Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

If you guys were around last year, you may recall the cupcake liner wreath I did then:

Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

Cute enough, I guess….but it looks a little sad in my opinion.  I obviously decided not to leave well-enough alone.  As usual.

I have a bit of a cupcake liner collecting problem.  I can’t help it….there are just so many cute ones these days, and when I see them at the store, they are my kryptonite.  I am powerless to resist (in fact, I go out of my way to avoid eye-contact with those aisles in the craft store).  So I had more than enough of these little pretties laying around to contribute to this project.

I decided to use a craft store-bought twig wreath that happened to be, randomly, in an oval shape (I picked it up several months ago because it was so out-of-the-ordinary looking….it may have been an egg shape for Easter wreathes, I don’t know–but hey!  I dig it).  I also, randomly, forgot to get photos of it before I whipped out my glue gun.  Oops.  Incidentally, this project probably would have been a whole lot easier done on a styrofoam wreath form–but I was using what I had, so egg-twig wreath it is!

I started by doubling up my assortment of cupcake liners; flip one inside out, and glue it to the inside of another.

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

One right side out, one right side in.

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

Glue them together so that you’ve got pattern on the inside, and pattern on the outside.

Begin hot-gluing these doubled-up liners, in random color fashion, all over your wreath.  Don’t be shy.  Really nestle those things in there so that they are kind of crowding each other.  They like it that way, I promise.  At a certain point, you’ll want to start making some that are crinkled more into a flower shape:

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

Pinch the bottom of the dual cupcake liner to achieve this ‘blossom’ effect.

These ruffly blossoms can be added to the centers of some of the cupcake liners you’ve already glued onto the wreath, as well, they can be glued in amongst the other ‘blossoms’ as gap-fillers.

Time to bust out the balls (sparkly craft puffballs, that is):

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

I always have a ton of these craft store lovlies laying around….I just like them. A lot.

Use these as centers in some of your blossoms, as well as for filling in gaps.

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

I went a bit crazy with my color selections….had to add in some hot pink puffballs even though they aren’t very Fourth of July-ish. I’m out of control.

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

Fill that sucker in with liners and puffballs–no gaps!  Dang it.  I see a gap in this photo.  Sigh.

DIY Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath from Farmhouse38

Now that is seriously just one happy wreath.

Fourth of July Decor at Farmhouse38

For a look at the rest of our Fourth of July decor, go here.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Patriotic Cupcake Liner Wreath

  1. Meredith June 27, 2013 at 4:17 pm Reply

    Love this idea! Thanks!

  2. snookiescakes June 27, 2013 at 9:02 pm Reply

    That’s so cute, but I’m afraid it’s sacrilegious to cupcakes.

  3. Backyard Chicken Lady June 28, 2013 at 3:54 am Reply

    You are Sooo creative!

  4. Jenny June 28, 2013 at 12:38 pm Reply

    This is so cute!!!!!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

