Shishito Pepper Salsa

Shishito Pepper Salsa by Farmhouse38.comOkay, so these arrived in my CSA box this week. And I got real excited because I thought they were jalapeños and I wanted to make salsa. But then it turned out they weren’t jalapeños. But I made salsa anyway.

(Backstory: shishitos are more bell-peppery than jalapeño-ey, though they do sometimes have a bit of mild kick to them).

RECIPE:

–1 lb. (approx) of shishito peppers, stems removed

–1 good-sized tomato, cut into tiny pieces

–half a small onion, chopped into tiny pieces

–1 medium red bell pepper

–4 cloves of garlic (less or more depending on how garlicky you like things)

–juice of one lime

–2 tablespoons of tomato paste

–1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar

–1 tablespoon of liquid aminos (or soy sauce, or worcestershire sauce, whichever you prefer)

–1 tablespoon of habanero hot sauce, if you like it hot (I used Marie Sharp’s, which is my most favoritest hot sauce from Belize)

So. Throw the shishitos (seeds and all), the red bell pepper, and the garlic into a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Then throw that and everything else into a small saucepan over high heat. Bring it all to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, for about ten to twelve minutes. Let cool and eat up! Yummy as salsa, and as a spread for sandwiches. Sooo yummmmmy.

Side note: people keep telling me to roast or pan-sear these babies (and just eat them straight like that). So that would be a great twist on this salsa–grill the peppers up first THEN throw them in the salsa for a nice, smokey vibe. Yeah. I like it.

Shishito Peooer Salsa by Farmhouse38.com

Salsa. Yes.

Shishito Pepper Salsa by Farmhouse38.com

Put it in your face.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Shishito Pepper Salsa

  1. Charlotte Zweigoron August 7, 2014 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Not much of a salsa eater but you did remind me that I want to sign up for the local CSA box. We just had a Sprouts grocery open in our neighborhood, which is sooo great! Used to have to drive 45 minutes (on a good day) to Whole Foods. At the same time, I want to support local farmers and try eating what is in season. The recipe will go in my file because it sounds so easy!! I may need it when I get my CSA box.

    • farmhouseK8 August 7, 2014 at 4:06 pm Reply

      Yeah–I’m a big fan of the whole CSA thing–and I love the fact that you kind of never know what you’re gonna get and it forces you to try things that you would never pick out, otherwise. Case in point: shishito peppers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

