Easy No-Sew Rice Heating Pad

No Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

I found myself in a situation the other day where I needed to make a rice heating pad, and I needed it quick. And I needed to not have to sew it together because…well…I don’t sew. SO, I did a quick search of the interwebs and came across several accounts of people using tube socks for just this purpose; ya take a sock, fill it with rice, and tie up the loose end. Awesome. Great idea…only…I needed it to be bigger than a skinny little tube sock.

So. I scrounged around a bit and came up with an old, long-sleeved t-shirt of the Texan’s.

DIY No-Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

I hadn’t seen him wear this for a looooong time, and it’s got some stains and holes in it, so I decided to sacrifice it for the greater good. But apparently, it was his most cherished long-sleeve t-shirt. Oops. My bad.

Then I just cut off a sleeve (actually, I cut off both sleeves to make two of these).

Easy DIY No-Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

You can see I also cut the finished edge of the sleeve off so that both ends of the heating pad match (ie; rough and unfinished).

Then, using a bit of baker’s twine, I tied off one end. Tightly.

Easy DIY No-Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

Double-knotted for good measure.

I then filled the sleeve with about 2 lbs of white rice (not the instant variety, apparently that’s not good for this. Just good ol’white rice). Fill it with as much or as little as you want–I wanted this to be nice and malleable, not stuffed to the seams. Once the rice was in, I tied off the other end with baker’s twine.

Easy DIY No-Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

Et voilà!

To heat this, place the heating pad next to a single cup of water (water in microwave-safe cup or bowl) in the microwave for about 1.5-2 minutes (the water helps keep the rice from burning). Depending on how much rice you put in, you may need to heat for a little longer, but be careful not to let the water in the cup boil or the rice burn–so heat in small increments to be safe. This heating pad was perfect at about 1:45 minutes.

It worked wonderfully, and was a nice, safe, gentle heat for a tender little tummy:

Easy DIY No-Sew Rice Heating Pad from Farmhouse38.com

Getting spayed is no fun. It is no fun at all.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Easy No-Sew Rice Heating Pad

  1. roberta April 11, 2014 at 5:05 pm Reply

    aww, maybe she’ll forgive the fact that YOU did this to her! LOL!

  2. Tina Anderson April 12, 2014 at 10:37 am Reply

    Glad this helped booger butt. Feel better soon little buddy!

    • farmhouseK8 April 12, 2014 at 2:21 pm Reply

      She only let me use it on her a few times until she realized that it kind of looks and acts like a toy. Now she just wants to play with it. :-I

  3. Charlotte Zweigoron April 13, 2014 at 12:44 pm Reply

    I always love to see your pets and chickens… been missing them a little. I guess if she sees it as a toy, she must be on the mend. Such a cute sweetie!!

  4. home, garden, life April 16, 2014 at 1:17 pm Reply

    Baby has grown in your find care Kate. You are such a sweet, kind mama. Kisses to pup. Diane

    • farmhouseK8 April 16, 2014 at 2:04 pm Reply

      Aww, thanks Diane. Yeah, she’s gotten pretty big!! LOL–about the same as white dog, but not quite as filled out yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

