No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38In preparation for our Easter festivities this Sunday, I whipped up this easy, no-sew, fabric bunting to stretch over our outdoor dining area.  Everything’s better with bunting, right?  All you need is rope (I chose a rustic-looking jute variety straight off the shelf from Home Depot), and one inch wide scraps of colorful fabric (I used quilting fabric).  Oh, and to get a little sparkle, I also added chandelier crystals every so often.

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38

Choosing colors at random, I tied the swatches of fabric every six inches or so (the fabric scraps were approximately eight inches long each), but I certainly did not try to make them perfectly spaced–symmetry is overrated.  I just tied a single knot.  Good enough.  That rope is grippy.

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38

Then, every few feet (again, never measuring perfectly), I attached a crystal with fine wire.

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38

I wish I had video of these little pretties fluttering in the breeze….they look like little birds, and the chandelier crystals bounce some lovely sparkle around the yard.

No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting from Farmhouse38

I’m thinking that after the party on Sunday….the bunting stays.  Me likey.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “No-Sew Scrap Fabric Bunting

  1. home, garden, life March 29, 2013 at 8:02 pm Reply

    Oh fancy one, while you were busy tying and sparkling, I cleaned the shed, charged the mower, tore apart two large planters, replanted, and then re-purposed the old planter sedums to the ground. Now having some butternut squash ravioli with brown butter and sage. Would love to have your decor around here for the weekend. May go beagle instead. Cheers!

  2. Carol J. Alexander March 29, 2013 at 9:41 pm Reply

    What a cool idea! I love it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Shannon March 30, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

    Lifts my spirit! I’ll bet the girls can help with such a task.

  4. Christie April 1, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

    This is so happy! I love it (and am totally going to steal it for our upcoming family picnic/parents’ anniversary party).

  5. Tilly's Nest April 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm Reply

    Super darling Kate! I just love this idea and love reading your blog! I do hope you keep them up. They just add the right touch of whimsy to the garden.~Melissa

    • farmhouseK8 April 2, 2013 at 8:48 pm Reply

      Thanks, Melissa! I’m totally leaving them up!! LOVE them! 🙂

  6. Charlotte Zweigoron April 7, 2013 at 1:50 pm Reply

    I have the perfect spot for a permanent installation of these flags! I think one tie is all one would want to do because after several rains and a bit of sun, when you need fresh color (new flags) you aren’t going to want to tussle with knots. I have some leftover outdoor fabric that would match the drapes I made (stapled to the wood) on the inside corners of my covered porch. That fabric may withstand the weather better. Now for the crystals….

    • farmhouseK8 April 7, 2013 at 2:30 pm Reply

      Awesome! Yeah–I only did one tie, too, and they seem to be holding on just fine. That was kind of my line of reasoning–that I could untie them really quick if I wanted to change them out or something–we shall see!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

