Primitive Egg Wreath

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

 

I always have to have an ‘Easter’ wreath. But this year, since I completely lagged on getting one made, I decided I wanted to make one that I could leave up long after the holiday had come and gone. Additionally, I wanted to make one using the neutral color scheme that I went with for this Easter’s celebration (I just really love the colors of naked eggs!). And of course, I wanted to make it using the plethora of eggs that I have just sitting around, courtesy of the Farmhouse poultry.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

That’s a bowl full of 50 blown eggs. Yup. That was a very light-headed day.

I started with a wire hanger. Leaving the top of the hanger twisted like it comes, shape the thing into a nice circle. Once it is shaped, then use pliers to ‘untwist’ the top, shape it a bit, and make a small loop at the top.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

 

You’ll need about 15 or so blown, dry eggs. The blow-out process is pretty easy (unless you are doing 50 at a time, which I do not recommend! Lol). I used a Dremel tool with a tiny drill attachment to poke a hole in each end of the egg shell, then I inserted a toothpick and sort of scrambled it around to break up the interior membranes. I used a small cocktail straw to actually blow the guts out, and once it was empty, I filled the egg with water, shook it around, and blew it out again. I then set the egg on end on a paper towel to drain. You can cook the eggshells in an oven to make sure they are good and dry (in the microwave for 15-30 seconds, or the oven for 10 minutes at 350 degrees F), but I just left mine to air dry for a few days before using them (ie, I lagged on getting this project done).

Select your specimens, and, one by one, string them over the loose end of the wire form until you have about one egg’s length left of the wire. Now for the tricky part. Place the egg wreath on a padded surface (to cushion the eggs), and, using pliers, carefully bend the loose end into a small hook that can be hooked around the opposite end of the wreath form. It’s not easy. That wire is not super pliable. Don’t jostle the eggs while you do this–it’s a huge bummer to break even one egg because you’ll have to slide them all off and start all over. Fortunately, it was easy enough that I didn’t break any in my attempt.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

Oh, so careful!

Now that your wreath is all formed, decide which side you want to be the front, and which the back. Flip it so that the back side is up, and then go along and anchor the eggs to each other with a drop of hot glue.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

This will keep the eggs from moving around, and the less they move, the less likely they are to break.

Next: place a blob of hot glue on the highest area of the back of each egg.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

This serves as a bit of a ‘bumper’ for the egg to help protect it when you hang it.

Once that is all dry, flip it back over. Here, I decided I wanted to draw a cute little heart on the random white egg with a paint pen. I also tied a bow out of raffia, and then hot glued that to the top of the wreath.

Easy Primitive Egg Wreath from Farmhouse38.com

And there you have it! I was a little worried about the eggs banging against the door when it opened and closed, but the hot glue bumpers seem to keep that from happening brilliantly! Huzzah! (But…ya know…don’t go slamming the door if you can help it).

And, of course, one could absolutely make this wreath with brightly dyed Easter eggs–how cute would that be?!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Primitive Egg Wreath

  1. Laura April 19, 2014 at 3:31 pm Reply

    I love it and so appropriate for the holiday and your home! A great idea to upcycle your eggs and an inexpensive decor idea. You are so clever! I Enjoy your blog so much. Thanks for sharing with us. Have a blessed Easter!

    • farmhouseK8 April 19, 2014 at 3:54 pm Reply

      Thanks, Laura! 😀 You have a wonderful Easter, too!

  2. Carol J. Alexander April 19, 2014 at 3:39 pm Reply

    Beautiful!

  3. Cate April 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

    This is adorable! I like the neutrality of the colors while highlighting the one white egg….and with a heart no less. Keep up the good ideas. Happy Easter!

  4. Becky Neville April 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm Reply

    Beautiful, Kate! And the heart egg MAKES it very special. I love your style!

  5. home, garden, life April 20, 2014 at 11:36 am Reply

    Kate, love the simplicity of this decor. And your girls are very proud!

  6. Greg Salo April 20, 2014 at 3:13 pm Reply

    Pretty. But is it practical?
    Wouldn’t they be a bit fragile and with a door opening and closing, the eggs would be banged around I would think.

    • farmhouseK8 April 20, 2014 at 4:08 pm Reply

      I was concerned about this, too–but once you anchor the eggs to the form with glue, and then attach the wreath to the door with wire so that nothing is jostling around, the eggs never even touch the door! And we SLAM that door, let me tell ya! LOL. They are doing great!

Leave a Reply

