Butterfly Wreath

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

It’s about that time of year when I start to fiddle with things on my front porch.  We’re through Easter, on our way towards summer, and I want some seasonal decor that will carry us along till those reds, whites, and blues start popping up.  After considerable consideration on where to go with this springtime spruce up, I decided that I wanted to run with the ‘Farmhouse Red’ of the front door (which is really a saturated orange), and do a decor scheme based on that.  So what to do for an orange-y springtime wreath?  What to do, indeed….

I feel that it is necessary for me to state that I have a bit of a closet butterfly obsession.  I love me some butterflies.  I should also state that I have a plethora of craft butterflies leftover from my floral design days (and when I say ‘plethora’, I mean plethora–ask the Texan….they are everywhere) that I am always trying to figure out what to do with besides sticking an occasional one in a whimsical flower arrangement.  So, well DUH…. butterfly swarm on a wreath.  I’m surprised it took me this long to figure it out.

I started with a wreath form that I actually made myself, from grape and wisteria vine, but any old craft store-type grapevine wreath would work great.

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

And then, of course, I selected my victims: you know the ones, those craft-store beauties made from painted feathers with wires attached.  I chose to go with a mixture of orange, yellow-orange, and coral, both large and small variety.  Those wires often come in handy, but for this project, I popped them off.

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

I fired up the glue gun, and began to glue them in a random fashion to the wreath form.  I wanted this to look like a natural cluster swarm, which meant that there was no rhyme or reason to the orientation of each butterfly; some are right side up, some are pointing down, some were glued to the sides and top of the wreath.  Asymmetry is key here.

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

Additionally, I did not want the whole wreath to be filled up; I felt it would look more natural for part of the grapevine to be showing.

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

An unexpected bonus of this particular wreath?  The view from the inside of the door:

Butterfly Wreath from Farmhouse38

Love.  It.

Stay tuned for a full disclosure of the rest of our spring porch mini-makeover.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Butterfly Wreath

  1. Vanessa April 18, 2013 at 8:10 pm Reply

    I’ll have to say I do not typically enjoy butterfly decor at all. On anything. Period. You’ve swayed me with this wreath. It is stunning. (In a good way!)

    • farmhouseK8 April 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks, Vanessa! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. home, garden, life April 18, 2013 at 8:39 pm Reply

    Adore it! Did I mention that I have a registered Monarch Waystation here at my cottage? I have raised over 1100 Monarchs in the past few years. IF I had a covered porch I would attempt this wonderful wreath! Diane

    • farmhouseK8 April 18, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Awesome, Diane! We always get a lot of them in our garden–I think somewhere in the depths of my mind I was pulling this from my college days at UCSB–I have vivid, fond memories of the Monarch Groves in Goleta there–such magic!!!

  3. Susan Pleasant April 18, 2013 at 9:10 pm Reply

    Loved this. You are soooo creative!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. cindyricksgers April 18, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

    I love it, too! What a great idea!

  5. Nancy April 19, 2013 at 3:16 am Reply

    I love it!!!! mucho much!! Very creative of you. Butterflies in my yard have me running for the camera every time.

  6. Charlotte Zweigoron April 19, 2013 at 4:33 am Reply

    Among many other things, I share your “enthusiasm” for butterflies!! This wreath is a knockout, especially on your red/orange front door. Haven’t seen much of the doggies or the chickies lately (you either, for that matter). Hope all is well with the little family. Hugs!!

  7. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART April 19, 2013 at 6:11 am Reply

    That looks so beautiful and I love the look from the other side of the door too. Fabulous!! You are the wreath queen!!

    • farmhouseK8 April 19, 2013 at 3:00 pm Reply

      Hahaha! Katja! I do have a bit of a wreath ‘problem’! 🙂

  8. jean April 19, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

    I must say, that is one of the best wreaths I’ve seen. Love it. Your scarecrow is too cute, too. Love that the hens “crowd” around her.

  9. Vickie April 19, 2013 at 4:00 pm Reply

    This is really beautiful and simple! Found you on the Farm Girl Blog Fest! Now I’m going to go back into your page and read about bacon bark!

    • farmhouseK8 April 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm Reply

      Haha! Thanks for stopping by, Vickie! Welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

