Super Simple Starfish Wall Decor

Super Simple Starfish Wall Decor from Farmhouse38I know what you’re thinking….starfish aren’t really very ‘farmy’.  But aside from the facts that I grew up near the beach, and we’re in Los Angeles which is technically on the beach, these starfish hold some pretty heavy sentimental value.  You see, the Texan and I got married on the beach, and instead of flower petals scattered down the aisle, we had starfish and sea glass.  We tried very hard to gather up as many of them afterwards to bring home with us (I also have a large jar of the sea glass, as well as a small jar of sand from the very spot we took our vows….I’m not usually so mushy, but this was important to me!)

Here’s a few shots from our wedding:

Ceremony Set-Up

Our ceremony site: on the beach in Los Cabos, Mexico.

Our Wedding Site

A shot of how the aisle was set up.

Wedding Starfish

Close up of the starfish in action.

Our Wedding

Gotta throw one of these in!

From Our Wedding

And this one’s fun….this was about a thirtieth of a second before we both doubled over laughing.  (BTW, this was the morning after the actual wedding–it was our ‘wreck the dress’ shoot–good times!).

All right, enough of that!  Back to work!!

I really wanted to display our starfish in a unique way.  I didn’t want to do anything cheesy–framing seemed too obvious and we just have so many of them!  I finally decided that I just wanted to stick them to the wall, and at first, I put a glob of earthquake putty on each one and just stuck them up like that.  This was all well and good until we had a really hot day and I walked in to find that my painstakingly-lined up grid of starfish was now a detail from a Dalí painting.

It was then that I had my ‘Ah-ha’ moment.  Thumbtacks.  All I needed was thumbtacks.

Here is the world’s most complicated how-to:

Supplies for Wall-Mounting Starfish from Farmhouse38

Starfish, white thumbtack, and hot glue.

Put a decent glob of hot glue in the center of the back of the starfish, and sink your thumbtack into it so that the glue rises over the first lip of the head of the thumbtack.  Hold it in place until the glue is set.

Starfish Wall Decor from Farmhouse38

Let that glue harden and cool completely.  Meanwhile, mark off a grid in the shape that you want it on your wall.  I did a grid of twenty-four starfish: four across, six down.  The marks represent the center of each starfish, and I went ahead and spaced mine six inches from each other (every starfish is, obviously, a different size, so this winds up being an imperfect science–but it works!)

Now, take your fully-dried starfish and gently press the thumbtack into your mark on the wall (if you have drywall–if you have some sort of paneling, you may want to pre-drill a bit so the thumbtack goes in easy).

Super Simple Starfish Wall from Farmhouse38

Press into the wall straight-on–if you angle it at all, you risk snapping the thumbtack off.

There you have it!

Super Simple Starfish Wall from Farmhouse38

The offset of the thumbtacks really makes for some amazing shadows on the wall.

Super Simple Starfish Wall Decor from Farmhouse38

Super Simple Starfish Wall Decor from Farmhouse38

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Super Simple Starfish Wall Decor

  1. Charlotte Zweigoron May 21, 2013 at 2:40 pm Reply

    Cooool!!!! Do they spin around? Beautiful wedding pics… you are so talented.

  2. Jenna May 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Love this! Your wedding pictures are gorgeous and I love how you lined your walkway!

  3. home, garden, life May 21, 2013 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Love the three-dimensional effect the tacks create. Super-duper! Have not seen any comments from you on my last three posts…too busy? 😉
    Lovely wedding snaps too. Happy Marriage bedroom renovation and sweet dreams!

    • farmhouseK8 May 22, 2013 at 2:08 pm Reply

      Haven’t made it over there yet–will soon, I promise!

  4. julieadolf May 21, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply

    Love, love, love this post and the starfish! We were married on the beach, too–but in SC. In the rain. Well, the rain held off for the ceremony, but it poured for the reception. (Thank goodness for the hotel’s gazebo that we squeezed into with our friends, family, and random hotel guests–it actually was a blast!) I adore your starfish decor and just might have to make my non-crafty self give it a try! Love your wedding photos–and my dress was also beached up and never taken to the cleaners! 😉

    • farmhouseK8 May 21, 2013 at 4:47 pm Reply

      No kidding!? I knew I liked you, Julie! 🙂 We went from Mexico off to our moon in Belize and it rained pretty much the whole time there! (but it was still so awesome!)

  5. seasonedwithsarcasm May 21, 2013 at 6:35 pm Reply

    Totally adorable, and a great little nod to your current location, former location, and ceremony site! Hubs and I love the beach – OBX in particular. So while the majority of our home is country, our upstairs hallway is dedicated to the beach. The starfish wall looks great mixed amongst all of your country decor!

    • farmhouseK8 May 22, 2013 at 2:01 pm Reply

      Thank you! I think it works, too….I think that in a perfect world, I would have a farmhouse ON the beach, and do the whole farmhouse/beach house thing. I think that’s my true decor self!!! 🙂

  6. Laurie May 22, 2013 at 3:44 am Reply

    Love this! Thanks for sharing. Did you wash the wedding dress after that romp in the waves?? 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 May 22, 2013 at 2:07 pm Reply

      You know what, Laurie? For the longest time I didn’t–it was fully dry, but it was all salt-water crusty and sandy in a garment bag. I finally did have it professionally cleaned–but it was a couple of years after! 🙂

  7. Bobbie May 27, 2013 at 12:18 pm Reply

    Truly, I’ve said it before and I will say it again, you are so beautiful!! Seriously! And your wedding scene was out of a fairy tale! Ok, I’m done being mushy for now, I promise! 🙂

  8. Katie/Maple Grove May 27, 2013 at 12:40 pm Reply

    You are so creative! I love seeing pics of the way you decorate your rooms and how you execute your great ideas! I love your wedding theme and pics too! You are beautiful Kate! Thanks for sharing with us. ~Katie

    • farmhouseK8 May 28, 2013 at 4:29 am Reply

      Aww, Katie! Thank you! You are too sweet!!! 🙂

  9. Emma June 20, 2013 at 3:41 am Reply

    Where did you get married? If I did not know better, I’d say it looks like Mexico, or Hawaii.

  10. Emma June 20, 2013 at 3:57 am Reply

    Oh sorry. My bad reading! It was Mexico. My friend just moved there, and i went to visit definitely one of the purtiest beaches there in Cabos.

  11. […] Starfish and Sea Glass in the Sand – shared on Farmhouse 38 […]

  12. teegyc32 March 16, 2015 at 10:27 am Reply

    amazing idea! I love the simplicity of it and how stunning it looks, creates a soft palette for the rest of the room! and great memories made looking at them.

Leave a Reply

