Weather-Resistant Seed Flags

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Here we go again with my pennant/bunting obsession in life!  These are an off-shoot of last year’s Weatherproof Seed Banners made from duct tape.  Don’t get me wrong, those worked great, and there is an endless supply of super cute designer duct tapes available these days–but this year, I decided I wanted something a little less duct-tapey.

The supplies are simple: bamboo skewers, clear packing tape, and some sort of craft paper (I used Martha Stewart’s rolls of craft paper–I have no idea what this stuff is for, Martha–but I am using it for seed flags, a-thankya-very-much).

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

I love Martha’s craft paper rolls for this because they are kind of water-resistant to begin with, are printed on both sides, and are about the right width for this specific project. But probably any other scrap-booking or craft paper would work just as well.

Start by cutting your chosen paper to whatever length you want your little flag to be–I went with about 1-1/2 to 2 inches long.  Write whatever info you want on it with a permanent marker.

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Next, pull out a length of clear packing tape that is slightly longer than your piece of craft paper, and apply it to the front side of the paper making sure to leave about a quarter of an inch overhang on the left side (there will be overhang on ALL sides, but the left side is the important one).

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Next, apply another length of tape to the back side, justifying it slightly so that that left overhang of the front piece of tape still has it’s sticky side exposed.  This effectively laminates the piece of craft paper, but leaves a flap of sticky tape on the end that will be affixed to the bamboo ‘flagpole’.  Now trim all edges of the excess tape except that over-hanging left side.

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Trim all excess tape and swallowtail the ends by cutting into the craft paper.

Now, take that exposed sticky tab and wrap it around your bamboo skewer and back against the backside of the flag.  For extra insurance, you can cut another little length of tape and just stick it along the backside to hold the flap in place.  Or, if this is all too complicated (and I didn’t articulate well!), don’t leave a left-side flap and just use a separate piece of tape to tape the flag to the pole.  It all looks pretty much the same!

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

Repeat with multiple colors and patterns of craft paper.

Allow your chickens to check your work.

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38

***Millie Approved***

Mark away!

Weather-Resistant Seed Flags from Farmhouse38I must say that I doubt these things would stand up to really serious weather–but they do hold up quite nicely to the gentle watering that goes along with starting seeds.  And they’d make great cocktail stirrers, for the record.  Cheers!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Weather-Resistant Seed Flags

  1. Becky February 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Perfect and beautiful! I love your little greenhouse boxes too!

  2. Adventures We Seek February 25, 2013 at 12:17 pm Reply

    You sure did save up a lot of toilet paper rolls! The green house boxes are great. I have to restart from scratch! My nephews sprayed all my seedlings with weed killer for a fun afternoons day activity, and everything died. The covers would have kept them out. I may have something now to do today! Thanks for the idea!!

    • farmhouseK8 February 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm Reply

      Oh, NO!!! Hahahhaha–that’s hilarious! Sorry you have to start over! It’s so crazy with this stuff how so many weeks of patience and care can just evaporate in a second–in previous years, it was always my dogs lifting their legs on them, or the wind knocking them over–so I am excited to see how well these tubs work–seems like they are the solution to a lot of potential problems! Good luck with the new round! 🙂

  3. Christie February 25, 2013 at 11:22 pm Reply

    This is the cutest idea!

  4. keepyourmemoriesinyourshoes February 27, 2013 at 1:48 am Reply

    These are fantastic! I think I just may have to step up a bit from my broken pieces of twig that I normally use- these are so adorable! – Renee

    • farmhouseK8 February 27, 2013 at 5:17 am Reply

      Oh….Renee! I kind of like the broken twigs!!! Actually…it would kind of be cute to do these with twig posts as opposed to bamboo skewers!!! Dang it! Good call!!

  5. Nancy March 1, 2013 at 4:04 am Reply

    I’ve been saving my little yogurt containers for months. This cutsie little flags will be perfect for my first time with seedlings. 😉 And the plastic tubs might just save their little lives. The wind here in SW Ok is wicked.

    • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 3:28 pm Reply

      Nancy–we get some gusty winds here, too–and I swear, so far these tubs have been awesome for that!!! Best of luck to you!!

  6. daisy March 13, 2013 at 2:00 am Reply

    Too darling for words!

  7. Sid Ney April 20, 2014 at 2:45 am Reply

    How did it work last year? I’m going to give it a try. Someone mentioned air flow could be a problem. Did you find that at all?

    • farmhouseK8 April 23, 2014 at 7:58 pm Reply

      They worked pretty great! Not sure what you mean about airflow…? The only issue I had was that the ink was pretty faded out by the end of the season–I’d go for an exterior-grade marker or something like that next time.

Leave a Reply

