A Little Change is Good, Methinks…

 

Hearts No. 1, mixed media metal art by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.comIf you’ve been following me for awhile, you may have noticed I’ve slowed down a bit with my blogging. In fact, you may have noticed that there have been moments where it has come to a grinding, shrieking halt. Or maybe you haven’t noticed and I just think everyone’s been noticing. I’m a lot more important in my head. A LOT more important.

I know I’ve got some ‘splaining to do. So, it goes something like this: I’m an artist. Did you know that? I haven’t mentioned it much, aside from a little blip here and there in my profile, but so far, the art hasn’t surfaced much on my blog. There’s a reason for that…I’ve been on a prolonged, forced hiatus from the art. It’s the Farmhouse’s fault, you see. Sure, it’s been a real time-suck to renovate this house from top to bottom–I could easily blame it on that, right? But no–the real reason it has kept me from my art is that the garage renovation (err…studio renovation), was the very last on our kill list. It’s crazy how functioning kitchens and bathrooms and finished bedroom walls really take all the priority glory.

The Art Barn at Farmhouse38.com

The garage, pre-renovation.

The Art Barn at Farmhouse38.com

The studio, post-renovation.

The studio barn at Farmhouse38.com

The studio all lit up at night (with a couple of guard cats keeping the look-out for wandering bands of art thieves).

The studio barn at Farmhouse38.com

As you can see, it’s already quite well-used; those floors do not stay clean.

You may be thinking that this is a pretty weak excuse; this not-having-a-proper-studio baloney. I kind of agree (especially in retrospect). But my ‘artwork’ is a little off the wall (pun intended). It’s not as simple as setting up a temporary easel in the guest bedroom, because my medium of choice is actually metal (you didn’t see that coming, now did you??). So there is a lot of welding and grinding and metal shrapnel a-flying. I can’t do it in the house (obviously). I can’t even do it outside in the driveway because of the shrapnel (which becomes inherently dangerous to animal paws and crops when it’s lurking in the cracks and crevices and dirt). So I had to wait (rather impatiently), for my studio. And wait I did. For five years. But, in the meantime, I started a blog–so it wasn’t all for naught, right?

The mixed media metal art by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

Me welding up a metal ‘canvas’.

Mixed media metal art by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

Me being gravely serious at the easel.

Let me elaborate on the artwork. When I say ‘metal’ and ‘welding’ people tend to picture big, hulking sculptures–but no, that’s not what I do. My stuff is actually more along the lines of mixed media painting; my ‘canvas’ is metal, my ‘mixed media’ is a rather alchemic blend of patina, paint, and dye. Sometimes glitter. Sometimes a little dog hair. The latter two are kind of hard to avoid around here–they are in e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g. Cheers! I digress. I grind a lot of pattern into that media, so the paintings all typically wind up with reflective ‘metal’ elements.

Ikat No. 1 mixed media metal painting by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

Ikat No.1, mixed media metal painting on aluminum. (The whitish areas are actually reflective, raw metal).

So what’s my point here? For quite some time, I’ve been keeping the FH38 blog and the artwork completely separate…almost leading a double life, if you will. I was worried that, with so much stuff going on at Farmhouse38, the art would just further muddy it up–that the blog and the art would dilute each other, if that makes any sense. So I was gearing up to run two separate social media profiles…and you know what? I’m exhausted. I can’t do it, people, I just can’t do it. So after much deliberation and soul-searching (do I close up shop on one and focus on the other? How do I choose my favorite child?), I’ve decided to merge the two. From here on out, you guys are going to start seeing a lot of art on this site; all the rest of the stuff–the chickens, the garden, the crafting, the cocktails, the farmhouse projects–it will all still be here, just gently interspersed between the antics of my artistic ebb and flow. Eventually, my stuff will be available to buy on Etsy and other such sites, but for now, you can check out katerichards.com to see a straightforward gallery (I am going to leave that website up as a one-stop informational shop for just the artwork, but make no mistake, it will all eventually be found on Farmhouse38, too). Be sure to follow me on Instagram, because I’ve already been posting quite a bit of behind the scenes arting shots there.

