin-gauged metal wire:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Begin adding more vines to the form and anchoring them into place with little bits of the small wire:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Add as much or as little vineage as you want until you get the rough shape/thickness you’re after–I only used about four or five pieces of vine:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now, to change up the texture and bulk it up a bit, add in some other types of branches, moss, etc., adhering them in with a glue gun.

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

This is about the shape/size/thickness I was after, so, time to embellish with ribbons:

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

I chose a selection of narrow, Valentine’s-inspired grosgrain ribbons, and began cutting small pieces that I then tied into simple knots.  Some I tied directly around vines or branches in the wreath, others, I tied and then glued on.  Clip the loose ends of the knots short.

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Add a ton of them in all different colors, in a totally random fashion.

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Affix a hanging ribbon to the top of the wreath (I usually tie it on and hot-glue it just for extra hold), and hang it!

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

DIY Heart-Shaped Wreath from Farmhouse38

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “DIY Primitive Heart Wreath

  1. Becky January 29, 2013 at 5:01 pm Reply

    This is so cute and I am glad you posted the instructions. I tried to make something like this last weekend and failed. I was missing the wire-form part of the equation! I love the whole entry vignette at Farmhouse 38, BTW.

  2. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART January 29, 2013 at 6:21 pm Reply

    That is so pretty. I love how organic it feels. Love the ribbon 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 January 29, 2013 at 7:53 pm Reply

      Thanks, Katja! (Yeah, I can never get enough of polka-dot grosgrain ribbon and am always trying to sneak it into everything). 🙂

  3. From a Montana Front Porch January 29, 2013 at 9:56 pm Reply

    As you already know from fb, I love the living daylights out of this! I WILL be making one of these!

    • farmhouseK8 January 30, 2013 at 1:29 am Reply

      Nice! Let me know how it goes–willow branches should work pretty well!

  4. seasonedwithsarcasm January 30, 2013 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Super cute! I think I might make one for the chicken coop…I’m a dork like that!

  5. […] 4- Primitive Decorations from Farmhouse 38 […]

Leave a Reply

