A Farm-in-the-City Party

A Farm-in-the-City New Year's Party from Farmhouse38Shocking, but true… I’m a little late to post this. A lot. A lot late. Even so, I wanted to share the festive tablescape from our little New Year’s Eve celebration. As an added bonus, I’ll also share the amazing cocktail we shouldn’t have been drinking alongside all of that champagne.

A Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

A little bit of farm, a little bit of glitter.

I started (as one does with any party decor concept) by swiping toys from my nephew. He’s long since outgrown these particular little plastic farm animals, but I may find myself replacing them sheepishly (see what I did there?!) anyway. When the inspiration hit, I had to run with it. Sorry, P-nut.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

I was short a couple of barnyard members, so I padded with a few dinosaurs. It’s just common sense.

One coat of spray primer, and one coat of paprika spray paint later:

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

Upcycling toys is a good time.  Seriously.

Once they all dried, they got glitzed up with a festive gold pipe-cleaner lei and a glittery sticker monogram. Perfect placecards.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

Farm animals know how to party.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

So do dinosaurs.

As a centerpiece, I pulled together a collection of my finest re-purposed glass jars, slapped some modgepodge on the bottoms in various thicknesses and then covered them in gold glitter (for that dip-dyed look).  Scattered amongst straw and gold confetti, they made a pretty fun focal point.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Party from Farmhouse38

As for my homemade 2014 numbers?  I swiped this idea from the impossibly talented Aunt Peaches.  I’ll let you visit her for the how-to so you can fully appreciate the crafty awesomeness that goes on over there.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Party from Farmhouse38

More glitter never hurts.

I decided to make some fun swizzle sticks for our cocktails and our champagne (seeing as how we were going to add tasty ingredients to the champagne to make interesting champagne-y cocktails but never managed to make it that far).  A glittery pom-pom hot-glued to the end of a generic swizzle straw looks pretty festive, if you ask me.  And the glasses got a boost with a gold pipe cleaner spiraled around the stem.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

The champagne was supposed to turn into a champagne cocktail…but it never sat around long enough to add anything but the swizzle stick. Oops.

Fortunately, the swizzle sticks came in handy for our Rosemary and Grapefruit Bourbon Fizzzz Cocktail.

Rosemary and Grapefruit Bourbon Fizzzz from Farmhouse38

This cocktail added some non-champagne bubbly to the party.

To make one Rosemary and Grapefruit Bourbon Fizzzz:

(recipe adapted a tad from The Artful Desperado’s Bourbon Rosemary Fizz)

Gather your weapons:

-cocktail shaker

-muddler

-one small sprig of fresh rosemary

-1/4 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit

-1 oz bourbon

-ginger ale

-ice cubes

-sprig of rosemary and grapefruit rind peel for garnish

-oh, and a low-ball or old-fashioned glass of some sort to drink it out of.  If you want.  Don’t let me pressure you.

To make it:

Drop your sprig of rosemary into the bottom of your shaker, and add your 1/4 cup grapefruit juice. Muddle until you can really smell the rosemary fragrance.  Add a few cubes of ice and your ounce of bourbon.  Shake it like you mean it.

Drop a few more ice cubes into your glass, and strain your cocktail into the glass.  Top with the ginger ale, and garnish with a sprig of rosemary and grapefruit peel…oh, and a fancy swizzle stick.  Cheers!

Rosemary and Grapefruit Bourbon Fizzzz from Farmhouse38

Behold the RGB Fizzzz! Do not chase these with champagne. I’m just sayin’.

I have been scheming to do create some sort of chandelier something-or-other to hang above the farmhouse table on our deck, and a New Year’s party was just the ticket to light a fire under my rear. So I strung up a little ladder (which is actually the salvaged back of an old red bench we had forever that finally gave in to gravity and the elements).  From this, I hung several strands of Restoration Hardware’s battery-operated Starry Lights that I had just taken down from Christmas.  If you’ve never seen these things before, they really are quite fantastic: tiny little lights strung on bendable wire so that you can shape them and hang them really easily.  I molded them to spiral down (and added a few strands of glitter-star wire from the craft store to augment), and created this sort of downside-up centerpiece topped with fresh grapefruit branches.

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

Farm-in-the-City New Year's Eve Party from Farmhouse38

Oh, the festiveness of it all!

With the help of a few of our favorite neighbors we rang the new year in with some style.  And by ‘style’ I mean we were all in bed by 10:30.

The Boxies of Farmhouse38

Especially these two.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “A Farm-in-the-City Party

  1. Teresa January 8, 2014 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Next year I am going to your house for New Years Eve! Just gorgeous!

  2. Esther Widgren January 8, 2014 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Late, but great! Thank you!

  3. Becky Neville January 8, 2014 at 8:14 pm Reply

    You are so adorable!

  4. Ellen January 8, 2014 at 11:46 pm Reply

    Love your creativeness! Beautifully done. Who knew repurposed items could look so great together? Can’t wait to use some of these ideas myself and I’ve always wanted to make use of my gold glitter pipe cleaners.

    • farmhouseK8 January 8, 2014 at 11:51 pm Reply

      Thanks, Ellen–cheers to that! 😀

  5. jean January 9, 2014 at 2:40 am Reply

    Love your style. Nifty glass, too. The cute critters in the last photo must have had a great time partying, too : ) Happy New Year to you!!

  6. Tina Anderson January 9, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

    So when do I score an invite to these amaze parties you throw?! And P.S. chickens DID evolve from dinosaurs, so your logic is sound. I can only hope that some minor plastic toy fights ensued with the bourbon fueled eve.

    • farmhouseK8 January 9, 2014 at 2:55 pm Reply

      LOL–no, but is it weird that I now permanently have all the plastic animals under a cake dome on my kitchen counter? And also–you have an open invitation!!!

  7. Kelly Wilkinson January 17, 2014 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Gorgeous DOF glasses! Are they vintage? And the adorned “farm” animals – hilarious.

    • farmhouseK8 January 17, 2014 at 7:13 pm Reply

      Thanks, Kelly! The glasses are, indeed, vintage! These were part of my grandparents’ amazing barware collection. I just adore them.

Leave a Reply

