Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs

Bath Tubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

She was running a couple of weeks behind schedule, but the Birthday Fairy got it done.  She Got.  It.  Done.  After five excruciating years, I finally have my bathtub.

Let’s take a little stroll down memory lane, shall we?

Master Bath Before from Farmhouse38

How the master bathroom looked when we bought our house. I don’t even want to talk about what we found in the cabinets.  So I won’t.

Master Bath After from Farmhouse38

The sink side of the master bath after our renovation.

Master Bath After from Farmhouse38

Sadly, the space for the intended tub sat vacant for a couple of years….taunting me mercilessly with what should be.

And finally….FINALLY!  Behold:

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

My long-awaited, much anticipated, official favorite spot in the house.

Due to some pretty tight space constraints, we wound up choosing a tub that is pretty modern in design (despite heavily considering a clawfoot, and at one point even a metal horse trough), but with that antique-looking faucet, I think it works pretty seamlessly in our ‘modern farmhouse’.  It’s a good, deep soak….existentially deep, which makes up for the fact that it isn’t the longest tub in the world (ah, tiny bathrooms).  But, yes….yes, I think I will keep it.

So in honor of our newest, most cherished family member, I decided to post a lovely little recipe for a homemade sugar scrub (something I have been dying to make, but refused, like a petulant child, to make it to use in the shower).

With so much grapefruit in the yard right now, you know it had to be a bit grapefruit-y:

Fresh Grapefruit, Coconut, Rose Scrub:

–1 cup superfine sugar

–2 tablespoons heated virgin organic coconut oil

–1 tablespoon rose water

–1/4 teaspoon fresh grapefruit zest

Start by zesting your grapefruit.  The ones from my tree are the yellow variety (Oro Blanco), but this would work just as well with Ruby Red or something good and pink.

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

Next, you want to scoop your hardened coconut oil into a microwave-safe dish.

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

Microwave it for approx. 30 seconds or until it looks like this:

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

Now mix your sugar, oil, rosewater, and zest all into a paste–you want it moist, but not soupy.  If it’s too moist, add a bit more sugar to dry it up.  It should look a little something like this:

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

Find a pretty jar to put it in and fill-er-up.

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

FYI: not really sure how long this might be good for because of the grapefruit peel. Use your best judgment. If it smells funny or turns wonky colors, don’t use it. To make a version of this that probably lasts a bit longer, substitute a drop or two of grapefruit essential oil in place of the grapefruit zest.

Rub-a-dub-scrub!

Okay, so as I was making this….I got to thinking….this would make a really interesting cocktail.  So, yes….this happened:

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

See the recipe here.

So I ask you this?  How bad is it, on a scale from one to awesome, that I was mixing cocktails at 10:30 am on a Tuesday?  Just wondering.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs

  1. Laurie Biggs Marshall February 28, 2013 at 3:15 pm Reply

    Gorgeous!! I like the modernity of the tub with the more vintage look of the sinks and fixtures – well done! I’m so over the jacuzzi tub we have that is so shallow and short I sit with half my legs out of the water (and not straightened out) when I take a bath. 😛

    Also, if a cocktail includes fruits and veggies, I say it’s a great morning drink! (hello? Bloody Mary fan here!)

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 3:27 pm Reply

      Hahaha! Thanks for having my back, Laurie!! 🙂

  2. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART February 28, 2013 at 4:42 pm Reply

    I was at a restaurant last Sunday that sported this sign: You can’t be drinking all day unless you start in the morning 🙂 So much truth to that.

    I LOOOOOVE your tub. I have to scroll back up to see if you put a link to where you got it. Was is crazy expensive? I would love that in our master bathroom when we re-do it. It looks so great!!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 5:44 pm Reply

      Hahahah! Truer words were never spoken (typed)!! Thanks, Katja. It came from Signaturehardware.com, where I have ordered MANY things from throughout this renovation and they are fantastic–I have never been disappointed. Here’s a link to that tub: http://www.signaturehardware.com/product20843

  3. Lisa February 28, 2013 at 5:06 pm Reply

    Girl, I have wicked tub envy. Gorgeous!!

    Definitely going to try that cocktail recipe 😉

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 5:45 pm Reply

      I am pretty happy with it! 🙂 I constantly refer to it as, “MY PRECIOUSSSS.” Hahahah!

  4. cindyricksgers February 28, 2013 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Beautiful tub, and great job on the entire bathroom! Nice recipes, too…thank you!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:14 pm Reply

      My pleasure, Cindy–thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. home, garden, life February 28, 2013 at 7:23 pm Reply

    Bath tub A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E! Worth the wait. I can just imagine an AM soak/scrub/cocktail. You go girl. And my we know the brand of tub? Looks like the one I should choose.

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

      Here’s the link: http://www.signaturehardware.com/product20843 Hope that helps–they have a ton to choose from, decent prices, and I have ordered quite a bit of stuff from them for this reno and been really happy with it all.