Neon No. 1 mixed media metal painting by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

Neon No. 1, acrylic on reclaimed steel. This is a good shot of what a ‘metal canvas’ looks like. Kind of like a metal box lid with 1 inch or so edges so that it can just hang on the wall like a normal painting.

In addition to all this art, you’re going to be seeing a lot more flowers. The flowers have always been a part of FH38, but now that my mini, wannabe flower farm is hitting its stride, slow flower arrangements and arrangement how-tos are gonna hop to the forefront along with the art. Metal art and flowers, people.Β And probably a whole lot of metal flower art. You’ve been warned.

As part of this Farmhouse38 redirection, I will also finally (FINALLY!!!) be switching the blog from its current state to a self-hosted situation. That means that the new blog will be found at Farmhouse38.com (which currently redirects to farmhouse38.wordpress.com–no more farmhouse38.wordpress.com already! Geez!!). I’m working on it now, and since I have never actually done this before, I expect that there will be some hiccups. In fact, I expect that I will make a complete and utter mess of the whole thing–so please, please, please bear with me as I muddle my way through it. As I always like to say: it has to get worse before it gets awesome. πŸ™‚ Don’t worry, I will give you all plenty of notice when I make the switch so we can all have a good laugh at how I’ve gone and mucked it all up. Be sure to follow me on Facebook, Twitter,Β and Pinterest…it’s harder to mess those up (believe me, I’ve made some valiant efforts).

Rooster No. 1 mixed media metal painting by Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

I can’t not have some metal chicken art. This is Farmhouse38, afterall.

Mixed media metal artist Kate Richards of Farmhouse38.com

There are almost always chickens in my studio. It’s just how I roll.

So there you have it: my blog midlife crisis in all its glory. Who’s coming with me?!!

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

64 thoughts on “A Little Change is Good, Methinks…

  1. countrygirllifeonthefarmr July 11, 2014 at 3:45 pm Reply

    Magnificient transformation and I have fell in love with the rooster. My blog is on hiatus as well simply because I work fulltime and work until dark at home on the farm and need sleep more than writing. I’ll get caught up as well soon, I hope!
    Love your blog and enjoy your posts, you have been missed!!
    Rita

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:53 pm Reply

      Thanks, Rita! Good luck with yours–it’s so hard to fit it in sometimes!!!

  2. Ellen C. July 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm Reply

    Love it all! Especially chicken art! All beautiful πŸ™‚

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:52 pm Reply

      Gotsta have chicken art! LOL–thank you, Ellen. πŸ˜€

  3. Melissa Jones July 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm Reply

    So happy for you! You are an amazing artist and voice!

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:52 pm Reply

      Awww, thank you Melissa! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. LLL July 11, 2014 at 4:02 pm Reply

    i’ll be there!

  5. Tessa July 11, 2014 at 4:04 pm Reply

    Your art is wonderful! Can’t wait to see more!!!

  6. Kar@childrensboutiqueresale.com July 11, 2014 at 4:04 pm Reply

    Can’t wait to see more of all of that goodness. It’s a lifestyle blog….and this is your amazing diverse life. Way cool! Kudos!

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

      Thank you!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. Jo July 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm Reply

    I’ll be coming along! I get your new posts in my email. Will this continue?

