Scrap Wood Garden Edging

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

We have a very long driveway.  Along this driveway runs a very long planter bed.

This is what it looked like when we bought the house:

Before Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

So originally, we built a raised bed of pressure-treated wood to hold in all the dirt.  For the last few years, it’s looked like this:

Before Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Nevermind the squirrel-hunting hijinks happening here (and also nevermind the pre-renovation ramshackle garage).

When we acquired the chickens, there was a whole lot of this going on in those beds:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

And this:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging

It looks bad, I know. This looks like roadkill. But this is a seriously contented bird lolling in the warm dirt.

And this:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38And so, most days, our driveway winds up looking like this:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

And this:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Because of some very serious neat-freak issues, this just wasn’t working for me.  The obvious solution is to fill the planters with so much vegetation that there is no free dirt for the ladies to get into….but this is a huge bed to fill, and, though I am working on it, I needed a quicker solution (and also, I happen to get a kick out of watching their dirt bath antics).

Enter our ever-expanding piles of scrap wood:

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

With so many projects going on all the time, we are constantly collecting remnant wood….in fact, most moments, we are completely overrun with scrap because I refuse to throw it away.  So when we can come up with a use for it, especially a cute use for it….I get unnecessarily excited.

The scrap that I used for this started in all shapes and sizes: slabs of plywood, bits of 2×4, planks ripped off the side of the old garage, cedar fencing, and more.  You may remember this photo from a previous post about our scrap pile.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38 I selected my victims and cut the wood into completely random bits, all roughly around a foot or so tall (but sometimes as short as 6 inches tall, just to get a really good gap-toothed vibe), varying widths.  There was really no rhyme or reason, at all.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Then I gathered up all my miscellaneous cans of leftover house paint (my theory was that these were all colors I had used throughout the house and garden and so, therefore, they’d coordinate.  Right?  Right.), and painted them randomly and sloppily.  A lot of these pieces already had old paint on them–I slapped new paint on a few of them, but mostly left the old weathered pieces alone.  Also, I left quite a few pieces completely unfinished.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

I wanted the paint finish to be patchy on these, because I want them to weather a bit naturally–I like the look of old, chippy weathered wood.  Obviously, if you want these to last a good long time, you’d better seal them up really well and not follow my lead.  But I want mine to weather.  I may seal them once they’ve aged a bit.  We’ll see.  I get distracted pretty easily.

After the bits and pieces dried, we screwed them in, in random order to the inside edge of the pressure-treated wood curb.  Obviously, not everyone has such a curb–I share my recipe for a stand-alone version down below.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

The real point of this edging, for me anyhow, was to keep the chicken dirt bath spray somewhat contained.  Remarkably, it’s totally working!

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Scrap Wood Garden Edging

The chickens don’t seem the least bit fazed by it.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse 38

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

The varying heights of the edging allows for some very lazy bug picking maneuvers.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Squirrel hunting is a much tidier affair now that the edging is in place. Chance approves (actually, it’s quite obvious in this photo how much he could actually care less).

We are currently in the process of turning our back garden into a ‘Chicken Garden’; what was once my enchanting, flower-filled oasis has literally gone to the birds.  As part of this do-over, I want to use this scrap edging back there, as well.  The only problem is, there’s no wood curb to attach it to….we needed to modify it so that it could be free-standing.

From Home Depot, I grabbed some cheap garden-variety garden edging that comes in two foot strips that click together on the ends.  I also got me some metal garden stakes.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

For my purposes, the metal stakes needed a couple of holes drilled into each of them (though I am sure there are stakes that come like this, I just haven’t found them yet).  This is a little time consuming, but easy enough with a metal drill bit.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Now lay out your wood pieces and attach the plastic edging to their backsides with an industrial stapler.  Let the pointy side of the plastic edging stick out beyond the bottoms of the wood pieces–this goes into the ground and helps stabilize the whole thing.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Now screw in your stakes, one on each end of the two-foot length of edging.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38Finally, pick your spot, and pound that sucker into the ground.

Scrap Wood Garden Edging from Farmhouse38

Unfortunately, the Chicken Garden is a work in progress….you’ll see the final results of this edging project when I do the reveal post on that.  Soon!  Very sooooon.  Bear with me.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Scrap Wood Garden Edging

  1. fresheggsdaily April 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Great! Love your roadkill shot!

