The Cocktail Inspired by a Sugar Scrub

Sugar Scrub Cocktail from Farmhouse38So…..because this idea formed in my pea brain while I was concocting a fun little sugar scrub, we are going to go ahead and name this cocktail….you guessed it!–The Sugar Scrub.

Allrighty then.

You will need:

–2 oz. fresh squeezed and strained grapefruit juice

–1 oz. coconut-flavored rum

–1/2 oz. dark rum

–3/4 oz. simple syrup

–1 teaspoon rosewater

–granulated sugar for the rim (or sugar crystal sprinkles, like I used)

–grapefruit peel for garnish

Rim your glass with sugar or sprinkles, then fill it with ice.  Mix all wet ingredients together well in a shaker, pour over your ice, then garnish with a bit of grapefruit peel.  Enjoy your bathtub cocktail.

P.S.  Don’t you love my adorable chicken napkins!?  A sweet little gift from a friend (thanks, Susan!!) 🙂

Bathtubs and Sugar Scrubs from Farmhouse38

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “The Cocktail Inspired by a Sugar Scrub

  1. home, garden, life February 28, 2013 at 7:27 pm Reply

    Only in CA! YUM! Hope you are using Gosling’s Black Rum from Bermuda! Over the top good!

    • farmhouseK8 February 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

      I have never heard of or had that! I will check it out–the Texan loves Appleton Estate (the 21 year aged one)–in fact, he’s gonna be ticked when he finds out I put some in a mixed cocktail! MUHAHAHAHA!

  2. fresheggsdaily March 2, 2013 at 7:28 pm Reply

    I am SO making this! Looks really great!

  3. From a Montana Front Porch March 3, 2013 at 2:46 am Reply

    Rum and me don’t have a good history, but this, this makes me want to try really hard to be it’s friend again…..maybe just once!

    • farmhouseK8 March 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

      I know just what you mean (more times than I care to mention)! And to be honest….? The coconut rum I used in this thing? It was like 150 proof or something–it burned a little. A lot. It burned a lot. Especially at 10:30 in the morning. Don’t use 150 proof rum. No bueno.

Leave a Reply

