Fresh Eggs Daily: The Book…and Giveaway

Fresh Eggs Daily: Keeping Happy, Healthy Chickens...NaturallyI have long been a fan of Lisa Steele over at Fresh Eggs Daily; a fan of her fun and informative blog, as well as her entire approach to natural chicken keeping.  So I am beyond excited to not only review her new book, but to be able to offer up a signed copy as a giveaway to one lucky winner!

Let me start by saying, I really wish this book had been available when I was first thinking about jumping into chicken-keeping (fortunately, I had Lisa’s blog to turn to!).  Lisa lays out the basics in such a straightforward way; coop size, bedding options, nesting box instructions–the whole nine yards–and then she peppers that nine yards with helpful suggestions about how to integrate herbs into your chickens’ lives.  For instance, I absolutely love and swear by her Lavender Mint Coop Refresh Spray (which can be made with either vinegar or vodka as the base…I’m sure you can guess which base I use).  But beyond this awesome cleaning spray/cocktail, Lisa shares an incredible amount of knowledge on herbs, in general, and the benefits each kind might deliver to your flock.  I am a big fan of using a blend of them not only in the nesting boxes, but all around the coop, and this book offered up an education on just what those herbs really do for my birds (and, frankly, me!).

I also love me a good chicken recipe (not the kind that uses the bird, people–the kind that involves cooking for your spoiled chickens), and Lisa’s got a bunch.  My absolute favorite is her Molt Muffins, and I intend to make them ASAP.  We are still molting.  I’m not sure how there are still any feathers left to lose.

There is just a wealth of chicken information packed into this adorable book, and I am definitely putting it on my go-to read list for anyone thinking of starting a flock.  And I must say, it looks darn cute tucked into my chicken book library.

NOW… for the giveaway!  I am so honored to be part of Lisa’s virtual book tour–every day for the next two weeks, you can enter to win a signed copy at each of the participating blogs (and the giveaways already started yesterday!!).

Visit all the other stops along the Fresh Eggs Daily Blog Tour to read some more great reviews and to enter to win a copy!

Week One

October 14th

Louise’s Country Closet & Natural Chicken Keeping

October 15th

Farmhouse38

October 16th

The Nerdy Farmwife & Lessons Learned from the Flock

October 17th

Colored Egg Homestead & Our Neck Of the Woods

October 18th

Let This Mind Be in You & Sunny Simple Life

Week Two

October 21st

October 22nd
October 23rd
October 24th
October 25th
But as for today, enter by following the link below–the contest is live and will run until midnight this coming Friday.  You’ll be asked to leave a comment on this blogpost to enter (as well as have the opportunity to get extra entries by following on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc).  Let the games begin!!!
Enter here:

Fresh Eggs Daily Giveaway

And don’t forget that Fresh Eggs Daily: Raising happy, healthy chickens…naturally is available for purchase through Amazon and other major retailers.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

54 thoughts on “Fresh Eggs Daily: The Book…and Giveaway

  1. Chandra October 15, 2013 at 2:42 pm Reply

    I desperately want to learn about how to have chickens. It would be so amazing to have fresh eggs every day!

  2. Margie Prince October 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm Reply

    This is sure to be, not only a blessing but an answer to prayer!!! Praise God!!!

  3. Charlotte Zweigoron October 15, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

    Sounds marvelous!! Your endorsement means a lot to me… Keeping my fingers crossed!!

  4. Becky Neville October 15, 2013 at 3:34 pm Reply

    What an exciting moment for Fresh Eggs Daily’s Lisa Steele! Her passion for chickens and their well being is contagious!

  5. Eva Hargrave October 15, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

    I would love to win her book. Thanks for doing this. The book is an awesome giveaway.

  6. Jena C. October 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm Reply

    For the time being, my chickens are imaginary. I would love to read this book because it’s never too early to educate and prepare!

  7. Denise Mansfield Bradberry October 15, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

    Using herbs for the care and wellbeing of my chickens fascinates me. I have a Cochin Rooster “Razor” who wheezes when excited. He loves the mint leaves I give him for the wheezing.

  8. Amber Middleton October 15, 2013 at 3:49 pm Reply

    I’d love to win this! We are in the planning stages of building a coop.

  9. Joyce H. October 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm Reply

    I would love to have this book! I’m excited to get started on my own coop 🙂

  10. Rebecca Murray October 15, 2013 at 4:07 pm Reply

    I love the ideas you have for raising and keeping chickens. My husband refuses to keep them because as a child they had a big flock and he detested how dirty and canabolistic they were. But with your example I am sure I will wear him down. Chickens can be cute and clean. Thanks

  11. Peggy Stenglein October 15, 2013 at 4:09 pm Reply

    I want this book so badly, hopefully to win, but if not, definitely to buy! I follow Fresh Eggs Daily on facebook and the blog, and find her advice and info. to be of great value, especially since I am just getting into chickens!

  12. Karen October 15, 2013 at 5:01 pm Reply

    I would love to have a few chickens in my backyard! Maybe this book would give me the confidence to try.

  13. Maureen October 15, 2013 at 5:42 pm Reply

    I need this book! Heading over to check out her blog now. Thanks for letting us know about it.

  14. Lindsey Billings Hampton October 15, 2013 at 6:21 pm Reply

    I currently have 26 chickens. I have 7 golden comets, 2 blue laced red wyandottes, 3 easter eggers, a mystery-mutt, an australope roo and a bantam cochin roo. I also have a bantam cochin broody that has 4 b.buff cochin chicks and 6 french black copper maran chicks! My flock is SPOILED rotten and love raisins!
    I would love to win Lisa’s book, because her blog is one of my Go-to resources for natural chicken keeping!