    • farmhouseK8 April 26, 2013 at 9:03 pm Reply

      Thanks! That photo is my FAVORITE!!! 🙂

  2. Susan Pleasant April 26, 2013 at 8:52 pm Reply

    You are so cleaver. I may send you a pic of our old cracked cement patio and see if you can come up with a inexpensive solution!! S

    Sent from my iPad

    • farmhouseK8 April 26, 2013 at 9:04 pm Reply

      Ha! Susan–did you see our awful, cracked driveway?? I do actually have a nefarious plan to deal with it that doesn’t involve re-doing the whole driveway….we’ll see if it works out….who knows!!!

  3. Carol J. Alexander April 26, 2013 at 9:19 pm Reply

    Love it! Now that those girls have some privacy for their baths, you might start checking in there for eggs, too. 😉

    • farmhouseK8 April 26, 2013 at 11:07 pm Reply

      I hope not–but you may be right! 🙂

  4. home, garden, life April 26, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Looks like a jolly time happening in your driveway. I so look forward to your posts, dear, clever one. And the girlz have a bit of privacy during their hunting and pecking time. Are those Sunny Knock Out Roses in your border? I have one here in hot, humid summer Virginia, and it seems to thrive. Season two coming up.
    By the way have your visited my recent posts lately? You are not alone in your unique perspective on life. Diane 😉

    • farmhouseK8 April 26, 2013 at 11:09 pm Reply

      Haven’t made it over, recently–will have to come for a visit! 🙂 Those are iceburg roses there (not doing too shabby for being in the shade most of the day!!). Thanks, Diane!

  5. cindyricksgers April 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

    This is great! Thanks for the clear instructions, too!

    • farmhouseK8 April 26, 2013 at 11:07 pm Reply

      Thanks, Cindy!! My pleasure! 🙂

  6. TikkTok April 26, 2013 at 10:20 pm Reply

    Very cute! And a great way to reuse the scrap pile!

  7. Katja @ Shift Ctrl ART April 27, 2013 at 9:35 am Reply

    What a great upgrade and so practical too. Love it.

  8. Lisa @ My Ordinary Country Life April 29, 2013 at 1:03 am Reply

    love, love, love it!!! Will definitely do this….can’t wait! Thanks!

  9. Mike the Gardener April 29, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Great ideas for the wood … I am not that creative when it comes to thinking of things to do like this … I probably would have just burned the non treated wood in my outdoor firepit then added the ashes to my compost pile.

    • farmhouseK8 April 29, 2013 at 6:31 pm Reply

      Not a bad option either! I am seriously lacking ash for my compost–don’t even have a wood-burning fireplace to rob for it! 🙂

  10. Charlotte Zweigoron April 30, 2013 at 3:12 am Reply

    Aaah… look at all the comments! Folks like your style… I do, too! When I see all the wonderful things you are doing at your house, it almost gives me a sense of having accomplished something worthwhile myself… like I’m part of it. (And all I’m doing is sitting at my computer WISHING I was getting something done!) Hopefully, one day it will light the spark that will actually get me doing some of my projects that need getting done… hopefully.

    • farmhouseK8 April 30, 2013 at 4:40 am Reply

      Oh–you are so sweet, Charlotte!!!–thanks for tuning in and for all your comments–love it! 🙂

  11. Julie's garden blog May 31, 2013 at 2:29 am Reply

    I just love this idea! Looks fabulous … you are so creative. Very lucky chooks!

    • farmhouseK8 May 31, 2013 at 1:33 pm Reply

      Thank you so much!! Those are definitely some spoiled little hens! Hahahah!

  12. Main Ingredient Monday- Scrap Wood March 17, 2014 at 11:51 am Reply

    […] Garden edging from Farmhouse 38 […]

  13. […] Pallets are the new DIY building material, and with good reason. It’s a renewable resource, that is usually free! Check Craigslist or ask local businesses for their leftover wood pallets. Use the lumber to cut sections of wood, paint some of them randomly and sloppily with leftover house paint and leave some unfinished, then dig into a trench along your garden edge. Any other scrap wood can be used as well. Check out ‘Farmhouse 38′ and their great scrap wood edging project! […]

Leave a Reply

