Close-Enough-to-Finished Master Bedroom Makeover

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38Well, it’s finally pretty darn done.  I can barely believe it.

Let’s do the before and after tour, shall we?

Before Shot of Master Bedroom from Farmhouse38

Master entry hallway, before.

Master Bedroom After Makeover from Farmhouse38

Entry hallway, after. Closet curtains are still there….the closet deserves its very own makeover post when our bank account recovers from this one.

Hallway Frame Wall from Farmhouse38

A close-up of our hallway photo wall. It is my intention to fill this whole wall, but all things in due time!

Before Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Remember this? The main bedroom, before.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The main bedroom, after. Love that plank feature wall. Love it.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

A great shot of the ‘starfish wall’ (tutorial coming soon!).

Before Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The opposite wall, before.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The opposite wall, after. Those collage photo frames? I was never really in love with them. But I had to use them somehow! See how I hacked them into this ‘stained-glass window’ wall decor in an upcoming tutorial post.

Before Shots of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Remember this before?….the all-important dog bed and cluttered nightstand.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Same view, after. It wouldn’t be fair if Chance didn’t get a dog bed makeover, now would it? Those are the same ole Ikea Hemnes nightstands, with a bit of a color and distressed-finish upgrade.

DIY Weathered Wood Headboard from Farmhouse38

Here’s a good shot of our DIY weathered wood headboard (tutorial coming soon!). It’s nice to have an actual headboard….such grown-ups, we are!

Master Bedroom Nightstand Vignette from Farmhouse38

Here’s a little close up of the vignette on my nightstand. I heart pink peonies in a blue mason jar. I just heart them.

Before Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Remember how the wall opposite the bed looked before? Abbie does.

After Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

After. It’s amazing what a little bold color and crisp white trim will do to a wall, eh?  Although, it feels like something is missing….

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Ah. There we go.  Now we can move on.

After Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Tree branches: no master bedroom is complete without.

After Shot of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

The french door leading out onto what will soon be a lovely pergola-covered back deck. Right now, it is the deck of death; old and rickety and consummately terrifying.  We don’t go out there.  We don’t look at it.  We don’t even speak of it.

Before Shots of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Before: the view back down the hall towards the living room–aka, the escape route.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Alas, the unfinished closets still require our attention, as does the attic hatch in the ceiling. Such is why this post is called ‘Close-Enough-to-Finished’. Close enough, it’s close enough.

That’s about the gist of it!

A few random notes here:  after doing our master bathroom makeover, and slapping that dark, dark, dark grey on the walls in such a small space, I arrived at two decisions.  The first is that I love dark walls with white trim–I adore the contrastiness of it (I like to make up words).  The second is that since the master bedroom is also a small and innately dark room, we should just own it and go dark on the walls there, too.  If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.  Of course, we tempered the darkness a bit by making the plank wall, as well as a lot of the linens, white.  That always helps.  So do pops of cheerful color.  I think part of the reason I drug my feet on this room for so long was that the voices in my head were at odds with each other over painting the walls some light, gentle color (as logic would dictate you do in a small, dark room).

We were also on the fence about whether we wanted to swap out the existing blue glass pendants for something else.  And when I say ‘we’, well, you probably know what I mean.  Functionally, the pendants are completely awesome–it is brilliant to not have a lamp to knock over on the nightstand (I may or may not flail my arms when I am asleep).  I personally love them, but I’m not 100% sure that they are 100% what I am looking for in those spots.  But do I ever need to be 100% sure about any design choice?  Nope.  I’d say pulling the decision trigger at a respectable 85% is fine.  So the pendants stay; I like the color, I like the transparency (they do, after all, hang in front of those windows), and I like the price tag (ie: already bought).  Works for me!

It is abundantly satisfying to be sleeping in a ‘finished’ room.  The bare drywall edged windows, primed walls, and mish-mashed furniture were great and all, but….change is good.

After of Master Bedroom Makeover from Farmhouse38

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

61 thoughts on “Close-Enough-to-Finished Master Bedroom Makeover

  1. fresheggsdaily May 13, 2013 at 2:01 pm Reply

    Awesome! Love the gray color, the plank wall AND the glass pendant lights. Great job!

  2. Traci L Sabia May 13, 2013 at 2:12 pm Reply

    I love the color scheme. Same colors I just painted our new bedroom in our new home. Where did you pick up the small night stand to the left of the bed? I’m in search for the same thing. Great blog!!!!!!!

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 3:43 pm Reply

      Thanks, Traci! Both nightstands are the Ikea Hemnes nightstands–they come in multiple colors, but ours started out in a dark/black wood color–I painted them the minty color and then distressed them. Swapped out the drawer-pulls, too.

      • Casey July 11, 2014 at 4:50 am

        Do you know the name of the turquoise color you used on the nightstand? Did you brush it or spray paint? One more question! I have the same exact nightstand in blk and want to paint it just like this. Did you prime? Thanks!!!

      • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 3:40 pm

        Casey–I’m so sorry–I don’t know the color (in fact, I think I mixed it up from a bunch of leftovers I’ve got). I did not prime this because I actually put crackle medium on it so that the dark (mine were black, too) would show through a bit when it cracked. I brushed it all on. Hope that helps a little!! 🙂

  3. Marie in Montana May 13, 2013 at 2:23 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing. Enjoyed seeing the makeover. Looking forward to tutorials.

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 3:37 pm Reply

      Ah, thanks, Marie–tutorials coming soon, I promise!!! 🙂

  4. Tilly's Nest May 13, 2013 at 2:36 pm Reply

    You did a beautiful job! One step at a time is what I always say. My favorite photo is the new one with the cowboy hats. Have a great day!~Melissa

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

      Thanks, Melissa! I love me my cowboy hats (many of those hanging there belonged to my grandfather–so they are super special to me!)

  5. snookiescakes May 13, 2013 at 2:51 pm Reply

    Love the gray and the plank accent wall!

  6. Dawn The JOY Lady May 13, 2013 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Very nicely done! I love the warmth of the gray color and the coolness of the white with the wispy curtains – so relaxing! The blue glass pendants are gorgeous!

  7. home, garden, life May 13, 2013 at 2:57 pm Reply

    Simply darling! Tell me how you attached plank boards to wall? With nails or construction adhesive…Check out my recent post (yesterday) and see your bureau color on the front porch of P Allen Smith’s Moss Mountain farmhouse! I wanted to use that color here, yet Feng Shui person nixed it. Boo!

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 3:41 pm Reply

      Oh, thank you!!! We simply nailed (nail gun) the boards up, using pennies to separate them evenly.
      The paint color on the dresser just happens to be the same color that is on our front door (my favorite)–Farmhouse Red (by Behr)! I pop it in the house wherever I can get away with it. 🙂 I will check out your post–thanks!

  8. cindyricksgers May 13, 2013 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Beautiful! Great work…love the color choice!

  9. Tammy/Our Neck of the Woods May 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm Reply

    This is pure perfection! I am so in love with this room. The plank wall is so cute and I love how you painted the other walls a darker color. All your accent pieces fit right in. It’s so cozy and comfy. Awesome job! 🙂

  10. Charlotte Zweigoron May 13, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    LOVE the pendants… love that you can turn them off/on with a wall switch next to the fab headboard (but can you read in bed without disturbing the Texan? Or, vice-versa? I use the flashlight app on my phone propped against my neck to read in bed anyway. I read somewhere that bedrooms should be darker, more cave-like and enveloping. Didn’t you read that article? Might have saved you some concern. Glad to see that personal preference won out over “sensible” options! I had to scroll between pictures to really appreciate the trim around the windows and doors… so farm-like! I noticed your doggie managed, once again, to get in the picture!

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 4:48 pm Reply

      It is truly difficult for me to get a shot without Abbie in the photo!
      The lights don’t seem to bother the Texan (he sleeps through earthquakes), and fortunately, I usually stay up reading/pinning long after he’s sawing logs, so the lights don’t get a chance to bother me.
      🙂 Thanks, Charlotte!!

  11. Katja @ Shift Ctrl Art May 13, 2013 at 4:36 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness I love everything you did. There are so many details my eyes are getting caught on. I see so many fantastic DIY projects that all come together for this AWESOME room make over.

    Thank you for a before and after with the dog in it too. 🙂 looks amazing!

    • farmhouseK8 May 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm Reply

      I know–the after just wouldn’t be complete without the white dog!! (I actually had to have the Texan restrain her in the other room while I was taking these photos so that she wasn’t in every darned one!).
      Thanks, Katja!! (BTW–we left the pendants afterall!!!) 🙂

  12. Debbie May 13, 2013 at 6:21 pm Reply

    Wow great job! Can’t wait for the tutorials!!!!

  13. Shannon May 13, 2013 at 9:05 pm Reply

    Fabulous!!! It is bright and happy, even with the dark walls. The trim really brings in the character. Love it!

  14. Diane May 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm Reply

    I recently stumbled upon your blog and love it! You said you were doing tutorials soon, but can you share what color of grey paint you used? I also love the floors, are they hardwoods or laminate?

    • farmhouseK8 May 18, 2013 at 10:11 pm Reply

      Hi Diane–thanks for stopping by! The paint color is Behr Ultra Trail Prints, and the floors are laminate (more dog toenail-friendly). 🙂

  15. susan May 14, 2013 at 2:25 am Reply

    Re: those blue glass pendants…they sure look alot like antique blue glass electrical transformers used in the early 1900’s. not sure since I can’t see up close but if they are there are people who collect those.