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

      I think that when I make the official ‘switch’ to self-hosted, you’re gonna have to come click the ‘subscribe to email’ button there…I’m not totally sure at this point, to be honest. But, I will definitely let you all know as soon as I do! Thanks for following along, Jo. πŸ˜€

  8. Chris Thompson July 11, 2014 at 4:09 pm Reply

    I LOVE your studio! I am an artist as well and I’m just dying for a beautiful place like that. Brava! Wonderful job! Looking forward to seeing more of your work! Chris, the-eggs-and-I.com

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

      Thanks, Chris–yeah, having a dedicated ‘creative space’ is such an amazing gift! I highly recommend it! πŸ˜€

  9. Jeanne N July 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm Reply

    I love the transformation of your garage to now studio, the paint, hardware, new doors and wreaths, what charm! Blessings on your new artwork, will be looking forward to seeing more! πŸ™‚

  10. Whitney July 11, 2014 at 4:32 pm Reply

    Wow you’re so amazing and talented! I want your life, and your flowers, house, artistic talent, etc. Good luck w/ the blending of the blogs, I’m sure all will turn out beautifully.

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm Reply

      LOL–aww, thank you, Whitney! πŸ˜€

  11. Mandy July 11, 2014 at 4:43 pm Reply

    Those are gorgeous!!

  12. lesliecolintribble July 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm Reply

    Congratulations on this new phase and kudo’s on your patience in waiting five years for a studio. Looking forward to following your evolution.

  13. Kelly M July 11, 2014 at 5:40 pm Reply

    I love the art and look forward to seeing more flowers!

  14. Caitlin | belong with wildflowers July 11, 2014 at 6:04 pm Reply

    This entire post was like a nice surprise. I’m fairly new to your blog + have popped in + out for months, but I never picked up that you were an artist. And using metal as your art? That is really, really interesting.

    Sidenote – You look unbelievably happy in the picture at the easel!

    I recently went from wordpress.com to self-hosted, so if you need any help or have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask πŸ™‚ It can be a lot of work at first, but it’s SO worth it.

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 11:50 pm Reply

      Oh, thank you, Caitlin–I may just take you up on that! πŸ˜€

  15. Stacy July 11, 2014 at 8:26 pm Reply

    Love love love the art!! And so glad you are able to get back to painting!

  16. Maureen July 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm Reply

    This is such exciting news. I love what you did turning your garage into a studio and the work you are now able to create in there. You are a woman of many talents and I’m coming along for the ride!

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 11:51 pm Reply

      Thank you so much, Maureen! Glad you’re following along!

  17. Kathi July 11, 2014 at 8:49 pm Reply

    Beautiful! Wow! So talented!

  18. Charlotte Zweigoron July 11, 2014 at 9:42 pm Reply

    I’m so glad I stuck it out to see what was next… been sitting at the computer with a puzzled look on my face for awhile… what’s going on with Farmhouse 38? Now I get it… and I like the term “lifestyle” blog… seems perfect! I wouldn’t want to say goodbye to any facet of the Farmhouse 38 experience I’ve had. Since I take a tiny paint set and mini tools for paper crafting on trips with me so I don’t suffer separation anxiety, I cannot fathom waiting 5 years to indulge one’s primary creative streak!! Heavens above…!!! And, BTW, have we seen ALL the rooms in the house? I keep thinking I’ve missed some little corner somewhere…

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 11:52 pm Reply

      No! You most definitely have not seen all the rooms in the house–as some are still ‘in transition’–so there will definitely be more decorating/renovation posts in the future. Thanks for hanging in, Charlotte! πŸ˜€

  19. Lisa @ Fresh Eggs Daily July 11, 2014 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Okay being totally honest here, *I* would have turned that space into a rockin’ chicken coop… but to each their own I guess! I’m coming along for the ride regardless. It will take more than a complete blog overhaul to get me to stop following you!
    Lisa
    Fresh Eggs Daily

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 11:53 pm Reply

      LOL–Lisa!!! It was already kind of a kitty coop (and still is–they very generously share their space with me). πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  20. Cate July 11, 2014 at 10:31 pm Reply

    Absolutely LOVE it! I especially love the chicken metal art. You should put that one up for purchase or a drawing – after you make yourself another one, hint hint. I love chicken everything. Keep up the beautiful work inside the house and out. Always a pleasure to stop by.

