The Start of the Finish of the Master Bedroom

Original Master Bedroom of Farmhouse38

For those of you who have been keeping tabs on us, you know we’ve been through a pretty serious top to bottom renovation of our 105-year-old house.  After five years of of these shenanigans, we have finally gotten to the master bedroom, and as we put the finishing touches on it, I thought I would regale you with a series of ‘before’ shots to really get you in the mood.

The photo above shows the original master bedroom of the house when we bought it….I didn’t take many photos because we ripped into that part of the house so fast the ink was hardly dry on our escrow papers.  This isn’t a totally fair ‘before’ shot, either; you see, we didn’t even make this the master, or even a bedroom.  But you can see the master bath there, leering at you from the right-hand door….that awful, awful bathroom–we let that stay where it was, but did some pretty major tweaking to it (see that makeover here).  We chose to put the actual bedroom on the other side of the bathroom, in a room that was….well, we don’t even know what it was.  And strangely, I took no photos of it until we started ripping down ‘walls’ (I use quotes because what we found was that most of the walls in this house were actually 1×12 boards nailed up and covered with wallpaper.  The structure of the house defied physics and basic common sense).

Before Shots of Master Bedroom from Farmhouse38

As you can see, we started a touch of demo when I snapped this picture.

Here’s a photo of the original master bedroom once we had started our gleeful destruction:

Before Shot of Master Bedroom from Farmhouse38

Here, you can see where we are opening up the hallway that will lead to the new master bedroom.  You can also see the shards of ‘wall’ that are coming down.  Good times.

So eventually, we got some legitimate structural walls put up, you know….since this is a house with a roof and all, and arrived at a master bedroom that was finished but not finished.  You feel me?

For five years, the master has looked like this:

During Shot of Master Bedroom from Farmhouse38

The entrance hallway: to the immediate right is the master bath, and to the left is a series of curtained closets. Curtained closets are for people who can’t afford closet doors.

During Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

I give you….the bedroom. In all it’s primed-wall, trimless, paintless glory.

During Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

A hodge-podge of cast-off furniture completes a very sophisticated college-dorm look. Dang, this place really needs some black-light posters. The white dog would look pretty epic in black-light.   I digress.

During Shots of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The all-important dog bed and cluttered nightstand.

During Shots of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Looking back towards the hallway and closets.

During Shots of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The escape route back to the living room.

I hate to do this to you, but this is it for now.  I just wanted to set the scene and show you how we’ve been living for the past several years.  The Texan is constantly baffled by my lack of initiative with this room and how I have let it stay like this for so long.  It’s very unlike me.  But I only just found my inspiration….so stay tuned, because the ‘After’ post is coming soon!  I swear.  Really, it is.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “The Start of the Finish of the Master Bedroom

  1. home, garden, life May 5, 2013 at 7:53 pm Reply

    I am confidant your renovation of this room will be epic. Glad the marriage has made it through this period. I just had my entire home and property Feng Shui-ed. Busy making a few changes and now to wait for the love, money and fame! 😉

  2. snookiescakes May 6, 2013 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Can’t wait for the finished pictures!

  3. Lisa @ My Ordinary Country Life May 6, 2013 at 5:00 pm Reply

    Well I think it is looking great….the wall with the orange dresser and collection of hats should be on Pinterest! I love it! I guarantee others will also. Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest.

    • farmhouseK8 May 6, 2013 at 5:36 pm Reply

      Thanks, Lisa! The dresser and the hats are actually staying put! 🙂

  4. Katja @ Shift Ctrl Art May 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm Reply

    This is very exciting. You sure have come a long way. I love those turquoise pendents 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 May 7, 2013 at 12:00 am Reply

      I was on the fence about the pendants….shhhh…don’t tell anyone, but I think they are going to be relocated to our powder room (as I’ve always thought they were a tad under-sized for that spot)….but I haven’t 100% made up my mind yet! 🙂

  5. Charlotte Zweigoron May 6, 2013 at 11:49 pm Reply

    This better be coming soon… I am living vicariously through you and want to see results!!

    • farmhouseK8 May 7, 2013 at 12:01 am Reply

      Shooting for sometime this week, Charlotte! (Hope I didn’t just jinx myself!!!)

  6. From a Montana Front Porch May 8, 2013 at 9:51 pm Reply

    I’m dying here! At least you told me what colors you were using! 🙂 I feel all sorts of special over here! hehehe

    • farmhouseK8 May 8, 2013 at 10:06 pm Reply

      😀 Soon….sooooooon! (It’s not all that exciting, actually–hahaha!!!) Just exciting for us that it’s finished! 🙂

Leave a Reply

