Put an Egg on It

Put an Egg on It Book Review by Farmhouse38This book.  How could I pass up a chance to review this book?  Just…look at it!  Obviously, it’s full of recipes; breakfasts, lunches, appies, dinners, desserts, and cocktails.  And they all sound darned tempting…but also?  They LOOK darned tempting.  I am a sucker for gorgeous photography, and I was in such heaven perusing this collection.

Lara Ferroni is a food photographer and writer by trade (check out laraferroni.com for her impressive resume), and her love of food just bursts from every happy page of this cookbook.  Buttermilk Fried Chicken and Eggs?  Yes, please.  Havarti, Avocado, Serrano, and Egg Sandwich?  Yes, yes, yes, OMG yes.  Maple Meringue Doughnut Holes?  Sign me up.   Annnnd, did I mention there’s cocktails?  Done. I’m just done.

So I decided that the best way I could review a cookbook was to actually do a little cooking.  I seriously labored over what to choose, but ultimately, the Pumpkin Pots were calling my name.  What could be better to stuff my face with on a crisp fall evening?  Besides a cocktail (we’ll get to that, I promise). They are just too cute (and Lara is right about the name, it’s fun to say, especially after one of her cocktails).  You’ll have to grab a copy of the book for the exact recipe, but in a nutshell (or pumpkin shell, if you really want to split hairs), we’re talking spicy sausage, bread, eggs, and herbs all snuggled together in a tiny pumpkin.  Adorbs and delish.

Put an Egg on It Cookbook Review by Farmhouse38

Pumpkin Pots, Pumpkin Pots, Pumpkin Pots.

We all know I could not possibly not try out a cocktail recipe (or…all of the cocktail recipes…I’m not joking). But I if had to pick just one for this review, I would have to go with the Bumblebee Cocktail:

Put an Egg on It Cookbook Review by Farmhouse38

Oh, the gorgeousness!

It’s a rework of a vintage cocktail; dark rum, honey, citrus, and yes…egg whites.  Gotta put an egg on it, ya know.  Cheers to that!

You know what else we should cheers to?  Starting tomorrow, we’ll be doing an awesome giveaway of Put an Egg on It as the centerpiece of a fun little egg-cooking-themed prize package, including a few of my most favorite kitcheny things:

Put an Egg on It Giveaway from Farmhouse38

Tune in Friday (November 8, 2013) for the start of the contest!

Put an Egg on It can be found at most major booksellers, including Amazon.com.

For more information on the author, stop by laraferroni.com and follow her on Twitter.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Put an Egg on It

  1. Charlotte Zweigoron November 7, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

    They look so cute, as you’ve said…!! Looks like a great item for Thanksgiving day b’fast.

    • farmhouseK8 November 7, 2013 at 6:27 pm Reply

      Eggzactly, Charlotte! (Sorry, I held back on the egg puns all through the post…had to do it. Knee-jerk response.)

  2. Becky Neville November 8, 2013 at 2:37 pm Reply

    Those pumpkin pots look so cute! And I love your herby garnish!!

  3. Adria November 9, 2013 at 6:53 am Reply

    Eggs in Purgatory is one of my favorite egg recipes!

    • farmhouseK8 November 9, 2013 at 2:59 pm Reply

      I have no idea what that is and now I am completely curious! Thanks, Adria!

  4. Enette November 11, 2013 at 4:13 am Reply

    Eggs baked in an avocado is my favorite recipe

  5. Marylee November 12, 2013 at 7:09 pm Reply

    Any chicken lover would love to win this :-).

Leave a Reply