    Cate <

    • farmhouseK8 July 11, 2014 at 11:54 pm Reply

      LOL–Cate–good idea!! Thanks for the kind words! πŸ˜€

  21. cindyricksgers July 12, 2014 at 12:10 am Reply

    Stunning artwork, and really exciting, edgy technique/medium/style! Thanks for sharing!

  22. dkprinzing July 12, 2014 at 4:18 am Reply

    Hi Kate, congratulations for following your bliss~!

    • farmhouseK8 July 12, 2014 at 4:22 am Reply

      Thanks, Debra!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  23. Luisa July 12, 2014 at 2:06 pm Reply

    *Raises hand* I will!

  24. Jenn Rowell (@NearFarMontana) July 12, 2014 at 4:32 pm Reply

    Oh I’m excited about this and can I just say how jealous I am of your studio? I’m not an artist, but what I wouldn’t give for a nice, quiet, deliberately made working space for writing and such. And the flowers, can.not.wait! I’ve been having fun with some super simple flowers tucked into mason jars, but am hoping to have a flower garden going once we figure out how to keep the chickens out, so I will certainly be following along!

  25. lyn moon July 13, 2014 at 12:24 pm Reply

    I think your studio was worth the wait. Your art is fantastic. I expect you to become famous one day. Look out art world! I hope you can keep everything going, your blog is very enjoyable. Good luck with it all. p.s. Loooove that Chicken!

    • farmhouseK8 July 20, 2014 at 1:36 pm Reply

      Thank you!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  26. akb_TheProjectionBooth July 14, 2014 at 4:12 am Reply

    Have you ever done any screenprinting? I actually just did my first attempts today. It’s going to be a fun art side-project to all of the primary stuff that I do. Very relaxing as well.

    • farmhouseK8 July 20, 2014 at 1:37 pm Reply

      I have not–but my friend does it and was encouraging me towards it. Will have to try!! πŸ™‚

  27. Gail Saito July 14, 2014 at 4:16 am Reply

    Here’s to a blending of art and the city girl on the farm. Raise your glasses, people!

    • farmhouseK8 July 20, 2014 at 1:37 pm Reply

      Cheers to that! Thanks, Gail! πŸ˜€

  28. Barbara H. July 19, 2014 at 9:45 pm Reply

    Looking forward to reading your posts as you hit your stride again. Congratulations on a beautiful studio renovation. Five years was a long time to wait to have art space again, but I’m sure all that creativity went into the house and gardens. Can’t remember how or just when I found you, but probably within the last 6 months. I’ll have to go back through your older posts one of these days.

    • farmhouseK8 July 20, 2014 at 1:37 pm Reply

      Thanks for tagging along, Barbara! πŸ˜€

  29. C1 July 19, 2014 at 10:20 pm Reply

    Yay!!! Chicken art! I mean what’s cooler than that?!

    • farmhouseK8 July 20, 2014 at 1:38 pm Reply

      NOTHING!!! NOTHING IS COOLER THAN THAT–LOL, C1!!

  30. LeeH July 20, 2014 at 2:47 pm Reply

    I’m so excited that I heard about your blog from Fresh Eggs Daily and this is the first post I’ve read.
    I’m excited to see how this merge goes for you. Good luck

  31. seasonedwithsarcasm July 23, 2014 at 8:13 pm Reply

    The studio looks adorbs. Also, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the mason jar lights hanging in the trees with the crystals. Any tutorial on how you made them??? πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your new creative space!

    • farmhouseK8 July 23, 2014 at 10:33 pm Reply

      Thank you!!! πŸ˜€ We used to have battery-operated candles in the mason jars, but it was a pain to change out the batteries–so eventually I had my awesome electrician hardwire them. Wish I had an easy tutorial for this, but my advice is to have a professional do it!!!

  32. bella July 25, 2014 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Hh good grief. I just found your blog (probably from pinterest) and got sucked down the rabbit hole. Send reinforcements.

    • farmhouseK8 July 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm Reply

      LOL, Bella! DON’T FIGHT IT. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

