All-Natural Goo-Remover: I’m a Fan

All Natural Goo Remover from Farmhouse38I don’t know why it is, but it seems like I am having to remove an awful lot of sticky labels around here. Perhaps it is my obsession with recycling old jars (and thus, having to constantly remove their labels).  But anyway…I’ve been using a lot of Goo Gone.  It works.  It really works…but…oh wow, do I loathe that smell (and all the chemicals that go into making that smell).  No matter how many times you soap up and wash it off, it just really clings to everything…I mean, who doesn’t love smelling like an awkward blend of kerosene and orange peel?  For a week.

So when the Pinterest led me to 7th House on the Left’s Non-Toxic Goo-Remover , I heard angels singing.  Not only was this possibly my pass to never having to use the toxic orange slime again, this version was made with coconut oil.  So it smells like coconuts.  Which I am OB. SESSED. WITH.

It’s ridiculously simple to make: equal parts organic virgin coconut oil (I tend to favor the Trader Joe’s variety) and baking soda.  Sign me up.  You simply microwave the coconut oil (only a few seconds, depending on how much you use) until it liquifies, and then mix it with the baking soda.  For this little recycled jam jar I used a half cup of each.  Once it was all mixed and poured into the jar, I stuck mine in the fridge to solidify it, and shook it every so often as it cooled to a paste.  You don’t actually have to put it in the fridge at all, I just did this to hurry it up.  Because coconut oil has antibacterial properties, I just keep the jar under my sink with all my other cleaning supplies.

To use, you just glob the paste on any goo you want to remove, let it soak in, and then scrape to remove.  Most times, when I am removing old jar labels, I will smear this stuff on, then put the whole jar in the dishwasher (because I’m lazy).  The label comes off in the wash, and the jar gets cleaned: two birds, one stone.  Or two stones, one bird, as I like to say.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m still keeping the orange stuff.  It has its place–and not for nothing, we have a long, long history together.  But I’m trying to move away from being so chemical co-dependent in my life…this is definitely one of those, ‘It’s not you, it’s me’ situations.  I’m sure that at some point I will stumble across something that may defy the powers of the coconut miracle paste, but as of yet, I haven’t found it.

Thanks, 7th House on the Left!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “All-Natural Goo-Remover: I’m a Fan

  1. Kathie October 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

    Funny that you posted this today. I was just breaking nails trying…unsuccessfully…to peel price tags off unpainted wooden shapes for the kids to paint. They are unpainted so oil will soak in and I cant use water. A razor blade is my next attempt. Not the stores best idea!

    • farmhouseK8 October 23, 2013 at 2:22 am Reply

      Oh yeah…I’ve got no clue what to use there!! Good luck with that, Kathie!!…wait…maybe sanding it with sand paper??

    • Jennifer Wilson October 23, 2013 at 3:15 pm Reply

      I had the same issue yesterday. I used my spot remover, (1:1 of dawn and hydrogen peroxide). I scraped the sticker off as best I could, then sprayed with my cleaner and rubbed with a dry dish cloth. I had to do it a few times but it took the sticky off my unfinished wood. Hope that helps.

  2. Colleen October 22, 2013 at 7:12 pm Reply

    Hey, that’s my recipe for toothpaste (with a little peppermint oil…)!!

    • farmhouseK8 October 23, 2013 at 2:21 am Reply

      LOL–awesome! Good to know! 🙂 Thanks, Colleen!!

  3. Becky Neville October 23, 2013 at 9:18 pm Reply

    I am never disappointed by coconut oil! Great post!! Thanks for sharing.

    • farmhouseK8 October 23, 2013 at 11:31 pm Reply

      I knew you’d appreciate this, Becky!! Lol!!!

Leave a Reply