    • farmhouseK8 May 14, 2013 at 1:44 pm Reply

      Actually–these pendants aren’t original to the house (we put them in when we rebuilt the room)–in fact, one of the reasons I chose them was because of this exact similarity–I actually DO collect antique glass electrical insulators–there’s three of them sitting along the window sill in this room! 😀 I love them–and that was totally what these pendants reminded me of.

  16. Linda Prater May 14, 2013 at 12:06 pm Reply

    really like the dark grey and white very nice

  17. Lisa @ My Ordinary Country Life May 14, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

    Swoon!!!!! Love it all…..especially the plank wall, and the view of the orange dresser and french door, and the grey wall, and the bedding and the dog bed…lol……well….all of it! Great job!

    • farmhouseK8 May 14, 2013 at 5:43 pm Reply

      Thanks so much, Lisa! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  18. Lelia May 14, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

    Okay, maybe I’m being a total idiot and missing it, but what color are these walls? I’ve been dying to do a dark grey and adore this!! Love your blog…it’s making bed the husband for chickens 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 May 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks Lelia! The color is Trail Print (Behr Ultra from Home Depot). Hope you get your chickens–they are seriously the best!

  19. Alex May 14, 2013 at 9:30 pm Reply

    Awesome! I just love the gray walls and the contrasting white accents. May I ask which wall color you used?

    • farmhouseK8 May 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

      Thanks, Alex! It’s Behr Ultra Trail Prints.

  20. Lucinda Sans May 15, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

    Love your design. And love your photo bomber too!

    The dark grey is so classy and hip.

  21. From a Montana Front Porch May 16, 2013 at 1:23 pm Reply

    I love it!! All of it, especially that Abbie was in her rightful spotlight! 🙂 And, after the stained glass tutorial, my house will be missing its collage frames(that I secretly hate)! Can’t wait!! Great job Kate, great job!

    • farmhouseK8 May 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm Reply

      Thanks, Bobbie! 🙂 I’ll get to that tutorial next week–it’s been a crazy one (this week–not the tutorial, hehehe)!!

  22. Bethany May 16, 2013 at 6:23 pm Reply

    Really gorgeous work! Where is the bedding from? Specifically the duvet?

  23. Emma June 20, 2013 at 3:30 am Reply

    Yah, you could tell that Abbie liked it.

  24. Kelly M. July 2, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

    I loved everything you did! We have just started to talk about what we wanted in our bedroom. The second I saw your bedroom I fell in love. I love seeing Abby. We used to have a white boxer. Morgan was a good dog. I love your decorating style. So many of the things you do I want to do it at my house! Thank you for sharing.

    • farmhouseK8 July 2, 2013 at 11:15 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks Kelly–my pleasure to share! Good luck with your bedroom project! Yeah, that little white dog is really something else–we love us some boxers at this house (she’s the second we’ve had).

  25. Kat July 9, 2013 at 11:07 pm Reply

    Newbie here…I did a google search for “dark planked walls” and your site came up. Man, girl…you done good. It looks a million times better! Love that you added trim to the windows–it really makes those little windows look so much better. And that wall of hats…it just made me smile. Job well done! Now I’m off to check out this master bathroom of yours;)

    • farmhouseK8 July 10, 2013 at 12:43 am Reply

      Kat–thanks for taking the time to comment–I went and checked out your site, as well, and you’ve got some awesomeness going on over there–so I’m truly flattered! Thanks, Google! LOL!
      Welcome, welcome! Glad to ‘meet’ you. 🙂

  26. Kelly M. July 13, 2013 at 12:29 am Reply

    What color is the planked wall?

    • farmhouseK8 July 13, 2013 at 1:19 am Reply

      Hi Kelly–it’s Behr brand ‘Swiss Coffee’ (gently off-white). 🙂

  27. Kelly M. July 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Thank you!

  28. The Farmer's Trophy Wife December 8, 2013 at 10:45 pm Reply

    hello! love your taste/style! I was wondering where you got your turquoise pendants from?! thx!

  29. Amy January 9, 2015 at 6:58 pm Reply

    what did you use for the plank wall? (obviously planks) but what are the dimensions, etc..thanks!

    • farmhouseK8 January 9, 2015 at 8:00 pm Reply

      Hi Amy, we used the 8″ wide primed MDF boards that you can get off the shelf at Home Depot. I feel like we went with 10′ lengths (then cut to various lengths so that seams were staggered).

  30. Jessi February 11, 2015 at 11:27 am Reply

    i recently found a bunch of my great grandmothers hats in my parents attic and I want to display them in my room but I’m unaware of how to do that withought clothes pins (I don’t want that to be visible) if you don’t mind sharing your trick with the hat display wall, also on the DIY headboard, dimensions?

    • farmhouseK8 February 17, 2015 at 1:00 am Reply

      Hi Jessi. For the hats I used small hooks on the wall where I wanted them, and then I clipped an alligator clip (the kind you get from office supply stores) to the inside lining of the hats and slipped the legs of the clip over the wall hook, if that makes any sense!

Leave a Reply