  15. Karla T October 15, 2013 at 6:24 pm Reply

    Sadly I have no chickens at the moment due to coy dogs pulling down our fence. I’ll have more in the Spring though.

  16. Lloyd Fudge October 15, 2013 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Our first year with chickens…got our first egg a week ago!

  17. Valori Wilson October 15, 2013 at 11:38 pm Reply

    Been waiting for this to come out ! Not working right now so if I don’t win it… I’ll pick it up on my own… eventually… thank, love your post !

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

      Thanks for commenting–and best of luck!!

  18. Tarri Christopher October 15, 2013 at 11:45 pm Reply

    I love Lisa’s blog and this contest. I learned a lot yesterday about fermenting grains and am giving it a go! My twenty “ladies” continue to be spoiled and cared for.

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:40 pm Reply

      I love spoiled chickens! Thanks for sharing, Tarri!! 😀

  19. Efficient Momma October 16, 2013 at 12:48 am Reply

    My imaginary chickens that I will actually have someday live outside and eat lots of bugs. They get fresh air and roam around on fresh pastures 😉

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

      LOL–great answer! Thanks for playing along!!

  20. Deanna October 16, 2013 at 2:05 am Reply

    So excited, would love to win this book. Thank you!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

      My pleasure! Thanks for commenting, Deanna!

  21. Heidi October 16, 2013 at 4:52 am Reply

    I’d love to read this book. I just started following her blog and I’ve learned so much already.

  22. Christa October 16, 2013 at 8:36 am Reply

    Well, you asked us to tell you something about our chickens–real or imaginary 🙂 (I’m assuming I’m in the right spot!) We just started with bunnies this year and hope to add chickens this coming year. We’ve enjoyed our bunnies so much, noting the differences in their personalities, that I can’t wait to do this with chickens as well, whom I understand can be real characters! And oh yes, nothing but fiesty, hilarious chickens for us please! 😉

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

      Perfect–thanks for sharing and for playing along, Christa! 😀 😀 😀

  23. sandy October 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm Reply

    Would love to read the book and check out the blog.

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:34 pm Reply

      Yay! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  24. Kar@childrensboutiqueresale.com October 16, 2013 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Oh my….this just makes my day finding out that you admire Fresh Eggs Daily too. Of course you do. I pin her herb recipes and your pics of how gorgeous they look in your coop and garden! I love both of your blogs so much and Pin away all the good tips and decor ideas from both your blogs. I would love, love, love to win her book! Eeeeee!

    Thanks! Kari

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:22 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks, Kari–you are so sweet! 😀 😀 😀

  25. Diana October 16, 2013 at 2:38 pm Reply

    I would love to win her book! I wish I’d gotten it before we got our chickens!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

      Me too, Diana–that was immediately my thought when I read it! Thanks for commenting. 😀

  26. Dineen October 16, 2013 at 4:56 pm Reply

    My chickens will be happy and friendly and lay yummy eggs.

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

      Yay! Future chickens!!! Thanks for commenting, Dineen! 😀

  27. Kim Leary Smith October 16, 2013 at 10:22 pm Reply

    While I don’t have chickens yet, I do grow herbs for my rabbit and rat and would love to have the inside track on what to grow for my chickens when I make that leap.

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:11 pm Reply

      Perfect!! OMG–I had rats as pets growing up–they are the best–I had one that had a little cowboy hat that it would totally rock. I’ve shared too much. 😀 Lol–Thanks for commenting, Kim!!

  28. Amanda October 17, 2013 at 2:45 am Reply

    Well I named my chickens after women on TV that I like- Lucy, Ethel, Aunt Bea, Paula, Julia and Martha. 🙂

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:09 pm Reply

      Oh, that’s awesome!! LOL–thanks for commenting, Amanda! 😀

  29. Tasha October 17, 2013 at 11:53 am Reply

    I would love to win this book!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 3:08 pm Reply

      Thanks for commenting, Tasha!! 😀

  30. Sadie B. October 17, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

    We have a flock of 14 layers of assorted varieties.

  31. Kris - Sugar Cookies to Peterbilts October 17, 2013 at 5:51 pm Reply

    My chickens come running to greet me when I get home from work!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 6:31 pm Reply

      Oh, I love that!! Thanks, Kris! 😀

  32. Ashley Vloedman October 17, 2013 at 6:59 pm Reply

    Love Fresh Eggs Daily! Would love to win the book!

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

      Yay! Thanks for commenting, Ashley! 😀

  33. Diana October 17, 2013 at 6:59 pm Reply

    My chickens don’t understand why they’re not allowed in the house. We’re working on training the dogs to chase them out. The Australian shepherd puppy is starting to get it, but our golden retriever just watches them and occasionally looks at us pleadingly when the chickens start eating his food. It is pretty cute to see the chickens and dogs drinking out of the same water bowl together.

    • farmhouseK8 October 17, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

      LOL, Diana! This sounds like our house! Thanks for commenting. 😀

  34. Pamela Vasquez October 18, 2013 at 6:08 pm Reply

    Before we got chickens, we had no idea how entertaining they would be.

    • farmhouseK8 October 18, 2013 at 6:26 pm Reply

      Oh, I SO agree, Pamela! An added perk, right? Thanks for commenting! 😀

  35. Elizabeth October 18, 2013 at 8:55 pm Reply

    Thanks for the giveaway. My chickens would love it if I won and learned some new things to make their lives better. Well, my extra rooster probably won’t care since he is destined for the table this month but the rest would be very happy.

    • farmhouseK8 October 18, 2013 at 11:50 pm Reply

      Lol–thanks for commenting! 😀

Leave a Reply

