Apple Pie Crème Brûlée

Apple Pie Crème Brûlée from Farmhouse38Is it obvious that I have a thing for crème brûlée?  (Please refer to this and this for clarification.) I just can’t quit it.  The chickens are enablers; their diligent egg-laying forces my hand.

This recipe is a yummy seasonal departure with its shortbread crust and layer of apple butter added to a classic vanilla bean custard.

You will need:

-2-1/2 cups heavy cream

– 1 whole vanilla bean

-7 large egg yolks

-1/2 cup granulated sugar

-6 to 12 shortbread cookies, depending on how big they are and how much cookie crust you want

-6 to 12 tablespoons of your favorite apple butter

-approx. 6 extra tablespoons of sugar to brûlée the tops

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.  Line a baking dish with a dish towel (this keeps the ramekins from sliding around once you fill the baking dish with water).  Set this aside.

Split the vanilla bean and place it in a medium saucepan, along with the cream, and put this on your stovetop over medium heat.  Warm the cream mixture slowly, until bubbles form around the edge of the pot.  Remove it from the heat, and let it sit while you go about your other business.

In a ziplock baggy, crush your shortbread cookies, and then line the bottoms of each ramekin with just enough crumbs to be a solid layer.  Next, spoon about a tablespoon or so of apple butter over the top of the crumbs–again, just enough to make a solid layer.  Place your ramekins in your prepared baking dish so that their sides don’t touch each other.  Personal space; it’s important.

In a stand mixer, whisk together the sugar and egg yolks until the mixture begins to thicken and turn slightly lighter in color.

Strain the cream mixture and then very, very, very slowly, add it in tiny bits to the sugar/egg mixture.  If you do this too fast, your eggs will scramble.  Scrambled eggs bad.  This process usually takes me a few minutes.  When everything is blended, divide the mixture evenly amongst your six prepared ramekins.  Carefully fill the baking dish with scalding hot water (either from the tap or from an already-boiled pot of water) so that the water line comes about halfway up the sides of the ramekins.

Put your baking dish on the middle rack of your oven and bake for 35-50 minutes or until the custard is set around the edges and wiggles only a tad in the very center.  Remove your baking dish from the oven, remove the ramekins from the the water bath, and let them cool a bit on the counter.  Refrigerate them for a few hours or up to three days.

When you are ready to serve, sprinkle about a tablespoon of sugar across the top of the custard so that there is a decent layer across the whole thing.  Fire up your brûlée torch, and holding your ramekin at a 45 degree angle, ease the flame across the sugar.  Once it starts to melt, start rotating your custard a bit so that the melted sugar rolls around and spreads nicely across the top.  Try not to catch anything other than the sugar on fire.  Especially your kitchen.  Don’t do that.

Let the sugar cool and serve immediately!

Apple Pie Crème Brûlée from Farmhouse38

Come to Mama.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Apple Pie Crème Brûlée

  1. Shell Mackay October 10, 2013 at 4:32 pm Reply

    you are killing me LOL

    • farmhouseK8 October 11, 2013 at 2:35 pm Reply

      😀 I know, I know! My apologies–lol!

  2. Sr.Clare Benedicta Myers cos-cam October 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm Reply

    This sounds delicious. Great time to try.

  3. Becky Neville October 10, 2013 at 6:42 pm Reply

    Oh yum!

  4. Charlotte Zweigoron October 10, 2013 at 10:05 pm Reply

    Wicked woman!! I, too, love creme brulee… Even though I am diabetic, I can actually eat this because it has a lot of protein and fat in it which buffers the effect of the sugar. Especially if I have it after of meal of protein and vegies. Right after… not an hour or so later. Anyway, if I make this, I am left alone in the house with all those other ramekins of creme brulee (unless DH and I ate all of them at one time which could happen but shouldn’t, of course). I cannot be in the house with a frig full of creme brulee. Not if I want my pants to fit next week. Even if I had the discipline to only eat one each day (which I don’t), things would still start to tighten up. Soooo… do you only make this when you know there will be other people around to make short work of it, leaving nothing behind for “snack attacks”?

    • farmhouseK8 October 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm Reply

      You know what? As yummy as it is, I’m usually good with one (maybe two!)–just gotta have my fix and then I’m good–I usually pawn the rest off on the Texan and my neighbors. They’re really only good for a few days, so I gotta share the wealth!

  5. Jesse @ Scout & Nimble October 11, 2013 at 12:53 pm Reply

    Oh yum…you just combined two of my favorite desserts. I will so have to try this!

    • farmhouseK8 October 11, 2013 at 2:31 pm Reply

      LOL–right, Jesse? This combination was an a-ha moment, like, why did I not do this sooner!?

  6. Katja @ Shift Ctrl Art October 16, 2013 at 4:26 am Reply

    Ohhhhh yum that looks great. You know that this is right up my alley, right 🙂 I wonder if I could make this work with my new paleo diet. Hmmmm 🙂 Love your food photography. Stunning!!!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:37 pm Reply

      Thanks, Katja! Is creme brulee paleo? I forget all the rules, but it kind of seems like it could be if you fiddled with the sugar, right? I have no clue. I will stop typing now. 😀

  7. deloom October 16, 2013 at 3:31 pm Reply

    Slightly obsessed with creme brulee, especially around the holidays. I just found this viaPinterest… YUM!!!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:20 pm Reply

      I know–I seriously have a creme brulee problem–thanks for stopping in and commiserating! Welcome!! 😀

Leave a Reply