      • home, garden, life February 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm

        Thanks! If I can be tacky, what did you pay for the house and what have you spent on it so far? Are you concerned that you will be the best house on the block? What are your thoughts on resale VS what you invest or are you full throttle? I bought a fixer upper and spent 6.5 years cleaning up the footprint, and now RE agents tell me not to put any more $$ into this place, as I will never get my $$ back. Too bad, as I would love to add a pergola and sun porch! ;-(

      • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 2:29 am

        This has been in the forefront of our brains the whole time as we did this reno–I don’t want to say what we’ve put in, but we’ve been advised by our realtor throughout–kept checking in to make sure we were on the right track. We definitely bought the ugliest house on the block, and we live on a street with million dollar homes. We’ve been very frugal about our finish selections and have done A TON ourselves–we’ve had it appraised, and let’s just say, if we sell–we’ll do well (part of that is we live in a very small, very highly desirable neighborhood where the inventory is always very low). We were very lucky(?) to have stumbled upon this house, in all honesty.

      • home, garden, life March 1, 2013 at 1:29 pm

        I know that you will make a gazillion, as the improvements are perfect in every way. I am the best house now on my rural road here in central Virginia, so I may be shot in the foot. I really want to build, yet land and build estimates in this area cost more per SF than building in the Hamptons! Go figure…perhaps I am stuck.

      • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 3:32 pm

        Yikes! Well, all it takes is the right buyer….but sometimes you have to seize the opportunity to make things liveable and happy for you–resale value be damned! We’ve been slaves thus far to ‘resale value’–there were definitely things that we wanted to do for ourselves but did not, and that’s sometimes a little sad.

      • home, garden, life February 28, 2013 at 8:35 pm

        See what I did for my soaking tub by typing 100th blog in my search bar. NOT my ultimate solution, yet functional!

  6. home, garden, life February 28, 2013 at 8:00 pm Reply

    PS Why not store your lovely scrub in the fridge?That way, the ingredients should stay nice longer than if left at room temperature. Since you reside in a warm climate, a cool scrub could be extra refreshing. 😉

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

      I was thinking about doing that, actually! Good point! 🙂

  7. Jen Morris February 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm Reply

    I’ve just discovered your blog and am busy reading it in its entirety because I’m obsessed and I love it. Consider me your stalker. I actually squealed when I saw your new tub – I’m so excited for you! It looks ah-mazing – wouldn’t expect anything less.

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:21 pm Reply

      Thanks, Jen!! Welcome, welcome! 🙂

  8. Katie/Maple Grove February 28, 2013 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Kate, I love, love, LOVE your bathroom. How could I not?! I also love how you combined the bathroom makeover, the soap scrub, and the cocktail all in this one post. So inviting! I think I need to go make me some stuff! Great job!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm Reply

      Thanks, Katie!! I know, I think this one takes the cake as my most ADD post–SQUIRREL!!! 🙂

  9. Heather/The Whimsical Feather February 28, 2013 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Yay!!! You finally got the tub. So happy for you! The tub, the scrub, and the drink, the sunny skies? Seriously, I maybe looking for flights asap to visit you! 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 2:32 am Reply

      Anytime, my friend! ANYTIME!!!! 🙂

  10. keepyourmemoriesinyourshoes February 28, 2013 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Kate, you lucky girl! It’s beautiful!!! Enjoy!

    • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 2:31 am Reply

      Thanks, Renee!!! 🙂 I am definitely enjoying!!!

  11. Patti March 1, 2013 at 2:42 am Reply

    Stunning!! Your home so reminds me of back home! Up north for now but returning in 4 years and I can’t wait. I love reading your words, your such a down to earth person. I tried your drink for dinner ( dessert) and it’s delish! Keep up the great work, you’re one of my favs!!!

    • farmhouseK8 March 1, 2013 at 8:48 pm Reply

      Thanks for the kind encouragement, Patti! Glad you’re tagging along! 🙂

  12. seasonedwithsarcasm March 1, 2013 at 4:30 pm Reply

    oh my gosh! I love the tub! It looks lovely! Enjoy all those long soaks in it!

  13. From a Montana Front Porch March 3, 2013 at 2:51 am Reply

    I am somewhat in love with your tub. More than I want to admit. I would sound crazy if I told you how much. 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 March 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

      I’m in love with it, tooooooo! MY PRECIOUSSSS! 🙂

  14. Dana Salutric March 10, 2013 at 8:15 pm Reply

    I’m so in love with your tub; your whole bathroom actually! I had a garden tub in my condo during my single days and miss it so much. I keep meaning to ask…what floor tile did you use in this and the guest bathroom?

    • farmhouseK8 March 11, 2013 at 3:24 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks, Dana! Both tiles are actually things we special-ordered from Home Depot–the master is a slate-look porcelain tile (that I loved because of it’s big rectangle shape which allowed us to lay it out in brick pattern) and then the downstairs bath was a tiny old-fashioned mosaic-type tile that, after we put in, we decided we didn’t like the color of so I primed and painted it with off-white floor paint. 🙂 If you want the specific brand and name of any of these, etc, I can probably dig it up–just let me know!

  15. Tonita January 10, 2014 at 7:17 am Reply

    Just found your lovely blog. Really like that tub. Great job on your bathroom renovation. I will be trying your scrub recipe soon. Thanks.

    Tonita @ Shabby Chic Tiny Retreat

  16. Tonita January 10, 2014 at 7:18 am Reply

    Love your blog and your tub.

  17. Marcia September 17, 2014 at 4:46 pm Reply

    Can u tell me the size of tub? Thanks I am trying to make a similar decision for my dated bathroom.

Leave a Reply

